We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Beach Inn

32246 Lankford Highway, Cape Charles, VA 23310 (Formerly Sunset Beach Resort)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Beach Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunset Beach Inn
Review This Hotel

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    24
    13
    15
See reviews for
30
26
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

The rooms are perfectly clean, so it's a fine place to stay if you just need a place for the night and don't need Wifi. The wifi is only available in the lobby, and maybe in one or two rooms nearby. We were here for the thanksgiving weekend actually, because we were looking for a place away from people. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harmony_Management, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay at Sunset Beach. You will be happy to know that over the winter we are installing a new Broadband Wifi system that will serve the entire Inn as well as the RV Park and the Sunset Grille. By spring, you will have a good strong Wifi signal... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Let me reiterate some of the previous things that have been said and which we experienced: the hotel and the rooms are outdated, it fronts a major road and has an RV park on site, the beach is about 150 yards long before you hit protected beachfront that is protected, the beach is 100 yards from the hotel, the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harmony_Management, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are happy that you were pleased with your clean room and our affordable rates. Yes, we do allow pets and our staff is the absolute best! Sunset Beach is the largest private beach on the Eastern Shore of Virginia and we are glad you were able to spend time enjoying it as well... More 

Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I recently spent three nights at the Sunset Beach Inn while attending a sea kayak symposium nearby. I didn't spend a lot of time at the motel, but my room was clean, relatively large, and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The actual name of the place is the Sunset Beach Inn and Grille, but the "Grille" no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harmony_Management, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to so thoughtfully review Sunset Beach Inn and Grille. We are happy that you found your spacious comfortable room to meet your cleanliness standards. Our staff does indeed give the extra effort to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. The Sunset Grille is very much in operation. However, it is seasonal and... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

About 65 members of my family converged on Sunset Beach Inn for a reunion. The Sunset Grill catered the event, but what made the event a success was the oversight and attention of Betsy Rowe. The property needs a great deal of love and care and many repairs, but we found it clean and comfortable. The view of the bay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review of Sunset Beach Inn in Cape Charles! We are happy that we could accommodate your family reunion to your satisfaction. We agree that Betsy is a real asset in making our guests welcome. Thank you for noting that your rooms were clean and comfortable and we do continue to make improvements to the... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

When you want to get away for a fun, relaxing weekend at the beach. And you don't feel like spending it with 50,000 of your NOT closest friends, then Sunset Beach is where you want to come. You can't beat the price for the accomodations and you have the feeling of having an almost private beach to enjoy. There's even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review and for the laugh about "your NOT closest friends." We are happy that you had a fun and relaxing weekend with us. Please come back, the fall season is gorgeous! More 

Warner, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife, toddler, and myself along with another party stopped here for a night after 12 hours of driving before we pressed on to obx the next day. We pretty much knew what we were in for based on reputation and previous visits. Before writing this review I have concluded that the new staff cares very much about improving this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Because of the lingering smoke smell we are planning to go to a completely non smoking hotel. We want to address this problem once and for all! More 

Manteo, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

It started with a dirty lobby that smelled. We do not complain a lot but do want our monies worth when traveling. Sorry about this owners.......I think you already know what I am about to say. This should have been a sign of things come. We were there and would make the best of it. Our room keys would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive review. We will indeed work with the housekeeping staff to do a more thorough job of cleaning the rooms. Please come back again soon. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel to be close to family for a reunion. Had I known what we were in for I would have drove farther up the road to find a place..The rooms door was falling apart at the bottom and you could see light through there. The tiolet leaked everytime you flushed it and the AC did not really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harmony_Management, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Apparently you did not bother to speak with the front desk about your concerns? If you do not tell us that you are having a problem we cannot resolve it for you. We work very hard to resolve guest concerns when they are brought to our attention. We... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We loved the private beach access and thought the beach grill was unexpectedly good! The rooms are clean and the beds are fine. The lobby looks like it is still in the 60's but I like the quirklness. They could stand to improve the breakfast and figure out how to improve the air conditioning in the dining area. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments about Sunset Beach. Our housekeeping staff certainly appreciates your comments about the clean rooms and beds! We are working on improving the air conditioning in the dining area. We have just installed four new ceiling fans and are looking at additional enhancements. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Eastern... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place reminded me of a dive a teenage kid would pick during spring break in PCB. $110 dollars for a musty smelling outdated room. More water came out of the spigot then the shower head and took an hour for the water to drain from the tub. Took kids to the beach and it was disgusting. Dead fish carcass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harmony_Management, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

The beach is cleaned twice a day as we do understand how important a clean beach is to our guests. The incident with the fish on the beach was because of some fishing boats. As soon as it was brought to our attention the manager of the Grille personally went and cleaned up the beach. If you have a problem... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question