We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Main Street Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Offers & Announcements
SPRING SAVINGS
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Main Street Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Main Street Inn
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
48
37
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was a single executive on business in Blacksburg, VA, and stayed at this Colonial-style hotel right downtown for 2 nights. It is small, charming, up-to-date, efficient and tastefully decorated. Quiet. Staff courteous. Large suite with big living room, bath, hall, bedroom. Large window looking out on big tree; like being in the country in the middle of town. Easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stone Ridge, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are 2 things going for this hotel; the location and the incredibly friendly staff. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Blacksburg and within walking distance of everything Virginia Tech. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was just OK, but we weren't expecting a 4 star style room. We got the Queen suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This hotel is in the perfect location. We walked everywhere during our two day stay. It was nice to be able to walk for dinner and drinks and not have to worry about looking for parking. The beds and pillows are super comfortable. We slept great. The room was very clean and the "living room" area, complete with television and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed in this hotel to see Duke Game. They had a broken pipe, probably due to the cold winter. They didn't give us a heads up before we arrived and there were fans everywhere drying the carpets. They assured us they would be turned off by 6PM ..THEY WERE NOT! It was incredibly noisy all night long. When we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Yes, Main Street Inn did suffer a pipe burst on the third floor February 23rd. All but 4 of our 34 rooms were affected. We had a full house scheduled for the entire week. My staff called every hotel in Blacksburg, Christiansburg and Radford looking for alternative accommodations for our guests. The Duke game was a big draw and accommodations... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I am a local who stayed because I couldn't get home due to snow and it was within walking distance. It was very noisy and it smelled like they were covering something up. There is no consistency with their rooms; the 2nd time I stayed due to snow there wasn't an alarm clock in the room and the carpet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. I wish you would have taken the time to call the front desk if you felt your room was uncomfortable. Our staff works very hard to make sure each and every guest enjoys their stay at Main Street Inn. They would have loved to had opportunity... More 

New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The room was very nice, and clean.The separate living room with the sink/bar was also very nice. The location was perfect to walk to restaurants and the college. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

On my first trip to Blacksburg, my significant other reserved a room here. We LOVED it. The room was very clean and the bed was mega comfortable. I found it very quaint and we plan to stay again on a return trip. For our little romantic getaway we found it perfect. My favorite part was the decor and the cleanliness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We just needed a room that we could dress for and then rest after a formal function in Blacksburg and this hotel was given as a recommendation. And we are very satisfied with our stay. Room was clean, staff was friendly, and the location is excellent! Nightlife is a short walk away. Would absolutely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Came to pick up our grandson at VT. Lovely suite, clean and accessible to many sites. Would stay here again. Staff very friendly. They offer a free breakfast. Room 216 overlooks the trash area a and parking. Go for another room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Love the lobby! Coffee,tea, cookies,apples and a warm cozy fireplace! Very inviting! Clean room. Very nice. The down sides I realize are temporary however, at the time construction work on garage was annoying as couldn't park close out of the cold elements. Walking to get the car in -10 not so fun! We will come again though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay