We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Charlottesville hotels

Red Roof Inn Charlottesville

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 West Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Charlottesville to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Charlottesvill...
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Chuck W Stephens City, Virginia
  • Reviews (245)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    83
    66
    33
    27
See reviews for
78
56
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we had to book with them as it was a last minute stay because of car trouble. The hotel is really old, outdated, and smelly. It needs to be updated and cleaned really well. The AC unit barely worked but we didn't say anything as I'm sure they were all that way. The water pressure and temp is horrible. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The building shakes on the top floors. Refrigerator didn't work. They will tow your vehicle if parked in their garage past checkout time. Maid skipped room. Coffee in lobby has powdered creamer. Stay somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beckley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We requested to be on the 1st floor due to my husbands illness. We were given a room on the 8th floor (top floor) when he went to lay down there were hairs in the bed and some type of black eyeliner on the sheet and pillow case. Soooo when we called the front desk lady immediately said come down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice room. Good price. Latisha that checked us in was one of the nicest desk clerks ever. Need more desk clerks like her. The ladies that checked us out were very good also! Thanks for having such good and accommodating desk clerks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Logan, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in need of a major overhaul. It's a shame to see things in such a dilapidated condition. There's nothing fancy about the hotel. The sleeper sofa in our suite had indented pillows where the sleeper was sagging. Thank goodness we didn't intend on sleeping on it. My mother's bedspread had a cigarette burn in it. Our carpet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rented two rooms on the 3rd floor, in our room the air conditioning worked sporadically, and the coffee pods wouldn't even fit the coffee maker! The safe in our room wouldn't work, a maintenance man was called, but he said it hadn't worked for quite some time.The ceiling in the bathroom showed bad signs of leaking and needed repairing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston area, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I go back to visit UVA, I like to be able to walk around The Grounds, The Corner, and the Downtown outdoor mall. This hotel is the closet one to campus that does not require walking across a busy street. The room I stayed in was big enough, the beds hard enough, and the bathroom and halls clean. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel offers a convenient location near UVA and within a bus ride of the pedestrian tourist area. The free parking is also very convenient. There is also free wifi in the room and free coffee and bottles of water available in the lobby 24-hours a day. Our double room was clean and had everything we needed (no microwave or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A little pricey, but clean and what you would expect. The parking garage isn't made for vans though, the turning radius wouldn't allow you to simply turn and drive up the ramp to the next level, there is some backing up and cranking the wheel involved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Va Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

as the other reviews indicate. We stayed here during our son's visit to the University of Virginia in April. The hotel's best selling point is its proximity to UVA. The room itself, decently sized for a group of three, was clean along with the bathroom. We paid the AAA rate of $90.14 (including the $9.15 tax) for a room with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yolunda A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate your feedback and hope that your visit to UVA went well. We're happy to hear you had a pleasant experience and that you were able to take advantage of some of the eateries in close proximity to the hotel. If and when you return to Charlottesville, we certainly look... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1309 West Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charlottesville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Red Roof Inn

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
135

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer