We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Cape Charles accommodations

Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Save Saved
You added Cherrystone Family Camping Resort to your Saves list
1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (71)
  • Photos (50)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Cherrystone Family Camping Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
43
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights around August 15, 2014. Our first time in a cabin, which was quite nice; it had electricity, a ceiling fan with light, good sized bed and a bunk bed. So glad we stayed in a cabin because a storm came through and the place flooded! Would have been a disaster in a tent. As it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to Cherrystone many times and each time there seems to be a problem with staff/management. My last experience will be my last. Upon arriving at our site, we immediately noticed that it had not been cleaned. There were at least 50 cigarette butts in the fire pit. The grass was knee high and enough litter to fill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Virgina Beach
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reservations not honored. Requested 2 sites together and staff confirmed to us in person site numbers together. Upon arriving that evening we were told sites not together. Upon requesting to speak with the manager regarding this he came out with real attitude from beginning. Management extremely rude and after expressing how we felt we were told to leave the campground.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort. We do apologize for not being able to give you the sites requested, we reserve our sites by type, however we do try to accommodate specific site requests when possible. Unfortunately one of the sites you requested is being held in memorial and the other site was refused by your... More

Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The views are stunning, the little resterant on the property is yummy. Plenty of activities for kids of all ages. Some sites are a bit tight, but nothing a seasoned rv'r can't handle. There is a small farmers market on premises, you won't be disappointed. Stop by the town of cape Charles, and get your hands off the book off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for a commercial vacation with boardwalk and busy streets this isn't the place. For us it was perfect. We came 3 days after they reopened following the tornado. Everything was in good shape and the staff was friendly. I loved that so much was included for the kids, and we would come back. To whomever commented... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there Memorial Day weekend. It was very nice. We rented a cabin with a bedroom. Lots of activities and areas to keep the kids busy. Huge field to play in with grazing deer close by. We've been there a few times and have never been disappointed. Firewood can be bought outside the gate on the road in. Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family left for a three day outing to get away from home and stayed in a four person cabin. This was our first time staying at Cherrystone and we will definitely return. There was lots to do for our kids and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The accommodations were simple but we had power which was nice.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hebron, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay at Cherrystone. Was a mini get away for our family of 14 & one dog in 4 rvs. Cannot complain about anything. We were confused about one sewer hookup when we got to our site, but within seconds help arrived & everything was straightened out. It was a Fiesta theme weekend &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Cherrystone is a great place to visit with family and friends. Request a site by the water. The sound of the ocean is so relaxing in the evening. We went in the spring for the clam bake and again in August. Had a great time each visit! The spring was less crowded and peaceful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Belford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our family just stayed five days at Cherrystone. Two adults, 2 kids and our dog. We were a little intimidated at first with all the dog rules as our dog is a swimmer. It seemed as though dogs were only allowed at your site or in the designated dog areas. However, he swam in the bay and pee'd all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cherrystone Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Address: 1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cape Charles with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Over 300 acres of natural waterfront on the Chesapeake Bay with 700 campsites and we have cabins, campers and cottages for rent as well. Memorial to Labor Day weekend we have: 5 pools, splash pad, beach entry pool, funcycles, bicycles, pedal boats, planned activities, arts and crafts, themed weekends, fishing piers, boat ramp, charter boat, arcade, coin laundry, cafe, general store, bait and tackle, beautiful sunsets year round, great wildlife picture opportunities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
700

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cherrystone Family Camping Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer