We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlebury Inn

GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Middlebury Inn
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    111
    36
    10
    12
See reviews for
80
110
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Westport, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night at the inn. At check in we were greeted warmly. Our room was spacious. I had booked a suite, in hindsight a room would have been fine as it was just the two of us and the sitting room portion of the suite we did not use. My wife and I had decided to eat dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Historic building that has been updated without losing the charm. I stayed for 4 days in a room with a queen sized bed. There was also an in room jacuzzi tub. The staff is very friendly and they all knew my name on the 2nd day. I love sitting by the fireplace each afternoon during tea time. I loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

My brother, brothers-in-law, nephews and I just had our 11th annual guys' winter weekend, basing all our activities out of the Middlebury Inn. Skiing at the Snow Bowl, hockey games at Kenyon Arena, and dining at some of the great restaurants in town, all within walking distance of the Inn. Our accommodations were perfect, the breakfast buffet started each day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Eleven years makes you almost family! We're happy that you return year after year and not only because it's our slow season, but you prove that Middlebury is a great place to visit even if the leaves aren't changing. Thanks for your nice words and we look forward to next year. Geoff Conrad General Manager More 

Cumberland Foreside, Maine, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We spent an evening at the Inn while visiting colleges. We arrived in the late afternoon. The Inn was full of college swim teams but one would never have known how busy it was as the service was very attentive. We decided to have afternoon tea which was included in our room. It was very nice to sit in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. I can't guess when you were here by your weather report because we've had so many brutally cold days this year (we're expecting snow tomorrow and it's almost Easter!). Actually I do remember the Swim Team weekend because I felt sorry for the swimmers with their wet hair in this cold. I'm pleased that... More 

South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My wife and I using TravelZoo spent two nights at this historic old inn. Wow. From the moment we first walked in, Patricia (at the desk) made us feel like we had come home.What a pleasant check-in process. Our room looked out on a commons and the king bed enveloped us in comfort.The breakfasts were like lumberjacks in volume and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'll say WOW as well - what a nice review! We love our Travel Zoo visitors and for good reason. I'll make sure to let Patricia and Gloria know of your nice comments - they'll be thrilled! As a full service Inn, we try to deliver the whole experience, whether a clean and comfortable room, a satisfying breakfast or a... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights during a snow storm at the Middlebury Inn in a lovely room with a king 4 poster bed, WIFI and a big flat screen TV. The room and bath were very clean. Loved looking at all the antiques. Breakfast menu was traditional VT and the food excellent. We could not finish ours either day. Staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We hope you will return in a warmer season, although we're beginning to doubt if that is actually coming this year. There is nothing more pleasant than relaxing on our veranda with a cup of Tea or a Cocktail and watching the goings on downtown. Thank you for letting our Trip Advisor customers know of your stay. Geoff Conrad General... More 

Saunderstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We have stayed twice at this Inn. What a great location! charming building, friendly staff - but the cleanliness on each occasion was disappointing. First time we stayed we found empty condom wrapper, broken cookie and blood stained bedspread in the room and hair in bathroom - we let the staff person on duty and know and received a sincere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry your room wasn't up to our usual high standards. You're absolutely correct that hospitality is a package deal - service, comfort, cleanliness go hand in hand and we can't expect someone to return if we don't meet all of their expectations. I hope you'll give us another opportunity - we've learned a lesson. Thank you for letting us... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

HIgh ceilings, oriental rugs, hallways lined with bookshelves (with actual books--I found myself reading an old Reader's Digest Condensed Books...)--the Inn is beautiful. My son and I were upgraded to a room with two beautiful four-poster queen beds and two bathrooms--very luxurious. No inroom coffee makers, but I asked the desk clerk and he made me a pot of tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. I always debate leaving the Readers Digest Condensed Books out. We have a lot of them. I was a big fan growing up and I'm happy to see someone else is as well. One of the reasons we have so many books is at one point our restaurant was known as the Open Book... More 

Glenville, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I have been a guest at Middlebury Inn on several occasions over the years, and I have never had a bad experience. The overall warmth and charming New England ambiance has, thankfully, endured through the years. Each room, in which I have stayed, has been unique and comfortable, and the staff has always been courteous and helpful. I am also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for returning and trusting us with your lodging needs when you visit Middlebury. What differentiates any hotel from the other is warm, friendly service and here in Vermont this comes naturally to our employees. You also touched on a few of our most frequently noted attractions - our Afternoon Tea, our great Breakfasts and our proximity to... More 

New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I spent a few days at the hotel around Christmas time and found it to be a nice hotel that manages to retain it's vintage feel without sacrificing on comfort. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Only complaints would be that the room got somewhat cold at night. The in-the-window air conditioner/heating unit's operating instructions were a little inscrutable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Christmas in Middlebury is charming and especially cold this year. I'm sorry that our systems had trouble keeping up, but all the more reason to return in our beautiful summer season where you can throw the windows open and breath the clear Vermont air. We love to have our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

696 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (645)
Viewed
Other (311)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Room (38)
Viewed
King Suite (55)
Viewed
Luxury Two Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Two Queen Suite (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question