We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stowe Inn

3.0 of 5 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Stowe Inn
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    40
    39
    33
See reviews for
44
113
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Augusta, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the murder mystery at the Stowe inn and were very disappointed. It was an interactive theater show were guests played a part we did not know that only the guests played parts and were given scripts to read throughout the dinner. Only not all the parts were handed out and we were missing portably facts and clues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely inn in excellent location. We were traveling in New England for two weeks and this was our most expensive room. Housekeeping had not finished our room--there was no toilet paper, only an empty roll. No towels. Staff politely rectified this, but the towels were badly stained and had holes in them. Breakfast was included, but very sparse offering of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ossipee, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Disappointment from beginning. When you first walk in, you're treated to a mildew, musty smell. Checked into our room at 4:45 pm. Room still not made from the previous occupants so they gave us another room. More smelly carpets. Bathroom unclean. Toilet seat paint peeling that they tried to cover up with more paint. Shower curtain black with mildew. Dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed for only 1 night but the room was clean, bed was comfortable, location was great and it was affordable! We stopped by the bar for a drink and tge bartender was great! There was a continental breakfast but we didn't eat it but looked like a normal continental breakfast. You get what you pay for and I believe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

from the beginning till the end: catastrophy we arrived at 5pm: room's not ready, 30 minutes later it was (not really) no towels- ok- this took 1 minute... later at 10pm we realized one bed sheet missing... this took another hour:( and so on... dirty silverware, the included breakfast was... sweet, mostly- you have to asl for everything, even a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vancouver
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

One of the worst places we've stayed in a long time. Unclean and poorly maintained. We didn't get housekeeping service until we complained and then they just made the bed - no clean towels or clean bathroom. The breakfast was a joke (the main item was a box of doughnuts), toaster didn't work, not enough cups for all the guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Must have been a top Inn back in the day. Today, it appears to be struggling financially, and run on a shoestring budget. The location is fabulous for walking through town or biking. The Inn itself consists of the main building (a 150 year old house that's been added on to.) plus outer buildings. The grounds are not well kept,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frazer
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location - right off the main drag and walkable to many things. The beds were decent but from there it goes downhill. The room was ill-lighted, the large wall clock didn't work. One night when we returned at 9:45 pm after a busy sightseeing day and we found there had been no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Nice place to stay, friendly staff, great location! Needed both pet friendly and handicap friendly, but unfortunately can't seem to find both at the same time. However, it was a good place to bring the dog. The inn is very close to walking trails and Stowe village. Breakfast was very basic, and they charge $5 for scrambled eggs, pancakes and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management17, Owner at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Hello guest. Thank you for your review. Glad you were able to stay in one of our pet friendly rooms and enjoy traveling with man's best friend. We pride ourselves on creating a memorable, fun, guest experience and am so glad you were able to stay with us. We have added mini frigs now to our Carriage House building where... More

Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

When I booked our room, I asked for an email confirmation, but I never received it. I called to make sure we had a room and was promised my confirmation, which never came. We arrived early in the evening and checked in. The room was one on the back side. It was spacious, but the property is older and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay