We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterside Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Special Price
SIZZLING SUMMER SAVINGS
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Waterside Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    290
    134
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
154
214
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (468)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (225)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is on the bay with nice views. Pool is next to the bay and docks. Outdoor setup allows to meet other guests. Room is okay. Breakfast is okay in a small space. Recommend if not looking top end.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are family owned and operated and take great pride in our hotel. We are constantly adding new things and doing upgrades. We hope you choose to return in the near future. More 

Annandale, VA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great views & balcony! The hot tub & pool were nice but the pool could have used another skimming near the end of the day. Found a roach dead in the dresser (it was the only one) so check the drawers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a few issues during your stay. We ask our customers to let us know while they are here if there are any problems to allow us the opportunity to make it right. Complete customer satisfaction is our primary goal. We hope you return. More 

Swan Point, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a great stay with the family. The staff was great and very friendly. They provided breakfast every morning. The pool was located next to the water with great views. The room met all of our needs and was clean. The beds were comfortable. We will be staying again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the great review. We are located in a quiet area of Chincoteague but very close to everything. We offer fantastic views of the sunsets and the Chincoteague Channel. We will look forward to a return visit. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I stay here every year when we come down for vacation. I've never been disappointed yet, the accommodations are amazing and the staff is wonderful. I wouldn't listen to the negative reviews, if people aren't staying in a 5 star resort their going to find something to complain about. I personally stay here every year and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your business and for taking the time to write the terrific review. Our regular customers mean a lot to us and we are so glad that we continue to exceed your expectations. We appreciate you. Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Leonardo, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

spotless rooms, waterfront, balcony, free breakfast, pleasant staff, pool, great place for kids. This was our 5th stay. Very close to everything including downtown and Assateague Island. Great restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your loyalty. Our repeat customers are special to us and we grateful that you continue to enjoy our hotel. Our location is central with easy access to everything that Chincoteague and Assateague have to offer and many amenities for your pleasure and comfort. Thank you for the great review. More 

Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm sure you have a great business and you should not listen to one bad review and cry over it, people always have something negative to say. You also should've been glad you didn't give a nice room to bad people like them because they don't deserve it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the pep talk. We are grateful that the majority of customers appreciate our hospitality and facility. Our goal is for everyone to enjoy Chincoteague and our hotel. We will look forward to another visit from you. Thanks again for the review. More 

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked into the Waterside Inn for a few days on a very last-minute August vacation. The person who took my reservation was quite helpful, and within minutes we had a place to stay on the island! When we arrived, our check-in was quick, pleasant and easy. The room was large and cool, which was important, as I think we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us a great review. We are well known for our clean spacious guest rooms, our hospitality and our amazing views of the bay and the sunsets. We will look forward to a return visit in the near future. More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had such a great time in Chincoteague at the Waterside Inn. Everyone at the hotel was so nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a beautiful view. Perfect location near shops and restaurants and a short drive to the beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your rave review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We are family owned and operated and take pride in our facility and our community. Please come back soon. More 

Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a room with a balcony looking out at the water. To my surprise we saw dolphins every morning. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. The bed was super comfy. There is so much to do in Chincoteague. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can return soon. Check out our website for newly listed off season promos. Thanks again! More 

Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked 3 nights at this hotel based on glowing reviews. I requested to have a room with a bay view and Tina assured me on the phone for $183.00 a night plus tax I will get such room. We arrived just before 3:00 pm on Sunday, August 18, 2015. I waited in the car while my husband checked-in with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your experience with our hotel was a-typical of the majority of customers. As you can tell by the rest of the positive reviews, customer service is our number one priority . It seems there were issues during your vacation at other businesses on the Island as well. I did not have the opportunity to speak with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

241 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague I...
#2 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#3 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#10 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#17 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay