We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Cape Charles accommodations

Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Save Saved
You added Cherrystone Family Camping Resort to your Saves list
1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Hotel amenities
Cherrystone Family Camping Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
43
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Petersburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the campground to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived a little late and discovered that our site was quite a distance away from the water and electricity hookup. My husband had to go up to the store and buy another electrical cord and water hose. We reported it to the office and one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort. I am a little confused by the review. Did you report to the Welcome Center you had to buy electric cord and water hose or that you could not reach your hook ups. We would have gladly helped you position your camper so it would have been more convenient for... More

Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll make this short and sweet. (we were tent camping, 3 nights) The pros 1. Nice view of the bay 2. Convenient hook up (water,electric) 3. Store has pretty much everything you need 4. Bath houses were reasonably clean 5. If you have kids (which we don't at the time) there's plenty for them to do The Cons 1. Way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort. We are sorry for the noise and commotion you experienced while you were here. October is our Halloween holiday and every weekend is very busy. Many families are here to celebrate Halloween and the park can be noisy but usually quiets down after 11pm. If you feel someone is being... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two weeks after they suffered a sudden tornado. The only obvious evidence left were some shortened trees. Thus place is unbelievable. Two pools for kids and adults plus a kiddie pool PLUS and adults only pool. Talk about choices. Restaurant on site was very nude, big laundromat, really well stocked store (had a lot less in it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trumbull, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights around August 15, 2014. Our first time in a cabin, which was quite nice; it had electricity, a ceiling fan with light, good sized bed and a bunk bed. So glad we stayed in a cabin because a storm came through and the place flooded! Would have been a disaster in a tent. As it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have been to Cherrystone many times and each time there seems to be a problem with staff/management. My last experience will be my last. Upon arriving at our site, we immediately noticed that it had not been cleaned. There were at least 50 cigarette butts in the fire pit. The grass was knee high and enough litter to fill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Virgina Beach
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Reservations not honored. Requested 2 sites together and staff confirmed to us in person site numbers together. Upon arriving that evening we were told sites not together. Upon requesting to speak with the manager regarding this he came out with real attitude from beginning. Management extremely rude and after expressing how we felt we were told to leave the campground.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort. We do apologize for not being able to give you the sites requested, we reserve our sites by type, however we do try to accommodate specific site requests when possible. Unfortunately one of the sites you requested is being held in memorial and the other site was refused by your... More

Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The views are stunning, the little resterant on the property is yummy. Plenty of activities for kids of all ages. Some sites are a bit tight, but nothing a seasoned rv'r can't handle. There is a small farmers market on premises, you won't be disappointed. Stop by the town of cape Charles, and get your hands off the book off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you are looking for a commercial vacation with boardwalk and busy streets this isn't the place. For us it was perfect. We came 3 days after they reopened following the tornado. Everything was in good shape and the staff was friendly. I loved that so much was included for the kids, and we would come back. To whomever commented... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed there Memorial Day weekend. It was very nice. We rented a cabin with a bedroom. Lots of activities and areas to keep the kids busy. Huge field to play in with grazing deer close by. We've been there a few times and have never been disappointed. Firewood can be bought outside the gate on the road in. Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family left for a three day outing to get away from home and stayed in a four person cabin. This was our first time staying at Cherrystone and we will definitely return. There was lots to do for our kids and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The accommodations were simple but we had power which was nice.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cherrystone Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Address: 1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 700

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay