We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Bedford

Hotel website
Hotel deals
842 Sword Beach Lane, Bedford, VA 24523
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Bedford
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    67
    39
    27
    18
See reviews for
74
46
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
norcross
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff was as helpful as could be. Room was small, but roomy enough. Coffee was strong enough and the room clean enough. This is not the Ritz, but a place to stay at a reasonable price .I. My review was based on expectations for this property and I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at this Super 8 before and it's always clean and comfortable. We used the computer in the lobby and had some problems logging on. Breakfast Monday morning was a little disappointing, they'd run out of yogurt. Some bananas would have been nice too.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Okay, if you just need to get some sleep while traveling. Bathroom was clean but the carpet wasn't. Sheets were very thin and need to be retired. Overall cleaning was ok. Outside looks run down with burnt out Christmas light on gutter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sam s, General Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable room. More 

Durham, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were traveling through and only needed a place to sleep for one night. The room was fine except the carpet needs replacement. I don't think a thorough cleaning would do the trick so don't drop anything! Missed breakfast, not because we overslept, but there was a large group of girls traveling together and they took up every seat available,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam s, General Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you weren't able to have continental breakfast due to the large group of girls here that weekend. I'm glad you found the room clean and comfortable. I hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant and helpful desk clerk. We arrived early, but she was able to find us a room so we didn't have to come back later to check in.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam s, General Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I am glad we were able to accommodate your early check-in. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bedford. More 

Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

This is a nice hotel for the price. The building looks modern and fresh inside and out, the rooms are clean with a pleasant smell. The breakfast was pretty good. Nothing fancy, but it's a good stop-off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam s, General Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Super 8 in Bedford, VA. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Second time staying at this hotel. Select a room on the mountain side if you can. DO NOT allow them to put you in room 221, this room is right above an exhaust fan which thumps every few minutes. ALL NIGHT LONG! We got no sleep. Wish I could rate higher, because Tammy who works the front desk was GREAT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam s, General Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are glad that Tammy was able to provide you with exceptional customer service. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the fan noise. We appreciate your feedback and will correct the problem with the fan. We hope you will give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations on... More 

Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I really enjoyed this place. It was very comfortable and the staff were polite. The view was also really nice after a long drive.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam s, General Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. The Peaks of Otter provide our guests with a beautiful view, glad you were able to enjoy it. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bedford. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

This is a typical Super 8 chain Hotel with good rooms, breakfast, indoor pool. Don't expect something special, but you'll get a nice clean room for a reasonable rate. Located a bit outside the town, nothing around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam s, General Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do not have a pool, so I think you must have meant to review a different Super 8. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
8.2 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
20.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
13.9 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
20.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Of Lynchburg
BEST WESTERN Of Lynchburg
#16 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay