We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Manchester hotels

The Red Sled

Save
You added The Red Sled to your Saves list
Rte 11 / 30, Manchester, VT 05255
Hotel amenities
The Red Sled
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Schenectady, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Spent last weekend in Manchester. Stayed at the Red Sled again. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are awesome! Good price. The Hullican family are accommodating and helpful. Good location for heading out to visit Landgrove and Weston. Close to Bromley for the Action Park. Farm store right across the street for veggies, cheese and baked goods. The bonfire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tuckahoe, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We were passing through Manchester on our way home from Maine. We decided to take a break on the return trip. Ended up staying two nights. Weather was beautiful, which helped. Room was neatly furnished and clean. The backyard rolls down toward a trout pond filled with numerous brown and brook trout. The big cruiser was at least seven pounds;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed here during a hiking trip because Manchester Center is a great town for resupply! This place was a bit outdated, but clean. We couldn't get the TV to work for the LONGEST time because they have a very complicated remote, and they do not have regular tv they have Netflix and the connection was off. The next morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this review

Sirs, Of the hundreds of hikers we take each year; I have to say, this gentleman was the only exception. This couple came off the road and asked for a room, they were shown a room and expressed immediate satisfaction. Firstly, they asked if a ride was available to town about 1 1/2 miles away; we said if a member... More

Leesport, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Recently, we stayed at the Red Sled Motel for a skiing week. The rooms have been renewed to an excellent standard, comfortable, clean and charming with many decorative features. Our hosts were informative, ready and willing to help at all times. We will be back in the summer to see the many new plans the owners have for that season,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the Red Sled Motel during the Vermont Summer Festival "Horse Show". I speak first to the quality of the central air conditioning system which was quiet and consistent in temperature. Then there was the stocked trout pond with plenty of room for casting and tying on the manicured grassy slopes. The rooms are well kept with all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mechanicville
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Have stayed at The Red Sled many times and enjoyed it each time. The pool is great and very clean, as are the rooms and the entire property. Enjoyed the outdoor fire at night, a grat way to meet other travelers. Looking forword to our next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital District, NY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I took a spur of the moment trip over Memorial Day weekend and we came upon a quaint little motel named the “The Red Sled” in beautiful Manchester, Vermont. We had a wonderful experience. Our room was lovely; it contained everything that is important to me. It was spacious; it had very comfortable mattresses; a clean, well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amenia, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The place is a dump,heat sucks, cleanliness is a hit and miss. owner is elusive, and gone quite often. Not worth the money !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review

Owners were not present during the stay of this guest due to a lease agreement. Owners returned in June and were greeted by an intolerable mess to clean up. We hope we have done a great job and would welcome any return guests. John More

Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

This was the WORST motel experience I have ever had. We called to book the room that day and the manager/ owner knew we were driving up in one of the worst storms in years. We got there at 11 pm plus the owner knew we had been driving for hours. He lied to my boyfriend saying the heat was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review

We are sorry, but the heat and hot water were both working fine as we knew you were coming. As for the weather conditions: we have no control over and no matter how many times we called the plowing contractor, it was a case of "when I can get there" due of course to the horrendous unexpected amount of snowfall... More

Schenectady, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have been staying at the Red Sled for a number of years for leaf peeping and skiing weekends.. We find it to be a good value compared to other motels in town. We were dissapointed when they closed for a couple of winters. The rooms are exceptionally clean. Flat screen t.v.s and indoor and outdoor pools. The pond is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Red Sled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Sled

Address: Rte 11 / 30, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Number of rooms: 119

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Red Sled

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby