We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Main Street Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SIZZLE DISCOUNT
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Main Street Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Main Street Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
49
39
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were lucky enough to visit Blacksburg during the summer - when all the undergraduates are gone - and the town is calm and peaceful. Although I lived just a block over while attending graduate school at VT, this was my first time staying at Main Street Inn. There was a distinct feeling of southern charm - welcoming without being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Main Street Inn while visiting Blacksburg. Go Hokies! You noticed our location is wonderful. Once you park your car, you need not drive again until check-out. Great Dining, boutiques shops, theater and Virginia Tech are all within walking distance. We designed Main Street Inn's two room suites for the early riser and the sleepy head in... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is in no way a luxury property. The website sadly misrepresents this property. I don't know what they were smoking when they wrote this " Our well appointed guest rooms offer the amenities of a fine hotel with the atmosphere of a small inn." That said It's not a bad place at all, this Inn is much like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you noticed our bedding. Next to our friendly staff, our bedding is our number one compliment. Nothing better than a good nights sleep. Main Street Inn is a member of Virginia Green and our amenities were chosen to be eco friendly. You are correct in noting our location. Can't... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place located on Main Street in Blacksburg. Very convenient but also very noisy. Awoken Sunday at midnight by a trash truck's backup alarm servicing the pizza place next door, but directly out our window. Prolonged torture since the back alarm remained on for several minutes followed by loud idling for 10 minutes. I left 2 textbooks in our hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

The best thing about this hotel is its location, it's adjacent to the old location of Backstreets on Main St. It's a boutique hotel and it's clear when they built it the folks weren't experienced in doing hotels, but they tried hard. The rooms don't have a lot of soundproofing, the shower was built cheaply, and the room thermostat is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad you were able to enjoy our unique location in Downtown Blacksburg. I agree ... we tried hard. We tried real hard to be a comfortable, charming hotel in the wonderful historic town of Blacksburg. Since you stayed with us at Main Street Inn, we have partnered with Blacksburg Regional Art Association and have installed a gallery of... More 

Big Stone Gap, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

I was a single executive on business in Blacksburg, VA, and stayed at this Colonial-style hotel right downtown for 2 nights. It is small, charming, up-to-date, efficient and tastefully decorated. Quiet. Staff courteous. Large suite with big living room, bath, hall, bedroom. Large window looking out on big tree; like being in the country in the middle of town. Easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

So very glad you were able to appreciate the charm of Main Street Inn. When designing Main Street Inn, our goal was to have it appear as if i had always been part of Historic Downtown Blacksburg. I hope you also enjoyed the flowing creek and natural landscaping. Don't forget to check out our newly installed Art Gallery upon your... More 

Stone Ridge, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

There are 2 things going for this hotel; the location and the incredibly friendly staff. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Blacksburg and within walking distance of everything Virginia Tech. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was just OK, but we weren't expecting a 4 star style room. We got the Queen suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

I agree .... Location, Location, Location!!! The two room suite works great for families. Kids can watch their cartoons while parents can enjoy their coffee and newspaper in bed with the news on. We do have a great staff. The majority of our staff are student s of Virginia Techs School of Hospitality Management. Their enthusiasm shows. We look forward... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This hotel is in the perfect location. We walked everywhere during our two day stay. It was nice to be able to walk for dinner and drinks and not have to worry about looking for parking. The beds and pillows are super comfortable. We slept great. The room was very clean and the "living room" area, complete with television and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review. Very enthusiastic and right on the mark! We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. More 

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed in this hotel to see Duke Game. They had a broken pipe, probably due to the cold winter. They didn't give us a heads up before we arrived and there were fans everywhere drying the carpets. They assured us they would be turned off by 6PM ..THEY WERE NOT! It was incredibly noisy all night long. When we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Yes, Main Street Inn did suffer a pipe burst on the third floor February 23rd. All but 4 of our 34 rooms were affected. We had a full house scheduled for the entire week. My staff called every hotel in Blacksburg, Christiansburg and Radford looking for alternative accommodations for our guests. The Duke game was a big draw and accommodations... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I am a local who stayed because I couldn't get home due to snow and it was within walking distance. It was very noisy and it smelled like they were covering something up. There is no consistency with their rooms; the 2nd time I stayed due to snow there wasn't an alarm clock in the room and the carpet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. I wish you would have taken the time to call the front desk if you felt your room was uncomfortable. Our staff works very hard to make sure each and every guest enjoys their stay at Main Street Inn. They would have loved to had opportunity... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The room was very nice, and clean.The separate living room with the sink/bar was also very nice. The location was perfect to walk to restaurants and the college. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay