We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Montpelier hotels

Econo Lodge Montpelier

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Montpelier to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Montpelier
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
30%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Montpelier
  • Overview
  • Reviews (122)
  • Photos (40)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    23
    13
    55
See reviews for
30
41
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just off the main road, close to the Old Town, and easy access to the freeway, and other wonderful attractions locally. The hotel is old, but it has had some renovations. Not ideal for luxury lovers.....But, The breakfast was great, plenty to eat including (hot) eggs! The staff was friendly, and let us check in early.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Nicki S for you truly outstanding review on our hotel and staff. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and accommodate their needs as much as we can. We are also happy that you enjoyed our breakfast, We are always changing and adding items to the menu. I will pass this onto our team and thank... More

Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are a nice size and the hotel is very close to the downtown. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Breakfast is fairly basic, but good. Windows look out on the hallway, rather than outside. Entry driveway is fairly steep, which may be an issue in the winter. I don't understand all the negative reviews. This isn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Douglas F for your kind words on our Hotel and our Friendly Staff. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us . most of the newest complaints are due to walk in travelers who didn't plan ahead and showed up during busy events and times when prices are high. If you look at the dates,... More

Mountainhome, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a little apprehensive when I read the reviews, but honestly couldn't find anything wrong. Location is not on their side. We are traveling through New England and using Trip Advisor to find everything. Lucky we have GPS because we would not have found it. The room was very clean, and very big. Breakfast was what to expect as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you CindyLou1968 for your fantastic review and letting others know what a great room and friendly service you will get when staying with us. We are not the Ritz but we try to make you feel comfortable with our Vermont hometown charm and hospitality. The Staff and I are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope... More

Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

don't let the building to the left sway you,the econo lodge is a clean and friendly place to stay,had been staying at the hilltop but the econo lodge is newer,cleaner and much closer to good places to eat and just a short walk to downtown.about 1/3 of a mile less than a 1/2 mile to the capital..well worth the money

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Tim for your fantastic review on our Hotel. All of us at the Econo is pleased that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future Mark G More

Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Room fee at 109$ for a filthy room, kitchen under construction. Bathroom with horrible noisy ceiling fan. Cannot believe this... really. I was not expecting to pay over 100$ for a room of this poor quality. They had us visit the room before taking it. It was the only one left. It was 2 am. So no choice. What an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Then why did you even take it after you looked at it. ??. room 210 was the live in night auditors room. who had lived there for years. Alex knew this and that's why he had you look at it fist . Don't blame us because you walked in at 3 A.M thinking you would get the best room in... More

Gillett, WI 54124
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Worst hotel ever! Staff was friendly but that was the highlight, rooms were dirty, steps to the second floor were filthy, dog food left under the air unit in our room, hair in the tub, towels were dirty and there was not any hot water in the morning and then there was no water and we had to negotiate money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

I'm Very Sorry that you had a unpleasant stay with us as i remember this day well and was way out of our control. a guest in one room broke off the handle of the sink and the manager shut off the whole hotel water supply as they did not know where the cutoffs was located. The Difference in refunds... More

Gorham, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Needed to visit Montpelier for business - this hotel was perfect for my needs and location. I wasn't entertaining clients, didn't need anything fancy. Convenient to downtown - with several places to eat. This was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank You JH for your kind words on our Establishment and was happy that your stay with us was just what you needed. The Staff and i hope to see you again in the near future . Mark G More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I drove into Montpellier and say a sign for the Econo Lodge so went there. Its just outside the town, and up quite a rural road. Very helpful lady on reception who also reccomended a local resturant for me to eat at. Huge bedroom and bathroom, nice and clean, quiet hotel. I cant coment on the breakfast as I forgot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Kelly B for your fantastic review on our property and happy you enjoyed your room. We look forward to seeing you again in the future . More

Brooklyn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff is delightful here. The breakfast is complimentary and pretty good considering it's free. I would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay in Montpelier because its location is a 5 minute walk from downtown. Wonderful stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Sleepyweazil for your positive review . The team and i are glad that you had a enjoyable time with us. Our #1 goal is to make our guests happy with a trouble free stay. Hope you be able to join us again in the near future Mark G More

Palm City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked a 2 Queen non-smoking room. The hotel is located on a hill, which might be a challenge during the long Vermont winters. It is an old hotel, although the rooms have clearly been updated. There is no elevator and our upstairs room required a trip up a large staircase in the lobby area. The room was very large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review

Thank you Rob for your kind words on our establishment. Yes it's an old hotel , but we have been putting loving care into upgrading the rooms and making your stay is a pleasant One. I'm Sorry about not having an elevator, but saving about 70.00$ for taking 14 steps to me is well worth. Our staff is also willing... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge Montpelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Montpelier

Address: 101 Northfield Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Montpelier 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montpelier Hotel Montpelier
Economy Hotel Montpelier
Economy Motel Montpelier

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Montpelier with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge is located in Vermont's capital - Montpelier. Convenient, clean and newly remodeled and updated rooms await your arrival.Free HOT ALL YOU CAN EAT breakfast,free WiFi,42" flat screen TV in King rooms.Friendly and courteous staff. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Montpelier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer