We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Whitney accommodations

The Lodge on Serenity Cove

Save Saved
You added The Lodge on Serenity Cove to your Saves list
100 Tejas Trail, Whitney, TX 76692 (Formerly Redwood Lodge)
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (10)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
The Lodge on Serenity Cove
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I was at this place years ago and it was fine but I wish I would have read these reviews before I booked. The room was filthy and the beds looked and felt like they were 50 years old. It was WAY overpriced for what you get. There wasn't even soap in the bathroom so we had to go buy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SerenityCove, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge on Serenity Cove, responded to this review

We are deeply apologetic that you had a bad experience with the condition of The Lodge. We are writing to inform you that we have taken ownership of Redwood Lodge and we now have a new name, new staff, and new owners. We have also been working hard all summer to improve the condition of the grounds as well as... More

Spicewood, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family stayed there last year and left a $100.00 deposit for this coming Labor Day. I have been trying for 2 months to get my money back and they will not refund it. They admit they took the deposit and I have a receipt but they still will not refund my money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SerenityCove, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge on Serenity Cove, responded to this review

Hello LindaE360, We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with the previous owners. If you still have your receipt please give us a call and we will give you a free night on us (excluding Holidays) in order to compensate for the way you were treated previously. Please accept our offer and come stay with us... More

eastland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the most disgusting place i have ever been. The owner was rude and the place was nasty dirty, and to top it all off the owner is a very dishonest person. If you want to enjoy your vacation or what ever do not go to this place, the towlets run over and the beds are like springs and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SerenityCove, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge on Serenity Cove, responded to this review

Hello! We are pleased to announce that Redwood Lodge is under new ownership. We have renovated several of the rooms and are in the process of sprucing up many more. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with the previous owners and would love for you to come back and visit us if you are ever in... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are nothing but GROSS! Our room smelled so bad (urine) there was not enough bleach, lysol, scrubbing bubbles, or air fresheners in Whitney to have made a dent in this NASTY room! There is NO way this place, any part of it, could pass a health inspection! Heaven forbid that you go barefoot on this carpet! I don't know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SerenityCove, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge on Serenity Cove, responded to this review

Hello Tsanges, We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with the previous state of the Lodge. We are pleased to inform you that we have spent several months cleaning, renovating, and redecorating the rooms and grounds and would like for you to come back give us another try. We assure you it will be better than your... More

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

So, this place isn't the Ritz Carlton. Some of its features were a little outdated, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in cabin 8 & our friend stayed in 9. We had a king bed & 2 queen beds. The place was clean, and the a/c was working great! We had a microwave, 2 burner stove, coffee pot. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SerenityCove, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge on Serenity Cove, responded to this review

Hi! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love for you to come back again soon to see the improvements we've made since your last visit! More

austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place was an absolute DUMP !!!! Like many others I bought a Groupon (which I'm now going to contact them as this was falsley advertised in my mind) otherwise I would have left. The carpets are stained, it's just filthy. Nothing to do but swim - were not told about canoes, kayaks etc. I was "upgraded" to the biggest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SerenityCove, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge on Serenity Cove, responded to this review

Hi AdventureFamilyof5, We would love to have a chance to make up for your previous bad experience at The Lodge. When we took over we cleaned, redecorated, and remodeled many of the rooms and are making more improvements every day. We would love for you to come back again, we promise you that this time will be much better for... More

Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Yes, the cabin was old and the carpet was stained in a few places, but the linens were washed and fresh and the owners were very nice. The king-sized bed was very uncomfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant - we were told the cabin had a kitchenette. No oven though, so we didn't get biscuits the next day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SerenityCove, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge on Serenity Cove, responded to this review

Hi KellyD, Thank you for your honest review of The Lodge. We took ownership in May of 2014 and want to let you know that we have been working hard all summer to make sure that our guests have better experiences then they did previously. If you ever in or passing through Whitney, please stop by and stay with us... More

Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Fooled by Groupon. First the good - the staff and owners are very nice and friendly. However, if you expect to go camping you might be disappointed and if you expect a lodge you will definitely be disappointed. This place is basically camping with AC but without the charm of a camp ground and definitely not a state park. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family and I took a vacation to Texas to do some fun stuff at Arlington so when Groupon offered this place for a vacation lodge rental for half the cost we thought we'd try it out. It stated that it was a cabin on the lake with kayaks, fishing boats and canoes and it was a great place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We bought a Groupon for the Redwood Lodge. I should have known something was up when about the only picture I could find of the place was of the gazebo with a lake view behind it. The next clue should have been the drive through the "neighborhood" where the "lodge" was located. We passed dilapidated mobile homes, houses in such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lodge on Serenity Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lodge on Serenity Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Serenity Cove

Address: 100 Tejas Trail, Whitney, TX 76692 (Formerly Redwood Lodge)
Location: United States > Texas > Whitney

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
**Under New Ownership** Welcome to the Lodge on Serenity Cove - A rustic style lodge located on the beautiful Lake Whitney in Whitney, TX. Get a way from the hustle and bustle of city life and enjoy the peace and serenity with us in our little corner of Texas - you won't regret it! Come experience our beautiful lake views, famous sunsets, and quiet nights. Launch your boat from our slip, take a walk down to Serenity point and take a dip in the lake or relax in our large outdoor pool. We offer many different types of rooms and cabins as well as a large pool, patio, reunion center, and several common areas for any type of event whether it be a convention, retreat, or family reunion. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge on Serenity Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer