We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2436 Gum Road, Chesapeake, VA 23321
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Chesapeake
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed today
Lynn V Midlothian, Virginia
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    14
    6
    10
    7
See reviews for
27
10
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Average hotel, average cleanliness. Many services were "out of service" including the pool and business center. The hotel had an odd odor. The air conditioner ran all night long and never cut off. It was not all that hot outside overnight so not sure why it never cut off. Likewise, it did not get overly cool. We did not complain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thankfully our check in went well and the staff was friendly. Unfortunately, some things just can't go unnoticed. There was a smoke and very stale smell throughout the floor and room we stayed on. Bathtub could be a lot cleaner. Housekeeping did not vacuum after cleaning during our stay. For the price, my expectations are higher. No one should be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear nparker73, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about the hotel. We are pleased to hear that your check in went well and that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff. We have currently started our renovation process in our public areas, and are scheduled to start in our guest rooms in the near future.... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

It may seem like a minor detail, but when you have sleep apnea (and the usual assortment of electronic devices that need charging) outlets can be a big deal. This room had tons and they were well located. The staff was also very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

For many years I had come to rely on Holiday Inn's longtime slogan of "No Surprises" and have stayed at this hotel several times over the last several years. On Dec. 8th, however, my husband and I were sorely disappointed because when we arrived we were told that the pool and whirlpool were both closed due to remodeling. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear mjo128, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about the hotel. We are disheartened to learn that the experience did not meet your expectations, and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had to endure with our pool and whirlpool being closed for renovations. I understand how life can be stressful and when looking forward... More 

Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

If I was leaving this review last January this review would be mostly positive, unfortunately that is not the case. I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past year as I travel the area on business, and this one has sunk quickly. This time around the room had the towel rack ripped from the wall and missing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear jasontoy1, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are truly sorry for letting you down on so many aspects of your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest... More 

Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I did alot of research before booking a hotel while traveling to Virgina to visit my son. This hotel got one of the highest ratings so I feel the need to rate my experience and perhaps sway you all from staying there. So front desk attendant, room, overall look of place - nice. Then...stayed up late having a nice visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Rizzo F, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay. I am pleased that you find our property nice and was even delighted with our front desk attendant. However, I am truly sorry to hear that the service received from some of our staff, specifically from house keeping did not live up to your expectations.... More 

Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel passing trough the Norfolk area. It was really disappointing. Room was damp, carpet was wet around the air conditioner. Furniture was worn out and in need of maintenance. Moldy bathtub and so on... Definitely wont be back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear mafor77, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. While we are glad that you chose our hotel for your recent travel, it is very troubling that you were not satisfied with your stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the room quality and overall condition. As a valued guest, we appreciate you bringing your... More 

Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Had some business in Portsmouth, VA and needed an overnight, this property was only a few miles away from where I had to be. I had a decent room but it felt damp and had an odor like it used to be a smoking room. I like to make use of treadmills when I'm in a hotel, but the one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Eric Y, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel was disgusting. When we arrived after 5 PM the room was not ready. Besides that, the bathroom was covered in midlew and mold. The tub was disgusting. We put a towel on the tub floor to shower. The shower head barely worked. There were water and mold stain on the walls of the room. It has such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear PASM718, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We strive to make each guest stay an enjoyable experience. We apologize for letting you down. Thank you for reaching out to me via email and we have since resolved your issues. Safe travels! Best Regards, Christy Morgan General Manager More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our family stayed there on Saturday middle of July after reading some reviews. It was really disappointing The hotel was dirty and service was unprofessional.. I called to confirm for crib for baby even though the crib is listed on its website and was told to call the day we stayed. We called and was told had to be there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear labrat r, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, VA. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay