We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

1596 Main Street, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Hotel amenities
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014
nhdrjon New Hampshire
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The Estabrook has no sign in and if you arrive before you are expected there may be no one there to let you in. We left early to avoid a major storm and forgot to call them to explain we would be very early. If you are going to be early phone ahead. Locals did could not tell us where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Pros: The hostess/owner was willing to share her knowledge of architecture with us. Cons: Some of the interior decoration appears to be a work in progress, could be a 'turn-off' to some guests. Location: St. Johnsbury offers interesting history as an old Vermont mill town-- lots of antique stores, book stores, organic markets. A real find in American architecture of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We were allocated the "Sunrise" room, and were shocked on arrival to find that there was only a basin in the room, and the nearby bathroom was shared. This room was the same rate as the ensuite rooms, so suggest you enquire in advance. Fortunately, there was nobody else staying, but the bath took 15 minutes to fill and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback after your recent stay at Estabrook House. Feedback from our guests is one way we use to appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. Reservations for specific rooms are made by guests, they are not allocated on arrival or at the time we are notified... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on a tour around New England. I'm glad it was only for 1 night. After reading favourable reviews I booked the "Juliet" room because it had an en-suite (not all do) On arrival the owner was not there to meet us and our room keys were taped to the front door. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. I'm sorry you did not find your visit as pleasant as it could have been. Your feedback helps us to appropriately improve our rooms and our services. Thanks to recent feedback we did identify some issues in the housekeeping routines and with the vacuum in... More 

United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

No directions. No sign. No response to phone call for directions. Nobody there to greet us. Keys taped to window door. No toilet in room. Breakfast good, bur skimpy. Sensed that owner put in her obligatory appearance. Unfortunately, St. Johnsbury doesn't seem to have many choices, but the Comfort Inn looked better than most.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only with feedback that we can continually and appropriately improve our services. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find your stay pleasant. Your comments have helped locate gaps in what online booking agents, such as expedia or priceline, choose to capture when they copy content... More 

Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The best part of this is Maurine -- she not only runs the place but outlines tours, serves a wonderful breakfast and, of course, keeps house. The building itself is in a continual process of restoration since Maurine and her daughter bought it and re-converted it from apartments. The location is nifty -- close to downtown and just uphill from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only through guest feedback that we can continually and appropriately improve our environment and services. I must add that the best part about running a bed and breakfast is meeting and sharing time with our guests. Thank you again for staying with us. More 

Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the room Juliet with ensuite bath. The owner was very friendly and gave us lots of great advice for places to visit and restaurants. The bed was clean but the floor could have been cleaner. Breakfast was great and overall we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only when our guests share their thoughts with us that we can continually and appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry to hear that you found the carpet unsatisfactory in terms of cleanliness and we have followed up to determine the problem and remedy this for... More 

Forestville, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Beautiful home with caring owner and 2 friendly house cats. We went to the Festival of Colors and decided to stay at a B & B. Comfortable room. Clean bathroom. Really good breakfast and coffee. Good.location, no need to drive to town, it's in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I arrived in the cold winter evening to this house. Maureen, the owner was very nice. She welcomed us really warm. She showed us around the property, the living room, dining room, family/library room, and of course our room, The Nook. We choose The Nook, because it is the only room that has twin beds. The mattress, pillows, and linens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited St. Johnsbury with the intention of spending two nights at Estabrook House. The owner, who as others have stated, is welcoming, offers good information, is kind and flexible without being intrusive. Oh did I mention she is a wonderful healthful cook, serving home baked bread with breakfast? We cut our time short by one day and Maurine graciously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay