We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Suites Of Chesapeake

Hotel website
1520 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Suites Of Chesapeake
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Sun Suites Of Chesapeake
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    13
    12
    11
    38
See reviews for
22
10
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a charming hotel on the week days, the weekends are a bit more interesting since this place sells out every weekend. They have nice rooms that are suites... A lake in the bank, and they allow dogs up to mid size... So the whole family can vacation here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

I wld not advise anyone to book a room at this place for starters the do not keep the rooms clean (no room service) second their general manager Richard Davis is a jerk! He looks through your belongings to see if your taking his property and assumes your a thief calls the police.... A total embrassment!! my experience here was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

The first clue should have been apparent when the front desk worker Started speaking. Started speaking. Don't be lured by the low price. About half of the occupancy are financially depressed live in's. Without sounding judgemental, your steroypical trailer home croud was apparent upon arriving. Anything containing metal is rusted. Every window is greasy and dirty. Front desk area looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

My experience was not good. No bath towels and bedspread upon arrival. After two days could not get clean towels as promised. They advertise wake-up calls and then tell you that their phone system is not set up for that. Large trash container outside our room was not emptied one time in the three days we were there and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

Where do I began yes it may day rate 49 dollars daily rate but its a daily lie. They will slap a $25 deposit and magically the room would be priced $84 a night not worth it. Went into room no towels no toilet paper. They have room service but they never clean the rooms. The weekly rate is over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

My husband and I were checking out possible temp housing for me and looked at Sun Suites on the Internet. It seemed like it would do the trick so we made reservations for the night we would be in Chesapeake. To start with, the front desk personnel were not well informed. The price per week/month was totally different than the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lothian, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My daughters and I were in town for a speech tournament. I chose this hotel because the rooms had a microwave and fridge so we could provide our own food while we were at the tournament. Here's a list of the issues we dealt with during our four-night stay. 1. No blankets on either bed. Just a sheet and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed one evening at this place in NOV.2014, I was disappointed that the hotel did not offer any toiletries outside two bars of cheap soap. The hot water did not work, at least I was informed of this before I checked in. I found it difficult to locate the main office, it's tucked in a dark corner with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunSuitesChesapeake, General Manager at Sun Suites Of Chesapeake, responded to this review

First of all, please allow me to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us while I do take pride in delivering the very much when it comes to meeting our guests' lodging needs I will surely take note of the comments you have brought to my attention and many thanks for taking the time... More 

Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I chose to stay a few days at the Sun Suites while in Chesapeake, VA for Halloween. I chose it because of its great location, out appearance and price. From the outside it looks very nice. Inside the rooms could fool you until you look at the details. The tub I thought looked dirty and their was rust inside of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunSuitesChesapeake, Manager at Sun Suites Of Chesapeake, responded to this review

We would like to first thank you for your review of your stay with us. We appreciate each and every opportunity to better our team. Each and every one of our guests is our top priority and main concern at all times. I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences. It is our goal to ensure you are have... More 

Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I had an early morning meeting just a few doors down from this place and just needed a place to sleep so I did not want to spend a fortune. You do get what you pay for so keep that in mind. When I arrived, I ended up driving all the way around the building looking for the entrance. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
11.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#23 of 41 in Chesapeake
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 41 in Chesapeake
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chesapeake Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 41 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Crossways Blvd.
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay