We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

9039 Mountain View Dr., Copper Hill, VA 24079
Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A wonderful destination in itself, but also a great waypoint when traveling along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Convenient off the parkway, with great views and beautiful rooms in the lodge or convenient, well-appointed and convenient rooms in the cabin (4 rooms and a well-equipped kitchen out there). The Lawrences are a pleasure to work with! HIGHLY recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to offer your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon. Bonnie and Jesse Lawrence 9/13/2014 More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had planned a trip through the Blue Ridge Parkway. For my trip, I booked a lodge on the parkway, however do t the government shutdown, I had to find alternate lodging. I saw Bent Mountain Lodge, but was a little concerned because some of the negative comments I saw on tripadvisor. I don't know who those people were or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to offer your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon. Bonnie and Jesse Lawrence 9/13/2014 More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a wonderfully relaxing weekend in a gorgeous mansion. We were able to enjoy the great room, the deck, and our Jacuzzi tub in our room. The pets are friendly and cute and the owners were very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to offer your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon. Bonnie and Jesse Lawrence 9/13/2014 More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are staying for a night or two as a single guest this place might work fine - but for those who are interested in this property for an event DO NOT book!! We had several issues with hosting our event here - nothing was cleaned for our outdoor wedding (all tables and chairs we had rented on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We regret the misunderstandings outlined in the complaint. Prior to agreeing to any event like this we sit down with the bride to be and go over all the details and write down our agreement and make it clear that the location is out home and we expect everyone to respect it as such. We always make it clear that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Copper Hill hotels

Bent Mountain, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Super location with Mountain views that are breath taking.... However, The over-all first impression of the B&B was not very inviting....upon our arrival, we were not greeted in the lodge, there appeared to be no one around. We did call out for a response, and finally a man came out of his office. He did not introduce himself, and our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JesseLawrence, Manager at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I have to admit that my wife Bonnie is a much nicer person and more inviting than i am. However am I really that bad? I am very sorry for the impression i left with you, it certainly was not my intent. We are pretty casual around her as it is our home and we try to treat people the... More 

Tucson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location is very nice, and it was scenic. The man (I think he was the owner) that showed us our room was not very friendly. That is OK, we could deal with that. However, when we arrived in our room we were overwhelmed with the odor of what I suspect was an extreme overuse of a cleaning product, perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JesseLawrence, Manager at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We regret the issues outlined in this complaint. This is a extra large suite and the most popular of all our suites. There are times in any location that some folks have greater sensitivites to cleaning materials than others. We have no way to know about folks with these issues ahead of time if they do not say something. This... More 

Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you like B&B's that have paper thin walls, dogs barking through the night, a do-it-yourself breakfast, and a curmudgeon for a host -- all for the exalted price of $137 a night -- welcome to your dream lodge. When my wife and I entered the (alleged) B&B it appeared empty save for an elderly guest lying on the sofa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

My apologies for any misunderstandings. Continental Breakfast was exactly as advertised. Food is presented as required by local health department. After 3500 reservations over 10 years, a few folks fail to read a complete description of breakfast on the website so we we check them in we take them to the kitchen and explain about breakfast. As far as complaint... More 

Springfield, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Property and views are beautiful. Bonnie is warm and hospitable but Jesse does, however, truly seem bothered by having guests at the property. We had rented rooms for the past 7+ years - same weekend/ same rooms for a family reunion. Last year, our parents (80's) cancelled their room 2 weeks in advance due to illness. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We always enjoyed having you folks stay with us and we have always tried to treat you as family and perhaps it is true that familiarity breeds contempt. We always gave you the run of the place including the kitchen and the oven you left on and left and other guest had to put out the resulting fire. Replaced oven... More 

Chicago, Il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great view and comfortable physical plant, but Jesse almost seemed bothered by having guests and seldom had any inclination to communicate unless he was echoing Fox news which he seemed to watch all day, monopolizing the "lounge" area. Breakfast was a joke. Paper plates with kid sized individual cereal boxes and frozen bagels. Great location and view, but I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

My apologies for any misunderstandings. Continental Breakfast was exactly as advertised. bagels are never frozen. Food is presented as required by local health department. After 3500 reservations over 10 years, first complaint about food. As far as complaint about me personally I am a little confued but certain folks are sincere about their feelings. I had just had bypass heart... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Bent Mountain Lodge whilst cruising the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is way off the beaten track at the top of a mountain, but if you follow the directions supplied it is easy to find. The lodge itself is most luxurious and our room was spacious, clean and had every amenity we wished for. The hosts were helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities