We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birchwood Inn

Certificate of Excellence
1.0 of 5
Hotel website
3650 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Birchwood Motel)
Birchwood Inn
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    20
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Owners make your stay enjoyable. Although next door to the fairgrounds, it's not within walking distance of shops; however, a trolley runs after 5pm (would be much more convenient if it ran all day!). Pool on site. Individual porch sitting. Older building, but clean (that's the important part). Lots to see and do in a small town, made famous by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Hi Patricia, Thanks for staying at the Birchwood, and thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon! More 

New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Birchwood Inn on July 10th and 11th 2015 and couldn't have been any happier. The owners were so very nice and helpful. We couldn't have had any nicer people. The rooms were clean and affordable. We will definitely be going back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thanks for staying with us for your trip to Chincoteague, and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time you're on the island! More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a child,my family stayed at this motel many times. I remember the beautiful roses and nice rooms. Later on, my husband and I stayed there and always enjoyed it. Recently we went back and were deeply disappointed. We arrived after a long drive and I was eager to take photos of the beautiful sunset on the bay. The owner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Cumberland, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

This was our first visit to Chincoteague Island. We stopped to see if they had a room, after reading reviews on here, and were happy to get one. Both Mike and his wife were very helpful when I asked about various activities on the islands. The room was perfect for sleeping and showering. It is an older motel, but nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kim, Thanks for choosing us for your first trip to the island! And thanks for the compliment on the roses! We have to share credit for those with Mr. Birch, the original owner and founder of the Birchwood, as he planted them and helped cultivate them. We look forward to your next stay and to your eventual Pony Penning... More 

Bunker Hill, WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

We had our first visit to the island June 2015. I chose the Birchwood because of the fishing dock. It was a great, quiet place to sit and read until the egrets and ducks disturbed me. What a great way to be disturbed! The room was very clean. Mike and Kim were like friends. They were very helpful and answered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much Mike and Debbie! We're glad you enjoyed your first visit to the island, and are so happy you chose to stay at the Birchwood. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! More 

Lewistown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This will be our 20th yr visiting Chincoteague during pony penning week. 18 of these visits we stayed at the Birchwood. We tried 2 different motels just for a change but always came back to Birchwood. Rick and Jeannie met any needs we had with a smile. This will be the first to meet Mike and Kimberly but have no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you for Pony Penning! Happy 20th Anniversary visiting the island! More 

Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We spent Memorial Day week-end at this motel. What a wonderful time!!! Mike and Kim were the best. We were having trouble with the internet and Mike did all he could to help us. He even let my husband come to the office and connect. The room was clean and the cleaning girls were the friendliest. The beds were comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Birchwood over Memorial Day weekend. Thanks so much for such a great review. We love making our guests happy and your review made our day. We look forward to your next stay! More 

Jonestown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed in room 11 over Memorial weekend. We noticed that the staff was incredibly friendly to us and every other guest. The beds were comfortable and seemed to have pillow tops. My only complaint would be that the room was supposed to have 2 queen beds but it was really 1 queen and 1 double - but the couple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Hi Anna, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us over Memorial Day weekend! We pride ourselves on our friendly service and providing a home away from home on the island. We look forward to hosting you again soon! More 

Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

This was probably our 9th or 10th visit to the Birchwood. We love the place! The owners are the same, but they have a new couple managing the property for 2015. Kimberly and Mike did an outstanding job! They made us feel at home, just like Rick and Jeannie did. We hated to leave but it was an absolutely perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Welcome back! We were happy to host you again, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for leaving a review for us - we appreciate the feedback. Enjoy the rest of your week. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Princeton Junction, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

I read all the positive reviews on here and was expecting a nice motel. I couldn't have been more wrong or more disappointed. The room was dark, dirty, and smelled badly of mold and whatever spray they tried to use to cover it up. I was afraid to walk around without shoes or put anything down on the floor. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lucy, We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and that your room didn't meet your expectations. In the future, please let us know if you're experiencing issues during your stay so we can fix it asap. We normally get positive feedback regarding how clean our rooms are, so this is a bit of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#7 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague I...
#2 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#3 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#17 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top