We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hartness House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
30 Orchard Street, Springfield, VT 05156
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hartness House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Inn innkeepers and entire staff are very professional, kind & will go out of their way to make a guest feel comfortable. The rooms were lovely you really felt like you were in the early 1900's the Inn keeper's are working on each room of this beautiful Inn to keep it updated and in good repair. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen K
Chester, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

I recently attended an event through work at this Inn. Although very picturesque outside of Inn and surroundings I was at first a bit disappointed about the dated interior but then just thought of it as being a beautiful historic building inside and out and realized they are in the process of updating through recent new ownership. That being said... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travis A
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. Thank you for recognizing that we are in the process of renovating and hope you will continue to patron our establishment. fortunately, we believe the person who was cooking at the time was not our head chef, as she would have not been out gossiping... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Booked a romantic room on Groupon which turned out to be outdated, dirty and disgusting. When we approached the Innkeeper to switch rooms, we were met with arrogance, disrespect and rudeness. Worst experience ever! However, ended up going to Weathersfield Inn right down the road and really had the experience of a charming country inn that we were looking for.

Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle A
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you were displeased with the inn. When booking through Groupon, we book the accommodations that are paid for to them and sent through our website. Due to renovation work, we had upgraded this room to the best accommodation we had available, which is a beautiful room in the mansion. For a small fee, we also... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

We had an excellent experience with the Hartness House Inn and staff for my daughter's wedding. The key was having valid and reasonable expectations. If a brand-new venue with all the amenities of a 4-star hotel are your expectations, this is not for you. Realizing it was a 1904 mansion that has had some time since major restorations were made,... More 

Helpful?
Thank karenw9202015
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the inn. It was a beautiful wedding and we enjoyed having your wedding party stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your were happy with the personalized service and strive to provide that to every guest. We are currently in the process of a full renovation, and just... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Saw the Harness House on Groupon and then read the reviews on Trip Advisor. Thought that it would be ok. The main house is wonderful welcoming and a joy. However, the room back in the addition to the house was disappointing. Small. Cold and out dated. The front desk told us that he was trying to buy flat screen tvs.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are sorry that your stay was less than pleasurable. We are in the process of renovating and update the entire property, especially those rooms in the back additions. It is a full renovations, which includes not only new TV's, but the internet will be very high speed and reach the full house... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Very nice place. Friendly work staff. Needs a little updating. Very comfortable bed. Old Victorian house. The town closes up early. Looking at the menu prices are a little high. Good for a one night stay

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff does everything in their power to ensure positive guest experiences. We are happy to give recommendations to surrounding towns if you are seeking a little nightlife and we will also be happy to direct you to a restaurant or bar that... More 

Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

On fall foliage tour and took a chance on this property. The exterior and location were nice but the interior, especially the guest room, needs alot of TLC. The property has been neglected for sometime. I think it's stuck in the 50s. The staff was nice and gave a great recommendation for dinner but would definitely NOT stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Marie F
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are currently in the process of renovating the entire property and will be updating the interior as well as the exterior. We are redoing all of our guest rooms. The staff will always be happy to do whatever they can to make your stay more pleasurable. More 

Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

My husband, sister, brother-in-law, and myself arrived on Friday, Oct 2, 2015. First vacation for both couples in a long time and our first to see the fall foliage. We left Texas and spent 2 nights on the road to get to The Hartness House. I booked this place myself and was so looking forward to this night. I was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Judy P
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a very disappointing experience here. We are aware that the rooms need updating and are currently under renovation to make those changes. We are also sorry that you did not get your choice of a main house, but the person taking the reservation probably thought you wanted a first floor room, which there are... More 

Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and we were excited to get a room at such short notice and also at a discounted price. We booked our stay from Groupon and we paid extra for a larger (upgraded) room. I did look at some of the reviews on tripadvisor, but not many. When we got to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J M
HartnessHouse, Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

Dear guest, I must apologize for your disappointing stay. We have gone through an ownership change rather recently, the Inn is in need of some love. We have already begun a large scale restoration project to bring this once prestigious inn back to its former glory, unfortunately it is a large project. Being built in 1904 many of our rooms... More 

IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Booked 2 nights as part of an anniversary trip throughout New England area. Read many of the reviews before booking. Quite mixed reviews but thought it would be okay since we have stayed at many types of accommodations (camping, motels, hotels, B&B and resorts) in the U.S. and in other countries. The first floor/main guest area of the mansion was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AnywhereWithU
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay. Unfortunately our renovations of the "modern" rooms was held up by permitting issues beyond our control. The weary furniture in the hall was actually waiting for our demolition dumpster to be empty, as we had already purchased new period couches. Our renovations, that have now begun, will include all new... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
11.1 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Weathersfield
The Inn at Weathersfield
#1 of 2 in Perkinsville
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 10 in Chester
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay