We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Montpelier hotels

Econo Lodge Montpelier

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Montpelier to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Montpelier
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
30%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Montpelier
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    24
    13
    55
See reviews for
30
43
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Shelby Township, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Even though this place is hard to find on the tom tom it is well worth it to stay. The hotel is a bit more than we usually pay it has great service, an excellent room, and a nice full breakfast. The breakfast area is small but they have a second area above it which we did not notice the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellport, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here one night, the room was fairly clean but I accidentally dropped something behind the nightstand and the wall behind the beds, on the bottom, was filthy. The bathrooms were pretty clean too although the showerhead was strangely low, even for me at only 5'7". A taller person might even have to point it up! The biggest negative is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took us a little while to find in the dark as it's not on the Main Street as these things usually are. When we arrived, we found a clean room with very comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok - you get what you pay for - but it was all worth it and as expected: somewhere comfortable and safe to spend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Beckyeh26 for your nice review on our hotel and happy that you liked your stay with us. The manager,the staff and myself have gone a long way in the past few years to make this place allot better place to stay and with good guest service and a peaceful nights sleep for a great price. Mark G More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked through choice hotels and met our expectations. Location is perfect for visiting Burlington and Stowe. Refrigerator and microwave were available which is great for the price. The room we got was fine and towels, bed, bath etc. were very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you RoshinKadannaPally for your kind review. The team and i are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that the room was up to your expectations . We also hope that you can stay with us again when your in our area again. Mark G More

Jupiter, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just off the main road, close to the Old Town, and easy access to the freeway, and other wonderful attractions locally. The hotel is old, but it has had some renovations. Not ideal for luxury lovers.....But, The breakfast was great, plenty to eat including (hot) eggs! The staff was friendly, and let us check in early.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Nicki S for you truly outstanding review on our hotel and staff. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and accommodate their needs as much as we can. We are also happy that you enjoyed our breakfast, We are always changing and adding items to the menu. I will pass this onto our team and thank... More

Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The rooms are a nice size and the hotel is very close to the downtown. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Breakfast is fairly basic, but good. Windows look out on the hallway, rather than outside. Entry driveway is fairly steep, which may be an issue in the winter. I don't understand all the negative reviews. This isn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Douglas F for your kind words on our Hotel and our Friendly Staff. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us . most of the newest complaints are due to walk in travelers who didn't plan ahead and showed up during busy events and times when prices are high. If you look at the dates,... More

Mountainhome, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was a little apprehensive when I read the reviews, but honestly couldn't find anything wrong. Location is not on their side. We are traveling through New England and using Trip Advisor to find everything. Lucky we have GPS because we would not have found it. The room was very clean, and very big. Breakfast was what to expect as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you CindyLou1968 for your fantastic review and letting others know what a great room and friendly service you will get when staying with us. We are not the Ritz but we try to make you feel comfortable with our Vermont hometown charm and hospitality. The Staff and I are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope... More

Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

don't let the building to the left sway you,the econo lodge is a clean and friendly place to stay,had been staying at the hilltop but the econo lodge is newer,cleaner and much closer to good places to eat and just a short walk to downtown.about 1/3 of a mile less than a 1/2 mile to the capital..well worth the money

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Tim for your fantastic review on our Hotel. All of us at the Econo is pleased that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future Mark G More

Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Room fee at 109$ for a filthy room, kitchen under construction. Bathroom with horrible noisy ceiling fan. Cannot believe this... really. I was not expecting to pay over 100$ for a room of this poor quality. They had us visit the room before taking it. It was the only one left. It was 2 am. So no choice. What an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Then why did you even take it after you looked at it. ??. room 210 was the live in night auditors room. who had lived there for years. Alex knew this and that's why he had you look at it fist . Don't blame us because you walked in at 3 A.M thinking you would get the best room in... More

Gillett, WI 54124
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Worst hotel ever! Staff was friendly but that was the highlight, rooms were dirty, steps to the second floor were filthy, dog food left under the air unit in our room, hair in the tub, towels were dirty and there was not any hot water in the morning and then there was no water and we had to negotiate money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

I'm Very Sorry that you had a unpleasant stay with us as i remember this day well and was way out of our control. a guest in one room broke off the handle of the sink and the manager shut off the whole hotel water supply as they did not know where the cutoffs was located. The Difference in refunds... More

Do you own or manage Econo Lodge Montpelier?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Montpelier

Address: 101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Montpelier 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montpelier Hotel Montpelier
Economy Hotel Montpelier
Economy Motel Montpelier

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Econo Lodge Montpelier

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
State Capitol
State Capitol
Government Buildings
No photo provided
VT Dept of Tourism & Marketing
Tourist/ Visitor Centers