We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dalem's Chalet, Inc.

Hotel website
78 South Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dalem\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

The lady who runs it is very rude. I was there for one month. No linens, no towels , no toilet paper after the first two rolls. Never asked if I needed anything. The office was almost always empty. No one answered the phone the last week I was there. Was trying to let them know I was leaving. Beds... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa A
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review

When Ms. Allen rented our studio apartment for 3 months, she was given 2 options: by the week with linen and maid service at a discounted rate of $380 a week or by the month with no linen or maid service for $850 a month. She SAID she had her own linen and can do her own cleaning. When we... More 

Cranbury, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

Charming, quaint hotel run by a friendly German woman, who has decorated in a Bavarian style. Exposed beams, German regional flags and a woodburning fireplace in the entrance hall which she is happy to share with visitors. If you want an affordable getaway with a European flair, this is the place in Brattleboro! I wasn't able to use the pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura Z
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

It is a simple, quiet motel. We stayed in room 2 twice and it was just fine--it was very quiet with a nice view and plenty of parking. The woman who runs the place is certainty quirky but I think that's part of the charm of staying here instead of a chain motel. If you need somewhere to crash, its... More 

Helpful?
Thank polly m
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

Miserable, this place is run by a mean old German woman. She was very unfriendly and begrudgingly gave us service and ice. We love Vermont, but will never stay here again. We stayed in the spring. She made us move our kayak because she said it was in the way of other renters. I though we were staying there too.

Helpful?
Thank CaptainThom
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review

We are so sorry you won't give us another try. Mrs. Dalem has been the proprietor here since she and her husband built the place in 1965. She is 88 and does not have patience for people with no common sense and said there's PLENTY of parking and you chose to park lengthwise in front of 6 rooms and an... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

I paid the same price for this piece of garbage room as I did for a room at the fine Lane Hotel in downtown Keene. I booked a queen room that was listed on Trivago and reserved by booking.com. I got a call from the front desk after I reserved the room that they had only a room with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review

Well, there is no accounting for taste if you're comparing our place to a Motel 6. If you want modern, no personality, on-the-strip hotels at a cheap cheap rate, then you should stay there. We've had international diplomats and world-famous physicians stay here and request the least-expensive rooms with no view over the places you mention. There is no bait-and-switch,... More 

Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

It isn't cheap, and it isn't charming. Maybe to some it is quaint, but this was, by far, one of the worst places I've stayed in a long while....we typically stay at Hampton Inn for about the same price, but it was not available that night. We were wary ahead of time, because of the reviews, so we were not... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank SparklySuzq
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. If you stayed in a room that had a hallway, then the price was under $80, you chose our least expensive room in the oldest part of the motel and CERTAINLY not a comparable price to a Hampton or anything even close. We do suggest that people look at rooms first and... More 

Zionsville, IN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

This is one of those places that doesn't look quite as nice in person as it does in the advertising, but wasn't too disappointing. The location is good for sightseeing in the Green Mountains and there is some beautiful scenery in the area. Everything in the room was functional but very dated. Once we turned on the heat, the room... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank billvfitz
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had company coming to town and didn't want to put them on the busy, ugly strip. I didn't want to put them right in the center of downtown and they prefer the unusual, off-the-beaten path kind of places so I put them up at Dalem's Chalet in West Brattleboro. The outdoor pool was beautiful and quiet. It was very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved staying here! The room was musty but I've stayed in places more expensive but a million times worse. The outdoor pool had a great view. The food was AMAZING. The whole vibe was really quaint and interesting.

Helpful?
1 Thank julsy709
Southeastern MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a last minute weekend getaway and I did read the reviews here. This hotel needs major TLC. It is very dated but you can see how nice it once was. Room was musty and needed a good scrubbing. It was very inexpensive but it is bare bones.

Helpful?
1 Thank lisaf7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
2.1 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 12 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 12 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#8 of 12 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 12 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay