We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Juan Inn

Hotel website
Hwy 163 and the San Juan River, P.O. Box 310276, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
San Juan Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    95
    202
    133
    43
    27
See reviews for
119
227
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (500)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (200)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long day on the motorcycle, and wanted a nice place that wasn't overpriced ( like the other places in town). The San Juan Inn fit the bill, the room was clean, beds were comfortable and the A/C worked, what more do you need. The lady at the counter was friendly and the office also has a good selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, quiet and has a great view of the San Juan River. I found it a little expensive but about the same as all the other hotels in the area. I'd stay there again. I wish they had a pool especially after a hot day in the desert. But sure and check out Valley of the Gods and the Moki... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 1 night at the San Juan Inn during 1st week of August. The $99 rate seems excessive in relation to the poorly renovated room. (Old cathode ray TV, poor TV reception, very poor WiFi signal, old AC unit that could not be set to 'cold', no 'three holed grounded' electrical receptacles at room desk top, misaligned doors in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Mexican Hat hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here a few times over the years and will definitely stay again. Rooms are not really bad, the ones we have stayed in were large and very clean, and at night the river below offers a sense of tranquility, and a walk past the restaurant to the highway, again in the late evening, offers a cool experience with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The San Juan Inn is OK for a night. Our room was clean and the AC worked. It's nicely located alongside, and with river access to, the San Juan River. There are some picnic tables and chairs situated along the parking lot edge overlooking the river. There is a covered deck on the upper level at the lower end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A step up from camping with private shower. AC does not cool a small room, lamp was broken, smoke detector dangling from ceiling and no in room coffee maker. A single sheet for covers. Barking dogs. Smokers. Nice view of the river, gift shop, grocery. But no. Just no.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MexicanHatJulie, Owner at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry for your experience at the San Juan Inn, we strive to do our best. Sometimes the maids overlook things in need of repair, which is why we rely on guest like you to bring it up with us. I do however regret that we did not get to talk to you of these concerns face to face.... More 

Omaha
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are three great things about this place - location, location and LOCATION. It is located in a quiet corner of US 163 on the San Juan River - that's right, it's right by river inside the canyon's gorge and you can see the river flowing by about 15 feet away from your room; no other house or construction visible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Honestly we were not expecting a lot from such a small remote area but we were still very disappointed. It is an old hotel. Old is not bad but dirty is unacceptable. We were in room #2. The shower was the size of a phone booth and did not have any light. The shower curtain was old and stained. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The San Juan Inn is an older property but has a great location. Rooms are clean and comfortable - good mattress! Bathrooms are small but commensurate with age of the property. Rooms are well maintained. The bonus is the location - right above the San Juan River with several outdoor seating / picnic areas right along the river; a spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We weren’t expecting the Ritz but what a pleasant surprise we got. Huge room with everything fresh and clean and no signs of excessive wear and tear. The grounds of the motel are lovely with lots of comfortable chairs to sit outside and enjoy the evening right next to the river. On arrival we were a bit worried that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

304 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (297)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
18.6 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.3 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 2 in Bluff
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
19.8 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay