We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge North

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2014 Holiday Dr., Charlottesville, VA 22901
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge North
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    9
    26
    12
    16
See reviews for
15
19
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
clare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has had major updates and we found it to be very clean. We appreciated the professionalism of the staff and all of the help that they were to us. The location was easy to access. There were 2 places to eat within walking distance. The rooms were very adequate for us and they didn't seem to lack anything.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an... More 

Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We chose this place because the prices were decent and it was close enough to Shenandoah national park, but wish we would've have just coughed up the extra money to stay somewhere nicer. The beds were very uncomfy and small. And every night the bathroom gave out a horrible odor that smelled like sewage. We had to close the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Charlottesville Econo Lodge. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. As per our guestroom description, we do have rooms with 1 king bed or 2 full size beds. As per odor, we have no record... More 

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I have always thought of Econo Lodges as not being old, dingy and not well maintained, and this place was no exception. I wanted to try it out and see if Econo Lodges had gotten any better over the years. I was very disappointed. The walls were crusty, the room reeked of mildew and smoke (smoking room), there were stains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Econo Lodge of Charlottesville. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for sub-par condition of your room. I can assure you that corrective measures are being taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur... More 

Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Econo Lodge is a low-priced brand, to be sure. Ben and Mrs. Too, however prefer, have always preferred, to spend sixty dollars for a place to sleep and eighty or ninety dollars for a memorable meal than the opposite. Lord knows how many thousand dollars we have redeployed in that manner over these past fifty years. Econo Lodge North in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive tripadvisor revierw regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

You get what you pay for, I guess. The price is right here, but our room was not all that clean with a huge stain on one of the pillows, hairs in the shower, and the table had sticky stuff all over it and obviously hadn’t been cleaned. Very basic, it served our needs for one night, but next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write an online review regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge North. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding cleanliness of the room on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the housekeepers to ensure we handle these types of... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I was hesitant booking after seeing some of the reviews but it was the right price. Start with the good. The staff was great. When I first walked into the room it looked clean. The bathroom and beds were clean. I was happy to see a desk and table along with the microwave/fridge combo. The bad comes as you settle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information you provided regarding ,cleanliness under the table and ottoman, to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.... More 

New Market, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

First off, I stayed two nights in this hotel. After the first night, when I returned to the room, it had not been cleaned from our previous night. Nothing was refreshed as far as towels picked up, wash cloths replenished, etc. No new soaps or shampoos. I asked for additional towels and wash cloths. The man at the front office... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to a review regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge North. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations in regards to not cleaning your room on the second night. It was an honest mistake by housekeeper. I have shared your feedback with housekeeping department... More 

Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
352 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Had to fly out early from Charlottesville and used this hotel for one night only. It was inexpensive and it was ok for one night. I did not feel like this was the safest area to be staying in and would never allow my wife to stay there alone, but I was ok and would stay here again if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Richfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Let me first start by saying this hotel is a bargain for the Charlottesville area as you won't find hotels this cheap usually in C'ville. I stayed here while apartment hunting. The room was clean, the doors locked, and there were curtains on the windows. Thats about it. This hotel is in serious need of a makeover. Everything is really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time write a review regarding your recent stay at the Econo Lodge North. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. The upgrade is in the pipeline, like replacing TV sets, to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Great hotel, check in was not a problem even when i got there before check-in time. Hotel room was double with comfortable beds....enough room for everyone, clean and cooled. They had desk and free wi fi . It was perfect and affordable for my 3 night stay. Recommended to antone looking for a hotel to stay on the go or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeNorth, General Manager at Econo Lodge North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Econo Lodge North of Charlottesville. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.4 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#25 of 33 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#23 of 33 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#21 of 33 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 33 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#22 of 33 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
3.1 mi away
Affordable Suites of America
Affordable Suites of America
#24 of 33 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay