We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Blacksburg hotels

The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
86%
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011
kb9906 Bristow, Virginia
  • Reviews (196)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    59
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
31
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Bristow, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My family (2 adults, 1 small child) stayed at the Inn for a wedding, and unfortunately, it did not meet our expectations. We booked one of the executive suites since it had two sleeping areas divided by a set of doors, and the room was nothing to write home about. It was a large room, which was great with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about our front desk personnel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff is providing exceptional service. I’m disappointed that the rest of your experience did not live up to expectations. I have shared your comments with our facilities team. We rarely get general noise complaints from our guests, but it certainly... More

Taiyuan, China
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
83 hotel reviews
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The Christmas decorations were nice. I had some extra requests, and the front desk staff was very helpful. The room has solid furnishings and was comfortable, but I did not find it to be exceptional. The hotel has most amenities you would expect of a business hotel. There are plenty of restaurants a short drive away. The hotel restaurant has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We strive to provide the best possible service and amenities of a full service “chain” hotel while maintaining a unique character that represents the campus community that we are part of. I’m glad you enjoyed the holiday decorations and hope you have the opportunity to visit other times of year. More

Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Staff very professional, cheerful and friendly. Our room was quite large, clean and quiet. The location is adjacent to the campus, about a 10 minute walk, probably fine in good weather. I am one of the few people who just hate the ubiquitous breakfast buffet; we would have preferred ordering our breakfast. The hotel wireless was free but slow, like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate both positive comments as well as constructive criticism. I will discuss your comments concerning breakfast with our food and beverage director. The breakfast buffet is offered as a reservation add-on or as part of our Bed & Breakfast package. We do, however, offer a full breakfast menu for guests who choose to reserve... More

Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Comfortable, attractive, very clean, perfect location, friendly and efficient staff. About the level of a Hilton Garden Inn. Not brand new, but certainly feels like it. Hot breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) is a good deal (about $10-12) and served in a sunny, nicely decorated dining room. Lots of easy access, secure parking. Good beds and plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

My husband and I held our wedding at the Inn at VT and most of our friends and family stayed here as well. The customer service was phenomenal and the rooms were absolutely immaculate and impressively accomodated. I received raved reviews from my friends and family concerning their stay at the hotel and I most definitely recommend the Inn at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

While everyone, whether business or leisure, wants/expects a perfect stay or hotel experiences with no issues, sometimes things happen. However, when they do happen, what separates a "2-star" from a "4-star" hotel is the professional manner in which they address the issue. The Inn at VT is to be commended for keeping customer service first and foremost. Highly recommend to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

First, this is a beautiful building and Quite close to VA Tech. The rooms are nice. However, They had oversold the hotel and we were placed in a room that required a roll-away. Fortunately, were not sent to Christiansburg like the customer who arrived right after us. When we opened the roll-away, there was a dirty sock in the roll-away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and I’d like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences your encountered. While we don’t purposely oversell the hotel, there are rare occasions in which we cannot accommodate individuals in the room types they requested. We do, however, try to make every effort to guarantee our guest’s comfort.... More

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This was my second stay at the Inn at Virginia Tech. Located on campus, this hotel provides easy access to all things Virginia Tech, and the campus is within easy walking distance. The Blacksburg/Christiansburg area has very few true hotels. The Inn is a full service facility with restaurant and bar, a bell hop, fitness center and room service. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centreville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My family and I have stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech at least four times. I would have stayed there more often but the hotel books up rather quickly due to it's location on campus. This hotel is my number one choice for this area..and I'm pretty fussy. The rooms are nicely appointed with very comfortable king sized beds.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and we’re delighted that you have enjoyed your vistis to the hotel. We strive to be much more than just a convenient location for Virginia Tech, but to also provide the best possible experience for our guests. I’m sorry that we weren’t able to accommodate you in October, but hope that you are able... More

Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Our group of 18 professionals found the Inn at Virginia Tech to be a terrific match to our meeting and accommodation needs. The airy conference room was set up to our exact specifications. The snack/coffee bar (available throughout the day) was a great hit with participants and the full breakfast and lunch buffets offered something substantial for everyone. The meeting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the complimentary review of our lodging accommodations as well as the amenities and services of our conference center. As an IACC approved conference center, we strive for not only superior responsiveness to our conference guests, but to also be proactive in anticipating their needs. It’s tremendously rewarding to have such efforts recognized and appreciated. Thank... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Blacksburg #3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
147

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer