We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

1596 Main Street, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My flight was delayed coming in and Maureen (the innkeeper) stayed in direct communication with me. She serves breakfast until 10, which was nice since I didn't arrive until very late. The room is what you'd expect at a historic B&B and hotels.com had informed me that it was a shared bathroom so that wasn't an issue for me. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We were lucky enough to find this nicely priced and delightfully elegant - and the only advertised - B&B in St. J. After driving up from Washington, DC the peace and quiet offered by this retreat was wonderful. The accommodations were excellent and the morning breakfast was a gourmand's delight. The four nights we stayed there are still a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night on our way to Lake Willoughby and absolutely loved it. We never saw the innkeeper during our stay, but she made sure to let let us know where the key was when we arrived and made us a nice breakfast in the morning. The house itself was very clean, too. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Stayed here on road trip through Quebec and Vermont. Lovely old home tastefully decorated. Very clean. Nice breakfast including muffins, yogurt parfait with fruit and granola and mini breakfast casserole with hash browns, eggs, etc. Maurine was very kind with local recommendations. Bathroom has nice touches such as liquid hand soap, nice bath products, etc. Only warning is only one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Ventured into Vermont whilst touring New England. Booked the Estabrook before we arrived and weren't disappointed when we arrived. Charming historic house not far from the town centre. Not a huge amount going on in the town, but there was a celebration going on to celebrate the end of roadworks. Estabrook has the feel of a family house and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The Estabrook has no sign in and if you arrive before you are expected there may be no one there to let you in. We left early to avoid a major storm and forgot to call them to explain we would be very early. If you are going to be early phone ahead. Locals did could not tell us where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Pros: The hostess/owner was willing to share her knowledge of architecture with us. Cons: Some of the interior decoration appears to be a work in progress, could be a 'turn-off' to some guests. Location: St. Johnsbury offers interesting history as an old Vermont mill town-- lots of antique stores, book stores, organic markets. A real find in American architecture of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We were allocated the "Sunrise" room, and were shocked on arrival to find that there was only a basin in the room, and the nearby bathroom was shared. This room was the same rate as the ensuite rooms, so suggest you enquire in advance. Fortunately, there was nobody else staying, but the bath took 15 minutes to fill and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback after your recent stay at Estabrook House. Feedback from our guests is one way we use to appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. Reservations for specific rooms are made by guests, they are not allocated on arrival or at the time we are notified... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on a tour around New England. I'm glad it was only for 1 night. After reading favourable reviews I booked the "Juliet" room because it had an en-suite (not all do) On arrival the owner was not there to meet us and our room keys were taped to the front door. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. I'm sorry you did not find your visit as pleasant as it could have been. Your feedback helps us to appropriately improve our rooms and our services. Thanks to recent feedback we did identify some issues in the housekeeping routines and with the vacuum in... More 

United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

No directions. No sign. No response to phone call for directions. Nobody there to greet us. Keys taped to window door. No toilet in room. Breakfast good, bur skimpy. Sensed that owner put in her obligatory appearance. Unfortunately, St. Johnsbury doesn't seem to have many choices, but the Comfort Inn looked better than most.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. It is only with feedback that we can continually and appropriately improve our services. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find your stay pleasant. Your comments have helped locate gaps in what online booking agents, such as expedia or priceline, choose to capture when they copy content... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
15.1 mi away
Eastgate Motor Inn
Eastgate Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#4 of 7 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
24.7 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
10.6 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#1 of 5 in Lyndonville
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay