We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chincoteague Inn

Hotel website
4417 Deep Hole Rd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chincoteague Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    24
    23
    10
    15
See reviews for
36
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Cedar Bluff, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was very nice and I realize that all hotels go up in price during Pony Penning, but the one was way over priced. The toilette would flush unless the next person waited at least 10 min. in between. front door was not sealed you could see daylight around the whole door. And even though the room looked clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was clean and has all the basic hotel amenities. However, the room was dated and we could hear noise from upstairs several times after midnight. If you just need a place to shower and sleep after a day at the beach, this is a good choice given the location and the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love Chincoteague but not the Chincoteague Inn. In serious need of renovations. Bed was very uncomfortable and we could smell cigarette smoke coming from somewhere all night our last night there. We will plan better the next visit to Chincoteague and stay either at a condo vacation rental or other places we've enjoyed in the past that were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Chincoteague Island hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Originally reserved to stay here for 3 nights because it was the only hotel available during the pony swim for the nights we needed. Could only bare to stay one night. The smell of mildew/mold was so overwhelming I was unable to sleep. The front desk offered to move us to another room but the 2 they showed us were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this room for the pony swim. It was a busy time and the price was very high. The room was tucked under the stairs with a view of the pop machine, and smelled like fish bait. It was relatively clean, but quite in need of renovation. My main issue was very poor, or no internet service for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Chincoteague Inn office upon arrival stated room would be extra because it was "the running of the horses" week. We decided to take the room for 2 nights. That was before we entered an inadequate and musty/moldy room. Bought air fresheners, etc, but still smelled. Sprayed bed, carpet, drapes, couch, etc. Coffee offered was for one cup only. Lamps not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

No coffee maker in room, small 17 inch 90 models tv, air conditioner stopped working, and lamps were broke. Because it was the pony penning weekend we couldn't get another room. Stuck here all weekend. For $189 per night I greatly expected more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chincoteague In... M, Manager at Chincoteague Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not happy during your stay at Chincoteague Inn. When you checked out this morning there was no mention of any issues, and you seemed very happy. Our records show that as soon as you notified us of the air conditioning issue we had maintenance check it. It was determined that the compressor was broke.... More 

Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I honestly didn't expect much and the hotel pretty much met my expectations. The rooms are a little outdated, but pretty clean, the location good, and it has free wifi. The TV was old and the reception pretty bad, but then, we didn't watch any TV. Plenty of parking. The best thing was it was a short walk to The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

This is an average no-frills hotel, and if you don't expect much more than that you should be satisfied. The room was slightly dingy, the television was a 17" tube style TV from the late 90's and the Air conditioning unit had a 2x4 propped under it (and still leaked a little bit of condensate into our room) BUT, @... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
420 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

My wife and I, along with two grandkids, stayed here for a night. For a room with two double beds, it was around $80 on a Monday night. I have to tell you, the beds are not very good. They make a lot of noise anytime that you move on them. I think the box springs was broken on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#7 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague I...
#2 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#16 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#14 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#3 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay