We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub

2849 Millbrook Rd., Waitsfield, VT 05673 (Formerly Inn at the Mad River Barn)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Review This Hotel

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Our stay at the Barn was awesome! The food is incredible and the ambiance in the pub is great! Good beer also. We stayed in the annex which is outdated but very clean. We are told the annex will be renovated in the near future but the parts of the barn that have been renovated are great. A rustic feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks Nicole and Matt! We really appreciate this awesome review, and we look forward to having you back! We start renovation of the Annex on Monday :) The four units on the left side will be completed this year, leaving four more to tackle next year if all goes well. We'll post pictures to our Facebook page as work progresses.... More 

Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Discovered the barn with some friends on a long ski weekend. Perfectly located between Mad River Glen and Sugarbush. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. We stayed in the bunk room which was perfect for our needs. The beds were tremendous. The Barn has a great pub with comfortable seating, fireplace, bar, and great games. Would be ideal for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks vnBrooklyn for a great review! We enjoyed having you here! Heather L. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I know you have not redone the annex yet, but we were staying in room A7, and the bathroom door wouldn't even close, the window had HUGE cracks in it, and we aren't even spared a box if tissues or a clock. The food is amazing (and a little over priced), but for around $200 a night it could've been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks Cayley for the review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food, and that you thought the beds were comfortable. Although we haven't yet renovated the Annex, we did replace all the Queen mattresses this year (they are the same as those in the Barn), and we have had very positive feedback about those.We will be renovating the left... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Based on the description, we were prepared for a "somewhat dated" room in the annex but were very disappointed that it boarded on disrepair. Large cracks in the wall, very very loud plumbing, a front door that wouldn't latch/lock from the outside, and we could understand the conversations of the family above us. Dinner was very good, however the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

For the benefit of those reading this review, I'll clarify a few points: 1) This guest booked a room in the Annex. As our website notes, this is the building we have not yet had the chance to renovate. The website includes pictures which very accurately depict the rooms, as it's in nobody's interests to have unmet expectations. We're very... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Have now stayed at the barn twice (in the last 2 weeks). Its a great spot. First weekend was with our kids and some friends with kids. Between us we split three rooms- parents each had a room, and 4 kids shared. Perfect place for families- kids can walk back and forth from their rooms to the game room while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks Pkek for the review! You guys are a lot of fun to have around! Andrew & Heather More 

new york
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

First time here, we will absolutely be back. We stayed in the main house, and our room was "rustic farmhouse" with lovely attention to detail & design. Terrific breakfast in the a.m. and very romantic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks AMH6885! We really appreciate the review! Heather More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

If you're coming to the Mad River Valley to ski, Mad River Barn is in a great location, which is what orginally attracted us to Mad River Barn. Even in challenging weather, we were able to navgate ourselves to Mad River Glen, Sugarbush, and Mount Ellen ski areas. We were delighted with all other aspects of the Inn. First, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks ski_vacationer! We really enjoyed having you here, and we think your review captures the essence of the Mad River Barn perfectly. Thank you for being such awesome guests. Heather More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Some friends and I stayed at the inn for a ski trip this past week and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The staff is great and very accommodating. If you have any needs or concerns; bring it to their attention and it is immediately taken care of. Breakfast or dinner the food is fantastic (especially those homefries with breakfast...I've been dreaming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks chrisdaigle! We're thrilled to hear you had a great time. We really appreciate the kind words about our staff, as well, as they care deeply about our guests' experience and put their heart and soul into their work. We look forward to seeing you again! Heather More 

Woburn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stayed at the Mad River Barn this past weekend, and really loved it! The rooms are simple, yet sweet; and the beds are extremely comfortable. Great shower with built in bath gel, shampoo and conditioner dispensers. All natural and re-purposed furnishings and adornments. (The bathroom had Meyers lemon pump hand soap!) The restaurant is also simply furnished. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks JoAnne and Tom! We had so much fun with your party - what a great group! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food. About those beds: They are Sealy Monogram 800 Plush Mattress, Queen Size. We're so glad you found them comfortable! Heather More 

Frostburg, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Mad River Barn Inn. It was aweome. The room was perfect and we ate all meals at the Inn. Breakfast was amazing and the staff was incredible. Room was wonderful. Comfortable bed and thoughtful decor. Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks Sara Beth J! We loved having you here! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question