We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Montpelier hotels

Econo Lodge Montpelier

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Montpelier to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Montpelier
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
28%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Montpelier
  • Reviews (118)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    22
    13
    55
See reviews for
29
39
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room fee at 109$ for a filthy room, kitchen under construction. Bathroom with horrible noisy ceiling fan. Cannot believe this... really. I was not expecting to pay over 100$ for a room of this poor quality. They had us visit the room before taking it. It was the only one left. It was 2 am. So no choice. What an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Then why did you even take it after you looked at it. ??. room 210 was the live in night auditors room. who had lived there for years. Alex knew this and that's why he had you look at it fist . Don't blame us because you walked in at 3 A.M thinking you would get the best room in... More

Gillett, WI 54124
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst hotel ever! Staff was friendly but that was the highlight, rooms were dirty, steps to the second floor were filthy, dog food left under the air unit in our room, hair in the tub, towels were dirty and there was not any hot water in the morning and then there was no water and we had to negotiate money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

I'm Very Sorry that you had a unpleasant stay with us as i remember this day well and was way out of our control. a guest in one room broke off the handle of the sink and the manager shut off the whole hotel water supply as they did not know where the cutoffs was located. The Difference in refunds... More

Gorham, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Needed to visit Montpelier for business - this hotel was perfect for my needs and location. I wasn't entertaining clients, didn't need anything fancy. Convenient to downtown - with several places to eat. This was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank You JH for your kind words on our Establishment and was happy that your stay with us was just what you needed. The Staff and i hope to see you again in the near future . Mark G More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I drove into Montpellier and say a sign for the Econo Lodge so went there. Its just outside the town, and up quite a rural road. Very helpful lady on reception who also reccomended a local resturant for me to eat at. Huge bedroom and bathroom, nice and clean, quiet hotel. I cant coment on the breakfast as I forgot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Kelly B for your fantastic review on our property and happy you enjoyed your room. We look forward to seeing you again in the future . More

Brooklyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff is delightful here. The breakfast is complimentary and pretty good considering it's free. I would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay in Montpelier because its location is a 5 minute walk from downtown. Wonderful stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Sleepyweazil for your positive review . The team and i are glad that you had a enjoyable time with us. Our #1 goal is to make our guests happy with a trouble free stay. Hope you be able to join us again in the near future Mark G More

Palm City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked a 2 Queen non-smoking room. The hotel is located on a hill, which might be a challenge during the long Vermont winters. It is an old hotel, although the rooms have clearly been updated. There is no elevator and our upstairs room required a trip up a large staircase in the lobby area. The room was very large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Rob for your kind words on our establishment. Yes it's an old hotel , but we have been putting loving care into upgrading the rooms and making your stay is a pleasant One. I'm Sorry about not having an elevator, but saving about 70.00$ for taking 14 steps to me is well worth. Our staff is also willing... More

San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Older hotel but very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was large and the beds comfortable. My only complaint was that the breakfast was minimal and the same every day. Sunday morning was scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausage links, various breads/english muffins/bagels, cake donuts/danish, frosted flakes, raisin bran, apple juice and orange juice. Monday and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank You Kyris for such a wonderful review. Our Team takes great pride to make sure your stay is always a pleasant one. We are constantly improving the rooms and breakfast items. The newest item are the hard boiled eggs which was suggested by another guest . We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again. Mark G More

Thompson, CT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here a year ago and it has improved a lot. The room much cleaner and the hallways were warm. They have those individual heating/cooling units in each room that usually sound like jet engines, but these were exceptionally quiet. In fact, this was probably the quietest, darkest room I've ever slept in. The only thing unchanged is the breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark g, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

We Are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us . We are striving every day to improve all of our guests stay with great service and comfortable clean rooms. We enjoy having you as a repeat customer and also that you took time to comment on the constant improved changes to the Econo lodge Montpelier Mark G More

RED BANK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Kind of a feeling of faded glory, which I like. No real complaints, and the place was clean and pretty well maintained. Breakfast a bit meager, hallways quite cold, but the room was bigger than usual, and the bathroom much bigger (unfortunately, the sink, toilet and shower were all crammed at one end, so most of it was wasted space).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future. We are constantly improving the hotel and any comments are helpful to achieve this and to make your future stays a more worry free one. More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The room had been updated and would've been nice if it weren't for the horrible smell of mildew. They clearly had some problem with leaks in the ceiling. The entire room had a wet musty mildew smell. It was unfortunate. The breakfast was good and the service was as well. Too bad. I hope they can get it fixed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment . We have strive for the past year to improve on the problems reported in the past to make your future stay a trouble free one. our team have been working hard to achieve this goal. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge Montpelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Montpelier

Address: 101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Montpelier 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montpelier Hotel Montpelier
Economy Hotel Montpelier
Economy Motel Montpelier

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge is located in Vermont's capital - Montpelier. Convenient, clean and newly remodeled and updated rooms await your arrival.Free HOT ALL YOU CAN EAT breakfast,free WiFi,42" flat screen TV in King rooms.Friendly and courteous staff. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer