We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hollow Inn and Motel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
278 South Main Street, Barre, VT 05641
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hollow Inn and Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    25
    19
    9
    32
See reviews for
33
25
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in the inn side . Went on advice about the motel side. The whole place is old but the rooms at the inn were clean and keep up. When we called to book the man that took the call wasn't the most helpful. We found a lower price on their web site and when I questioned him he said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cranberry Lake, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So let me just say no breakfast what so ever as promised. Yes did have one of their "plus sized rooms" but it wasn't worth the $110 I paid to stay there. My parents stayed there two years ago and said it was decent, nice big room, clean. Well we went this time and got a room closer to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Barre hotels

Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was ok, but there was a sign asking that you not touch the a/c because it could short out the old wiring. There were obvious signs of needed repairs - a shower that didn't work correctly, rotting boards on the outside of the house. On a positive side, the hostess went out of her way to provide nicities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays. We will make sure those issues will be fixed. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice hotel with a friendly staff. Heather and Jamie were very nice people. They were very accommodating to our group of about 25 bikers from Pennsylvania on a road trip to Vermont and Maine. We stayed 2 nights and everything worked out great. Good breakfast, nice pool and enjoyed the hot tub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays and the beauty of attractions in the Green Mountain area! we are fortunate to have the best mountains and the views. We are humbled by your kind words. Thanks and looking forward to... More 

Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was planning a campus visit Norwich University. I had seen some positive reviews for this hotel and decided to give them a call (you can't reserve online from their website). I don't know if the it was a bad connection or if the guy was really quiet, but he was hard to hear. I was quoted a price over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry for the inconvenience. We will make sure this won't happen again from now onwards. We would like you to stay at our hotel in your next trip and see the difference in the hospitality. Thank You again! More 

Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights here when we went through Barre, VT on a motorcycle road trip, motel was conveniently located, clean, nice large rooms, friendly helpful owner and staff always willing to suggest things to see and places to eat, pool area is nice and clean and hot tub felt great after a long day of riding, continental breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays in our hotel. Thank you for staying with us. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiancé and I are so pleased with this motel! Our room was large and very clean! Had a nice balcony also! The staff was very nice and talkative! Very close to hiking spots, stores, and restaurants. Will definitely come back to this motel in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stays in our hotel. Thank you for staying with us. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon! More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel appeared to be a no frills but perfectly acceptable hotel when I booked online. When we got to our room it was disgustingly dirty and smelled of something we couldn't identify. I have stayed in hotel rooms in 3rd world countries that were cleaner than this one and knowing that there was no way we could sleep in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry for the inconvenience. We will make sure this won't happen again from now onwards. We would like you to stay at our hotel in your next trip and see the difference in the hospitality. Thank You again! More 

Randolph, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night this past weekend. From the outside, it looked nice, however, the room was quite dated. The door didn't close properly unless it was locked on the inside, when we first got to the room, the door was open. There is a sitting area when you first walk in, complete with couch, however, there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

We are really sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you for your honest review and letting us know about your inconvenience. We will make sure this won't happen again from now onwards. We would like you to stay at our hotel in your next trip and see the difference in the hospitality. Thank You again! More 

Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My husband has been staying here for work for a few months and I finally went to visit this weekend. The hotel is a bit dated but the rooms are large, a refrigerator and microwave and small sink in the suite area. Nice, comfortable beds and a decent sitting area that allowed me to work while he slept without disturbing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your honest opinion about your stay. We always strive to provide better service and amenities for our guests. Looking forward to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 5 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 5 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
21.2 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#14 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
4.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay