We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Dover accommodations

Austrian Haus Lodge

6 Abroad Rd, Route 100 N, West Dover, PO Box #335, Dover, VT 05356
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Austrian Haus Lodge to your Saves list
Austrian Haus Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
48%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014
bryan k Washington DC, District of Columbia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (4)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
true
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I just stayed here for the Tough Mudder New England event. The managers/owners were extremely nice, the hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the convenience to Mt. Snow and the restaurants was perfect!! And what make this place extra nice was the fact that there was a lovely continental breakfast (free of charge) every morning. And plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Do not expect much. For the money (<$100) this was a decent bed to sleep on, and clean bathroom. Nice hot shower (sometimes too hot, it was a bit quirky). Very simple, different types of pillows to choose from in the room. You have to get the TV remote from the front desk. Walls are very thin, but we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were very disappointed by the poor condition of our room and what we got for our $150 per night. You don't always get what you pay for, and this was one of those cases. My brother was so embarrassed that he was the one who chose these accommodations for us. The entire hotel is tired. It has carpets that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ahaus, Owner at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was not a positive one, no one mentioned anything to us while you were here that you had issues. The continental breakfast we have has many choices and most people seemed happy with it. We offer coffee, tea , juices, bagels, muffins, cereals (hot and cold), danishes, croissants, etc. A simple but varied offering... More

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spent three nights at the Austrian Haus while skiing at Mount Snow recently. The proprietor is extremely friendly and available, the rooms are modest with a quaint charm (nothing remotely fancy), and the pool and sauna had a legit retro vibe (mainly due to being dated, but there's a charm to that). If you are renting equipment, DO NOT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
billskis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Marriott or a bnb this is not. It's a pretty average motel. Pretty much what I expected. Pictures on the wall? Telephones when nobody uses them any more? 'cmon. I came midweek and got the $89 rate. Don't forget, VT has a steep lodging tax to add to it. The rooms are average in size. The beds and linens... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

All expectations were met for me. We came up here (myself, mom & two daughters ages 5 & 7). Our room was very nice, clean & comfortable. Anything I could expect was there (folded, clean towels, working television with remote etc.). I've read that the owner is extremely friending & helpful - which I would definitely concur. They made sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenlawn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here last year, with my two children. We LOVED it, and plan on going back. My daughter is 17, and my son is 16. This hotel in not the Ritz, but makes up for that in sooo many ways. It is SUPER close to the mountain! They have a main 'social area' where they hold a continental breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here I have to say If you're expecting the Ritz, then you don't realize where you are. However, if you're looking for a wonderful place with a relaxed-cozy-easy-going-feel then this is for you! The owner/inkeeper is the best and very friendly. Our room was perfect and had a comforting warm feel. The common... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The room was a bit tired and worn. The most bothtersome thing is that is was not very clean, especially the bathroom and tub. Owners seemed nice enough but the property is not. All the places in Dover during ski season have similar inflated prices but Austrian Haus will really leave you feeling badly about what you paid for what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wish we had read reviews before booking. The lodge is in need of some help. The owners are very nice and it's obvious they are trying to make improvements...but for $139 a night...we expected more. The rooms are motel quality. Older bedspreads ... bathrooms clean but odd. We had to duck under a large overhang to get into our shower.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Austrian Haus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Austrian Haus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Haus Lodge

Address: 6 Abroad Rd, Route 100 N, West Dover, PO Box #335, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Austrian Haus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrian Haus Hotel Dover

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Dover with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 3 miles from Mt. Snow, we have an indoor heated pool, sauna, gameroom, cctv in all rooms and wifi access in our BYOB Lounge area that also has a fireplace. We are a family run and operated and welcome other families here. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Austrian Haus Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer