We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Topnotch Resort

4.0 of 5 4000 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Topnotch Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Topnotch Resort
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    127
    62
    28
    16
See reviews for
159
258
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (602)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (169)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (182)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (169)
All months
nantucket
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything exceeded my expectations.Pricey, but worth it. The indoor hot tub pool has a waterfall that gave a great massage. Great outdoor heated pools. Food was excellent. Stowe is a great place to visit anytime, and Topnotch is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi jpmurray nantucket, thanks for the review! We do have seasons and prices that change. But I am certain we are in your budget range more often than you think. That you like it here is most important, the rest just details. Let us know when you want to return, we will find a way to make it work! Thanks... More 

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our first visit was in the fall, and we decided to return for Spring Break. Once again the stay exceeded our expectations. In addition to the wonderful service and the beautiful property, the pools and hot tubs are divine. The pool temperatures are just warm enough to be wonderful, and this includes both the indoor and outdoor pool and hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi Grays_Mom1, thanks for the words about your stay! We are very proud of our property and love our guests and do all we can to make a great experience for all! How lucky are we to be in hospitality and to have people like you and your family to be host too! Thanks for being our guest and please... More 

New York City, New York, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit at Topnotch in January of 2015. The hotel property has an above average spa. However, it was packed with young children - and felt more like a water amusement park than a relaxed spa. Nevertheless, the facility is fairly well run and tries hard to accommodate all guest populations, which is not entirely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi Michael T and thank you for sharing from your recent stay! We agree, we are already walking the spa for some freshen up and repositioning and working with our homeowner partners so there is no disconnect from the true hotel experience when staying in our townhomes or condos. More great stuff to come, we appreciate all the patience you... More 

NY,NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just came back from a wonderful week up in Stowe Vermont. First the good: Everything abut our arrival at Top Notch was first rate; from check in, to the bellman, to the quality of the room. We had a drink at The Roost, the wonderful bar in the lobby. Many great beers on tap, choices of things to eat, tv... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi baycrestbeachbum, thanks for sharing and bringing to our attention what we missed, and we did miss! Sorry for the round about way we got to making it right for you. We should be Topnotch at any price and we will be. Thanks for your confidence in us. I say this as many would walk away and not let us... More 

Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good day! It looks like another change in management...Bob S has taken over for Stephanie M. This would explain why I never received a call back from her after seeing her response to my review posted back in October. I cannot even begin to say how disappointed I am. I made 3-4 attempts to address our stay in July and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi yllbit, I am so sorry you have gone thru all of this at our resort. I am happy to discuss and sort out all we did not do so well. Our team now has a new approach, if we do not do it right, we make it right. Please let me know how best to discuss or communicate with... More 

Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed in one of the Overlook homes at Top Notch on a family vacation. If you are traveling with friends and family this is a really great choice benefitting from the amenities of the hotel whilst having your own condo with kitchen, sitting room and three bedrooms in our case. The condo was a little dated (or well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi BDAShorts101 and thanks for sharing from your recent stay with us. We hear ya about the dated units! Much of that is due for refresh in the coming months and will show betetr soon, promise! Thanks and sorry! Glad most otherwise was what you had hoped it would be. We love making great vacations happen. What ever makes the... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed just 1 night here but would definitely recommend to others. The hotel is well-placed, located just a 5 minute drive from the ski resort (free shuttle service available on demand). The staff are very competent and friendly and the food in both the on-site restaurant and the pub/bar is excellent. The spa is clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi 233laura23 and thanks for sharing and spending the special holiday together with us. We loved being your host and hope we can be again for you soon! Every day should be a holiday like when you stay Tonotch! I am so sorry on the spa directions and indoor access, sometimes we learn to see more clearly thru our guests... More 

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed atTopnotch for his birthday. I booked his gift through Kiwi resorts and we were both vey happy about our stay here. The day of check in did not go very smoothly as the check in agent (Charlie) had to also double as the bell boy. So my check in wait time was over 20 minutes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shelly A, so sorry we started the birthday celebration a little out of sorts for you. We are looking at the path to Kiwi to assure we do not miss what we promise again. We do unfortunately have some challenging staffing moments, but our problem, not yours, sorry, we can ease the pain points there. Glad the rest of... More 

baltimore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and 5 year old son stayed here Jan23-27 - I must preface this by saying we have been coming here since I was pregnant with my son in 2009. We have always loved this quaint boutique small hotel so close to Stowe Mountain - this year was a big disappointment. It started from the minute we arrived -no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi backchick, I am really sorry this was your impression of our resort. No change to what has made the resort great over the years has been implemented. I do recognize at many points during your stay we did miss meeting your expectations and we did not anticipate as crisply as we have in the past. It is not our... More 

Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second stay at the topnotch. I am very pleased to say that the service is consistently excellent. They go above and beyond. My wife got sick and they had cold medicine available which was great. I love the fact they store your skis and equipment and they can shuttle you to and from the mountain and load... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review

Hi BiologyBY, thanks for sharing! Cool, good stuff and glad we delivered an all about you experience and you enjoyed it! Love our guests and anticipating all they need. We work on making each next stay better than the last, so hurry back! Ciao Bob More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay