We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2436 Gum Road, Chesapeake, VA 23321
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

Was scheduled for 3 nights only stayed one. Walls and carpet were dirty. Bathtub looked like someone had tried to paint it. Front desk personnel could not have cared less. At check in employee was not friendly or helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer C, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with cleanliness, customer service and the bathtub condition. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We... More 

Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here several months ago, but just recently came back. The front desk lady was real helpful. We also had large trucks that needed to stay in the parking lot. Had lots of room to park. Good rooms and a decent breakfast. There is not a lot to eat around within walking distance though. Several pizza options for delivery.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

We stayed one night and the first thing we noticed when we opened the door was a smell of stale cigarettes. I double checked to confirm the room was non-smoking. The bathroom was also dirty. This is by far the worst Holiday inn I have stayed

Helpful?
Thank sjf44
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear sjf44, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the unusual smell in the room and our housekeeping service. Please be assured that these concerns will be looked into. While it is regrettable that experience was less than satisfactory, your comments... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chesapeake hotels

Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

The gentleman at the desk was extremely nice. He cannot control the quality of the rooms or property. The first room we went to was on third floor- smoking is on fifth floor- and the whole hallway and room reeked of smoke. The next room we went to was 102- and smelled moldy. We decided NOT to stay at all-... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alice A
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Alice A, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed for making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean, and superior accommodations. I am glad to see your high rating on the level of service rendered by our front... More 

Houston, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Got here late at night and upgraded to the king size suite for a 2 night stay. Got to my room and it smelled of cigarettes. It was late and I would just ask for another room in the morning. Went to bed and thought I had laid down in an ashtray. Next morning moved to a regular king size... More 

Helpful?
Thank AirRabbitt
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear AirRabbitt, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you had a satisfying breakfast experience. However, we would like to apologize for the difficulties you had experienced over the unusual smell of the room and with the unstable Wi-fi connection. We also regret that our gym and pool... More 

Lakemont, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

Very disappointed with our one-night stay here. Indifferent receptionist @ check-in. Horrible smelling room. Bed was way too soft. Wi-Fi spotty. The breakfast, however, was up to par for HIE. Will never stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindyinthemountains
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Cindyinthemountains, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are concerned to read that our staff service, mattress firmness, and breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. Rest assured that this will be shared with our management to ensure that appropriate actions... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

The room was fine not dirty. There was a strong odor not sure if it was mold or what, in the hallway. Ice machine was broken and ice was all over floor, room was falling apart because the window was rotting. Pool closed for repair. Fitness room closed for repair. Price was good with AAA. Breakfast was average free hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily A
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Emily A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our rooms and ice machine. We also regret any shortcomings you experienced during your visit. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and... More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Coming from Allentown Pennsylvania we enjoy this hotel every other year for a family vacation / reunion. The continental breakfast is great not only are there basic foods but hand cooked eggs and hot options. Unfortunately this season the pool was under construction which did frustrate the little ones however we enjoyed our reunion and our stay was satisfactory. For... More 

Helpful?
Thank venice a
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

I should have heeded the reviews that I read here so... here is your warning! I arrived for a brief one night business stay (looking for something affordable and close to the highway - no amenities needed) so I wasn't picky. Let me preface all of this by saying that I emailed the general manager, Christy Morgan, a week before... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Savannah S
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Savannah S, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Chesapeake, VA. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing... More 

Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

This hotel is NOT the quality of the chain. It is badly in need of an update. Rooms are not clean. Breakfast equipment not working. The staff were VERY apologetic. they know what the hotel is like and are doing their best to accommodate their guests. We had planned to stay 4 nights. I could only stand the one night... More 

Helpful?
Thank CherylJoyW
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear CherylJoyW, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our rooms and breakfast amenities. We also regret the issues you had regarding our facilities. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
11.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
11.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
#15 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#29 of 42 in Chesapeake
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay