We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Juan Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hwy 163 and the San Juan River, P.O. Box 310276, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexican Hat
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
San Juan Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Look, when you're in the middle of no where and want to pull in, get a meal and get some sleep, you're grateful for anything. This is that kind of place. No frills, uncomfortable beds, the shower was actually decent, the sink is not in the bathroom, it could tend to be noisy when full. BUT, there's a restaurant on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Hotel is tucked into a bluff overlooking the San Juan River. Nice seating area outside for viewing the river. Rooms were comfortable, furniture has western theme. The restaurant next door is good for meals, they also have a view of the river. Be sure and check out the gift shop lots of Native American items. Location is close to Monument... More 

Helpful?
Thank NCFan
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

If you like rude people, rooms that go uncleaned and lousy food, this is the place for you. One would think that in low season business owners would welcome any business, but for the proprietors of the San Juan Inn, we were clearly a bother. Simply put, if you had the choice of spending the night in your car or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tokyoexpat48
Julie P, Front Office Manager at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

Hmmm, I am sorry you had such a bad experience. I am at the front desk mornings a lot, so maybe we crossed paths..... When did you stay? What was your biggest complaint? I have had no complaints reported to me or given directly. I would like to make this right. I have an email for business correspondence if you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mexican Hat hotels

Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Family-run property tucked into a canyon wall on the San Juan river. Pet friendly hotel. Rooms are basic, yet clean. The gem here is right outside your door. When your sick of the crowds and kitsch, head over here for a more authentic feel. Take some time to sit in the comfy chairs overlooking the river. Walk down the path... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

The room was nice and clean no stains on the carpet and the view took my breath away. The free wifi does suck Im running better off data but what can you expect in a mountain. The desk clerk was pleasant and informative. I would stay here again if Im ever this way again.

Helpful?
Thank Davids_Queen
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

San Juan Inn is a very fine basic hotel. The air conditioner unit was pretty noisy and there was no fridge but it was fine for the price. It had a nice location - right next to the river and there was a beautiful sunset.

Helpful?
Thank Kasy
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Traveling with some colleagues we stayed at the San Juan Inn for 4 nights, some of them didn't like this motel and how old fashioned it was. The rooms don't have a fridge, micro-wave or a coffee maker. They do have wi-fi in the rooms but it was very slow. At times when I was getting up early, before sunrise,... More 

Helpful?
Thank judytraveller
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Internet is a priority to us when travelling so we don't appreciate it when told there is internet and the reality is the wifi is unworkable. When we questioned this, we were told they had paid extra for more Gbs. and it should now be working. It didn't work. Why do they run out of Gbs in the first place?... More 

Helpful?
Thank G P
MexicanHatJulie, Owner at San Juan Inn, responded to this review

Dear sir, We are sorry about the internet. This remote area has limited internet servers to buy from in the first place. Next, they only offer residential packages, exede, hughes net ,frontier, are the only carriers that will even return a call to me. Mostly because the other servers do not have "service in this area" We do not have... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

This inn has two stories/levels of rooms which are clean, averagely equipped and that's about it. I wouldn't wish to stay for more than one night, but I wouldn't pack up and leave either. And yes I have done that in other motels (well once). It's not so far from MV and offers a more budget accomodation for those who... More 

Helpful?
Thank turgonuk
delft
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015 via mobile

The location of this motel is great, that will earn the extra star. The atmosphere as well. Although the service is awful. The toilet was broken (not flushing). The employees were not even saying sorry about it after noticing, no action was taken. Internet is not working, so slow that it isn't usable. The maid knocked at the door at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erik A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

314 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (307)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
18.6 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.3 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 2 in Bluff
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
19.8 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities