We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

1596 Main Street, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Hotel amenities
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Suie0515 Columbus, Ohio
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on road trip through Quebec and Vermont. Lovely old home tastefully decorated. Very clean. Nice breakfast including muffins, yogurt parfait with fruit and granola and mini breakfast casserole with hash browns, eggs, etc. Maurine was very kind with local recommendations. Bathroom has nice touches such as liquid hand soap, nice bath products, etc. Only warning is only one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ventured into Vermont whilst touring New England. Booked the Estabrook before we arrived and weren't disappointed when we arrived. Charming historic house not far from the town centre. Not a huge amount going on in the town, but there was a celebration going on to celebrate the end of roadworks. Estabrook has the feel of a family house and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The Estabrook has no sign in and if you arrive before you are expected there may be no one there to let you in. We left early to avoid a major storm and forgot to call them to explain we would be very early. If you are going to be early phone ahead. Locals did could not tell us where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Pros: The hostess/owner was willing to share her knowledge of architecture with us. Cons: Some of the interior decoration appears to be a work in progress, could be a 'turn-off' to some guests. Location: St. Johnsbury offers interesting history as an old Vermont mill town-- lots of antique stores, book stores, organic markets. A real find in American architecture of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We were allocated the "Sunrise" room, and were shocked on arrival to find that there was only a basin in the room, and the nearby bathroom was shared. This room was the same rate as the ensuite rooms, so suggest you enquire in advance. Fortunately, there was nobody else staying, but the bath took 15 minutes to fill and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback after your recent stay at Estabrook House. Feedback from our guests is one way we use to appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. Reservations for specific rooms are made by guests, they are not allocated on arrival or at the time we are notified... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on a tour around New England. I'm glad it was only for 1 night. After reading favourable reviews I booked the "Juliet" room because it had an en-suite (not all do) On arrival the owner was not there to meet us and our room keys were taped to the front door. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. I'm sorry you did not find your visit as pleasant as it could have been. Your feedback helps us to appropriately improve our rooms and our services. Thanks to recent feedback we did identify some issues in the housekeeping routines and with the vacuum in... More 

United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

No directions. No sign. No response to phone call for directions. Nobody there to greet us. Keys taped to window door. No toilet in room. Breakfast good, bur skimpy. Sensed that owner put in her obligatory appearance. Unfortunately, St. Johnsbury doesn't seem to have many choices, but the Comfort Inn looked better than most.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only with feedback that we can continually and appropriately improve our services. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find your stay pleasant. Your comments have helped locate gaps in what online booking agents, such as expedia or priceline, choose to capture when they copy content... More 

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The best part of this is Maurine -- she not only runs the place but outlines tours, serves a wonderful breakfast and, of course, keeps house. The building itself is in a continual process of restoration since Maurine and her daughter bought it and re-converted it from apartments. The location is nifty -- close to downtown and just uphill from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only through guest feedback that we can continually and appropriately improve our environment and services. I must add that the best part about running a bed and breakfast is meeting and sharing time with our guests. Thank you again for staying with us. More 

Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the room Juliet with ensuite bath. The owner was very friendly and gave us lots of great advice for places to visit and restaurants. The bed was clean but the floor could have been cleaner. Breakfast was great and overall we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only when our guests share their thoughts with us that we can continually and appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry to hear that you found the carpet unsatisfactory in terms of cleanliness and we have followed up to determine the problem and remedy this for... More 

Forestville, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Beautiful home with caring owner and 2 friendly house cats. We went to the Festival of Colors and decided to stay at a B & B. Comfortable room. Clean bathroom. Really good breakfast and coffee. Good.location, no need to drive to town, it's in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay