We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Montpelier

1.5 of 5 101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Montpelier
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Montpelier
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    27
    14
    57
See reviews for
31
48
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I needed to find a reasonably priced hotel to accommodate my almost 2 week long stay in Montpelier and after comparing prices, econolodge was the only option. The price was very reasonable and the lodge was close to downtown which was critical because I didn't have a car so had to walk my way around town. Free wifi and free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Sanchita B For your outstanding 5 star review . I'm happy that i was able to save your Christmas and hope to see you again after the new year. I'm also happy you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our Vermont hospitality. The Staff and I try our best to make everyone's stay a bit more... More 

Latham, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

My husband and I spent one night here and it was a completely adequate room and hotel. The room was large and clean, if a little dated. There was a small piece of tile missing in the bathroom, down by the floor, behind the door...no big deal. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. The lobby is lovely with its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Trish B for your great comment and glad that our hotel had just what you needed for your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Mark G More 

Manchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I felt that my room here was as comfortable or even more so than rooms I've paid 3 times the price for. it was quiet and clean. Two things I love to have when traveling. My only complaint would be the shower head leaked. I'll stay there again next time I'm passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you John for your fantastic review. The whole crew and i are happy that you enjoyed with us and saved money too. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Montpelier again. Sorry about the shower head and bringing it to our intention . it has been replace. Mark G More 

Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Spent one night here in very comfortable room with a king size bed. Breakfast was adequate and included scrambled eggs. Room was very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Very convenient to downtown Montpelier but on a pretty quiet road. We visit family in the area frequently and have stayed at most of the area motels. This was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and your visit to Montpelier. The Staff and I look forward to Seeing you again in the near future. Mark G More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels but have never experienced anything as dirty as this one! Cleaning in the bathroom was terrible, the sink had brown spots on it and there was still tooth paste in the sink from the previous guests. We were only spending one night there and arrived late at night. If we had arrived earlier we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

I'm Sorry you didn't have a good stay with us. I'm sure we could have resolved the problems if you had contacted the front desk. We have a 24 hour front desk and a live in house keeping to resolved problems and maintenance only two blocks away. We would have also placed you in another room. As you can see... More 

Westfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

The hotel was clean enough, but it was old and had a grungy feel. The outside was in pretty rough shape. The other guests were up all night, we could hear TVs through the walls, and the constant slamming of doors all night long. We were looking for a leaf-peeping weekend hotel, and knowing we weren't going to spend anytime... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

I'm Sorry you had a bad night with us. I wish you had informed the front desk as We have a Zero tolerance for rowdy Guests who disturbs others . I also haven't been able to find the bathroom door in Question yet. As for the grungy feel. we are constantly fixing and replacing items to meet today's guest expectations... More 

BEDFORD
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Whilst touring New England, we found ourselves at Montpelier, the capital of Vermont. It's quite a busy town, but without many hotels, so after rejecting one that was particularly expensive, we found the Econo Lodge. From the outside it looked quite modern, but inside it's true age and condition became apparent. We were offered a large room, facing the rear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Well I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us or our town of Montpelier . But i see your a world traveler and maybe you should have payed for the higher price hotel instead of staying at an economy brand hotel. The saying is true (you get what you pay for) We are not the Ritz. or ever claimed... More 

Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We were greeted warmly and were given a little welcome gift of apples, maple syrup and a few snacks. Every thing was a little worn and some elbow grease in the cleaning would go along way. The beds were comfortable enough. The hotel was very quiet, no problem sleeping. Breakfast was free - some eggs, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, milk,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Beverly for your review and happy that you enjoyed our small town. Sorry about the price but as you stated you showed up during peak foliage and we was the lowest price hotel in the area at the time. I always tell our guest to plan ahead and save by booking early. We are also constantly upgrading or... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

In addition to a nice effort on the free breakfast, we were given a "gift" at registration of a mix of local apples, real maple syrup in a maple shaped container, a granola bar, and a couple of vanilla cookies in a bag that the inn put together in a small brown bag and stapled together. OK...that's not the crux,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Larry for your kind review and we are happy that you enjoyed our thank you gift and your choice on staying with us. More 

Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

First, the area was really pretty. This little lodge was on the side of the mountain. Lovely views. But it had been updated a year earlier, and really needed to be updated again. Carpet was less than desirable, hotel very old, old wood furnishings, but with the right fixing, it could be very nice. The entry had all wood open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

thank you Carolyn F for staying with us and your kind review on our hotel and staff. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Montpelier

Address: 101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Montpelier 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montpelier Hotel Montpelier
Economy Hotel Montpelier
Economy Motel Montpelier

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay