We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Cape Charles accommodations

Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Save
You added Cherrystone Family Camping Resort to your Saves list
1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Hotel amenities
Cherrystone Family Camping Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Started Coming to Cherrystone when my Boys were ages 6yrs & 2mths (23yrs ago) they are grown now but my husband & I still return every year..We love it..Staff is great,grounds are kept clean,lots to do with fishing,crabbing,clamming,boat rentals and Sunset Cruises on Ms Jennifer,the Bait & Tackle is always well stocked..Lots of activities for the kids during the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

One if the most beautiful places on the East Coast!! Run by nice country people.Incredible fishing and views of the Bay!! I have been camping here for years and I cannot really say one bad thing.It is hard to believe that I was in the same place of all these people writing these negative reviews.This is camping people, not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

After reading many negative reviews I've decided to write my own. Our family has been there several times. By family, I mean brothers, BIL, SIL, nieces, nephews, grandparents. We have stayed on the beach before which is awesome especially if you have kayaks like us. My younger son, 6 yr then, loved to kayak and fish. Great neighbors who where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited the campground to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived a little late and discovered that our site was quite a distance away from the water and electricity hookup. My husband had to go up to the store and buy another electrical cord and water hose. We reported it to the office and one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort. I am a little confused by the review. Did you report to the Welcome Center you had to buy electric cord and water hose or that you could not reach your hook ups. We would have gladly helped you position your camper so it would have been more convenient for... More 

Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I'll make this short and sweet. (we were tent camping, 3 nights) The pros 1. Nice view of the bay 2. Convenient hook up (water,electric) 3. Store has pretty much everything you need 4. Bath houses were reasonably clean 5. If you have kids (which we don't at the time) there's plenty for them to do The Cons 1. Way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort. We are sorry for the noise and commotion you experienced while you were here. October is our Halloween holiday and every weekend is very busy. Many families are here to celebrate Halloween and the park can be noisy but usually quiets down after 11pm. If you feel someone is being... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two weeks after they suffered a sudden tornado. The only obvious evidence left were some shortened trees. Thus place is unbelievable. Two pools for kids and adults plus a kiddie pool PLUS and adults only pool. Talk about choices. Restaurant on site was very nude, big laundromat, really well stocked store (had a lot less in it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trumbull, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights around August 15, 2014. Our first time in a cabin, which was quite nice; it had electricity, a ceiling fan with light, good sized bed and a bunk bed. So glad we stayed in a cabin because a storm came through and the place flooded! Would have been a disaster in a tent. As it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have been to Cherrystone many times and each time there seems to be a problem with staff/management. My last experience will be my last. Upon arriving at our site, we immediately noticed that it had not been cleaned. There were at least 50 cigarette butts in the fire pit. The grass was knee high and enough litter to fill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Virgina Beach
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Reservations not honored. Requested 2 sites together and staff confirmed to us in person site numbers together. Upon arriving that evening we were told sites not together. Upon requesting to speak with the manager regarding this he came out with real attitude from beginning. Management extremely rude and after expressing how we felt we were told to leave the campground.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort. We do apologize for not being able to give you the sites requested, we reserve our sites by type, however we do try to accommodate specific site requests when possible. Unfortunately one of the sites you requested is being held in memorial and the other site was refused by your... More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The views are stunning, the little resterant on the property is yummy. Plenty of activities for kids of all ages. Some sites are a bit tight, but nothing a seasoned rv'r can't handle. There is a small farmers market on premises, you won't be disappointed. Stop by the town of cape Charles, and get your hands off the book off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cherrystone Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Address: 1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 700

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay