We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Saint Johnsbury B&Bs / inns

Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1596 Main Street, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Hotel amenities
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014
Nail56 Seattle, WA
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were allocated the "Sunrise" room, and were shocked on arrival to find that there was only a basin in the room, and the nearby bathroom was shared. This room was the same rate as the ensuite rooms, so suggest you enquire in advance. Fortunately, there was nobody else staying, but the bath took 15 minutes to fill and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback after your recent stay at Estabrook House. Feedback from our guests is one way we use to appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. Reservations for specific rooms are made by guests, they are not allocated on arrival or at the time we are notified... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here recently on a tour around New England. I'm glad it was only for 1 night. After reading favourable reviews I booked the "Juliet" room because it had an en-suite (not all do) On arrival the owner was not there to meet us and our room keys were taped to the front door. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. I'm sorry you did not find your visit as pleasant as it could have been. Your feedback helps us to appropriately improve our rooms and our services. Thanks to recent feedback we did identify some issues in the housekeeping routines and with the vacuum in... More

United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No directions. No sign. No response to phone call for directions. Nobody there to greet us. Keys taped to window door. No toilet in room. Breakfast good, bur skimpy. Sensed that owner put in her obligatory appearance. Unfortunately, St. Johnsbury doesn't seem to have many choices, but the Comfort Inn looked better than most.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only with feedback that we can continually and appropriately improve our services. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find your stay pleasant. Your comments have helped locate gaps in what online booking agents, such as expedia or priceline, choose to capture when they copy content... More

Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The best part of this is Maurine -- she not only runs the place but outlines tours, serves a wonderful breakfast and, of course, keeps house. The building itself is in a continual process of restoration since Maurine and her daughter bought it and re-converted it from apartments. The location is nifty -- close to downtown and just uphill from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only through guest feedback that we can continually and appropriately improve our environment and services. I must add that the best part about running a bed and breakfast is meeting and sharing time with our guests. Thank you again for staying with us. More

Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the room Juliet with ensuite bath. The owner was very friendly and gave us lots of great advice for places to visit and restaurants. The bed was clean but the floor could have been cleaner. Breakfast was great and overall we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only when our guests share their thoughts with us that we can continually and appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry to hear that you found the carpet unsatisfactory in terms of cleanliness and we have followed up to determine the problem and remedy this for... More

Forestville, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Beautiful home with caring owner and 2 friendly house cats. We went to the Festival of Colors and decided to stay at a B & B. Comfortable room. Clean bathroom. Really good breakfast and coffee. Good.location, no need to drive to town, it's in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I arrived in the cold winter evening to this house. Maureen, the owner was very nice. She welcomed us really warm. She showed us around the property, the living room, dining room, family/library room, and of course our room, The Nook. We choose The Nook, because it is the only room that has twin beds. The mattress, pillows, and linens... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited St. Johnsbury with the intention of spending two nights at Estabrook House. The owner, who as others have stated, is welcoming, offers good information, is kind and flexible without being intrusive. Oh did I mention she is a wonderful healthful cook, serving home baked bread with breakfast? We cut our time short by one day and Maurine graciously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, charming and wonderful stay. Owner extremely helpful and friendly, superb breakfasts, tea, coffee available 24/7. The hotel Has a history and I'd currently being restored room by room by the owner, provides an excellent base to explore Vermont, we highly recommend this hotel in Saint Johnsbury, you won't be disappointed. Mark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dubai
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is like staying at your own home. Maurine, the owner, was beyond friendly and so hospitable. Breakfast was all homemade (even the bread). The room was decorated beautifully and the sharing bathroom was spotless. She had two lovely cats, and I loved playing with them. Yes, the floors squeaked, but it did not disturb me at all. And... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1596 Main Street, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay