We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Austrian Haus Lodge

6 Abroad Rd, Route 100 N, West Dover, PO Box #335, Dover, VT 05356
Hotel amenities
Austrian Haus Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Lizzygreen73 Greenlawn
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    4
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Greenlawn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place - we stay here every year - owners are super friendly owners who always go above and beyond, to make the stay GREAT! Less than 1 mile to Mt Snow for GREAT skiing!! Will will deffinetly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This hotel is awful. The rooms are dirty and depressing. The beds are tiny, carpet from the 60s and no wifi anywhere except the lobby. You have to walk outside to get to your room. We didn't even stay the night, we left after seeing the room. It was that bad. Management did nothing when we told them our concerns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ahaus, Manager at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review

The guests , here had booked a 3 night stay, and wanted to cancel out on arrival day, we charged only our cancellation fee as was stated to them, 1 night, not the whole stay. Also no where does it say that we have WIFI everywhere in the hotel, it is stated on our website . The room in question... More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Its not a high-end, expensive, state-of-art lodge (which comes with a price), but a cozy place to unwind after a hard day on the ski slopes. Rooms are bit smaller, but good enough for a family with small kids, clean and odor free. Large break room, dinning room to sit back and relax, indoor warm swimming pool which the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Truly the dirtiest motel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at. Dark, tiny room with lumpy mattresses. Tiny outdated bathroom, had someones dirty washcloth still hanging on the shower curtain rod, dirt or something resembling feeces on the wall over the back of the toilet. Residue of a former residents drinks on top of the dresser. The heat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ahaus, Manager at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry that you had a bad experience, however, when you stay somewhere for a couple nights and not say anything to us about any problems, until the morning that you are leaving and demanding a reduction in rates, I tend to not listen as well about the problems you had. Even though I did give you a break in the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I stayed here over the weekend for a ski trip. As I walked in my room, I immediately noted the stained carpets. I travel a lot and have never seen anything like this. The mattress was very old and sunken in the middle with no one laying in it. It was a non-smoking room but still stunk of smoke. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I would not stay here again. Rooms were small and dark. No remote for tube TV. I was disappointed. No wifi in rooms. No cell signal with Verizon or sprint. I've bucket was gross. Location was okay. Game room was a joke. There were only board games.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ahaus, Manager at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review

We do have a game room with a couple of video games and a pool table, if you couldn't find the remote in the room ask me at the desk and I would have given you one. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor have a sliding glass door and outside access to the pool the 1st floor has... More 

Bethesda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

One of the worthwhile quests in the U.S.A.(and anywhere else for that matter) is that for something that tastes/looks/feels different from the usual and thus is more real. There's is always a high risk of uniformity, of finding always the same aseptic atmospheres, the same smiles of plastic, the same cardboard tastes. Luckily Austrian Haus has none of that. From... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This lodge is great value for anyone looking for a place to stay while on the road. I would love to see this lodge in the winter. I would imagine this is a perfect location for those on a weekend ski getaway. Thanks for the great stay,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I just stayed here for the Tough Mudder New England event. The managers/owners were extremely nice, the hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the convenience to Mt. Snow and the restaurants was perfect!! And what make this place extra nice was the fact that there was a lovely continental breakfast (free of charge) every morning. And plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Do not expect much. For the money (<$100) this was a decent bed to sleep on, and clean bathroom. Nice hot shower (sometimes too hot, it was a bit quirky). Very simple, different types of pillows to choose from in the room. You have to get the TV remote from the front desk. Walls are very thin, but we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question