We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Manchester hotels

Palmer House

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner & Lodging Package
Save Saved
You added Palmer House to your Saves list
Palmer House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
sandy0106 Stamford, Connecticut
  • Overview
  • Reviews (119)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (57)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    41
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
62
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late and the owner gave us a discount. It is pricey for a motel, but the place has many amenities you don't expect at motel. The pool is beautiful, the grounds offer three holes of golf plus a tennis court. You also can have a continental breakfast for $2.50 extra which is a great deal. The rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and a chance to respond to some of your thoughts. Understandably, you would wonder why rooms might be bunched together when other sections appear empty. Usually, this is a case of maintenance (i.e. painting in rooms or carpet cleaning, etc. to keep everything looking fresh for the next guest). At times, we try to paint/clean... More

Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for accommodations conveying heartfelt hospitality Palmer House will be just the place. Your hosts Peter Boll and Angelika Wallach pay careful attention to all the details of this inn. The attentive front desk staff offered good suggestions of dining possibilities within easy walking distance, our room was spacious, clean and quiet the grounds of Palmer House... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

What a lovely review...the owners will be delighted to read it. It will be nice to have you back for a more leisurely stay next time. Hope to see you soon! Tina Fries More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited during the summer after several days of backpacking in the mountains. What a treat! We were greeted with warmth and were able to settle right in despite having only booked our stay a few minutes before. The room was comfortable and clean and well supplied. The owner gave us extra towels when we checked in. We found out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for writing such a kind review. I remember when you called and might I say, you were just as gracious a guest as you say we were hosts. It was a pleasure having you and it is always a delight to hear that all your needs were met...including the "sports therapy" of our grounds. (Croquet seems... More

Stonington, Ct.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I were traveling to Northern Vermont from Southeastern, Connecticut for a wedding and decided to leave a few days early. We also decided to take the back roads, namely Route 7, and just take our time. We weren't sure where we were going to end up at the end of the day so we made no reservations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time for such a great review! Amy received her well-deserved pat on the back from your kind words upon your departure...but now she gets to see it in print as well. I'm so glad you found us as you sauntered along in your leisurely journey and it's just too bad you could not... More

San Leandro, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I feel like Goldilocks - I've tried several different accommodations in the area, and the Palmer House is the pick of the litter for anyone who is traveling with wheels! I made my original reservation through expedia and about 2 weeks before my reservation, got a phone call from Palmer House. I'd reserved a "handicapped room" but expedia is rather... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your warm and gracious review. I'll admit I'm standing a little taller today since I was the one who called you to find out about your needs! It really was a pleasure to be able to tailor your stay with the right room and have you so happy about it! But not to toot my... More

Orleans
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just amazing, room are very large a great bathroom well everything you could expect from an hotel. What about the service... We arrived very late and a special enveloppe ready for us , people very supportive and nice. Some of you may think that it is older... Well this is your judgement, of course it is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for such a lovely review. We are thrilled you were able to take part in our resort amenities and be pampered a bit! I don't know if this was your first visit with us, but we certainly hope it won't be the last. Thank you for taking the time to offer your views. Sincerely, Tina Fries More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a very positive experience at the Palmer House. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and great location. Walked to everything in downtown Manchester, including lots of good places to eat and hike. Sure, the room decor is a little dated, but the beds were comfortable and it was quiet, very clean, and the grounds were immaculate and enjoyable. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent review. It was very up-building to hear such a positive response to your stay with us. Everything from extremely helpful, friendly staff to comfortable, clean rooms and your use of so many of our amenities...well done! And yes, do come back and stay longer. We will look forward to it. Sincerely, Tina Fries More

Millbrook
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for a relaxing weekend. Well kept clean and great service. Ruth at the front desk was very helpful and gave great recommendations for dinner and activities. Short walk to restaurants and shopping. Great indoor pool, the workout room is small, but very useable. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking time for a review. I'm glad to hear your weekend was restful and that a clean room and good service allowed you to relax! Ruth is always a cheerful source and it sounds like her suggestions worked out nicely. Very happy to hear you will be back, Tina Fries More

south of the border
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My daughter and I came for two days in the off season. What a wonderful stay. Everything is immaculate and cozy. This place has many amenities of the larger corporate resorts but without the BS fees, restrictions, and predictable decor. Loved its connections to Manchester offerings: I walked the short trail past their stocked pond thru a lovely marsh (with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for such a warm and kind review. We certainly appreciate your recognition of our goal to offer a clean and cozy room ("immaculate" is nice to hear!) Our amenities are plentiful and it's good to know you utilized so many of them..in fact, you reminded me of ones we have that I had lost sight of.... More

Blountsville, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel was absolutely beautiful. It didn't really have a hotel feel. It was older, but very well maintained. The property had so much to offer a small trail, great views, golf, and a pool. It is a beautiful place especially in the fall. We would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed the quaint charm of the Palmer House which has been in the same family for 60 years. The owners take a special pride in its upkeep and there is quite a bit to keep up! From the indoor and outdoor pools, to the 9-hole golf course, to the views....ok, well we can't take... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Palmer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Manchester with
any amenities

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palmer House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Green Hotel in Manchester #7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester #7 Family Hotel in Manchester
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a 1/2 mile from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
42

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer