We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

2.5 of 5 1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    118
    91
    28
    12
See reviews for
84
99
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (300)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a pretty comfortable stay, the staff was more than friendly, and the rooms were quiet. There weren't any horrible experiences to report. Parking became an issue one night and we had to park in a nonstandard parking lot, but we stayed here around new year's eve, so it might just have been that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StacyGermond, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear that we provided a nice experience, with nothing horrible to report... We love to exceed all of our guests' expectations. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future, Safe Travels! Kellen Brumsted More 

Parsippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Hotel, great staff. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful in every way. We were in a large group of 6 families with many young children who could get noisy at times. The staff never made us feel like we were disturbing the peace. The breakfast was great and start/start times were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StacyGermond, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the staff of our hotel. We take pride in accommodating all of our guests, those with families and those traveling alone, equally. It was excellent to be able to provide a place for all of your family to get together around the Holidays and we would love to have you back... More 

Latham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I was graciously moved after I unpacked unfortunately but staff was accommodating - new room was fine. Also had issues with wifi - low signal strength. I will most likely stay here again since it's only a quick overnight twice a year and great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StacyGermond, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. While I am heartened to hear that you will be staying with us in the future I am sorry to hear that you encountered issues with your original room. I am happy that we were able to accommodate you in another room, and apologize for the inconvenience of having... More 

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Not the best location, not the most modern hotel. The breakfast was very bad, and the hotel itself felt quite dated. Also the location is far away from everything, so unless you have a car or do not mind walking, you are pretty much stranded. They do offer a shuttle, but it left me waiting for more than one hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StacyGermond, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. I am very sorry to hear that our shuttle service was tardy in picking you up. We strive to offer an efficient, hassle free option for our guests to travel in our area and it appears that we have failed you in this effort. It is through feed-back like... More 

Adirondacks, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a few times now. It's not the fanciest digs, but it's always done it's job. The rooms are fine, if a tiny bit small. They are generally quite clean. I love that the place has a pool and a hot tub. I've only encountered super friendly workers at the front desk. And it's a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

the rooms were spacious and fairly clean. The cable was out, so there was no TV. They were running out of things at breakfast, and the omlets looked over cooked. Location was great, staff was friendly, and it was an OK place to stay for 1 night

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for review of your most recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff was pleasant and accommodating during your visit. I am sorry our cable went out while you were here. We very much value your opinion and hope that you will try us again on your return to the area. More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Hotel was OK. It was nothing to write home about but adequate and convenient for the Sheldon museum up the road. There seemed to be a lot of road noise given we were a fair way from the main road- may be the double glazing needs some attention. The biggest downsides were the lack of a fridge or microwave oven.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you letting us know about your experience with the hotel. We have taken note of your suggestions and are looking at ways we can better your stay if you choose to return on your next visit to the Burlington area. Again,... More 

New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We were looking for a one night stay during foliage season and this hotel fit the purpose. I found it overpriced for what you get but that may have been due to the season. The overall appearance and customer service was not at the level that I usually find when staying at a Holiday Inn and for that reason I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear jtwest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you were able to visit during our popular foliage season. Vermont is very beautiful during the fall months. I apologize that the hotel service fell below expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. Thank you again for the review... More 

Dolgeville, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

The hotel needs to have better signage. There isn't a sign out by the highway, so we drove right by it. We had to turn around and go back and do a u-turn which is legal in Vermont if the sign says you can do it. The staff was friendly and helpful. The eggs for breakfast was burned around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This hotel is overpriced for what you get. It appears that they haven't renovated anything on the property since the 70's. The heater in the room didn't function properly, foul smell in room, and the carpet was musty. Staff at desk was unfriendly. Stay elsewhere, I would never go back. This hotel gives the Holiday Inn brand a bad name.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear Molly F, I apologize that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments into careful consideration. We hope you will consider giving us a 2nd chance on your next trip to the area as I can assure you this is not a typical... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Address: 1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay