We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Waco University

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1320 South Jack Kultgen Freeway, Waco, TX 76706
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Waco University
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When our heater didn't work, we were given another room. A problem with these older motels is not enough outlets near the beds for those who must use CPAP/BiPAP machines or charge their phones, etc. The biggest problem with these older motels is that smokers can't be controlled in their rooms and even though fines are posted and the entire... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Ross K
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

First of all let me thank you taking the time to write a review. We are always doing upgrades to our motel. I will mention about needing more plugs in the rooms. We do strive to have clean rooms and a friendly staff. We have a Non-smoking policy which we do enforce. Thank you for choosing Super 8 to stay... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had to drive up to Waco for some professional development, but most of the hotels were full due to some kind of sportsing event and so I went to Hotwire and got a mystery hotel for $55 with tax. I've stayed at Super 8s before and so I knew what to expect. The hotel was super to easy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review & choosing Super 8 to stay at while in Waco. We do have 6 smoking rooms on the 1st floor but the rest of the rooms are non-smoking. We do strive to have a clean motel with a friendly staff. Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice front desk folks, good rates, but hotel needs reno. Big time. Parking lot lights shone in our room all night.Noise from I-35 was annoying and we decided we would avoid this next time through. It was a blessedly brief stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank Michaela04
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Super 8 while in Waco. When you check-in if you will inform the front desk clerk that you would like a room away from the interstate we will gladly do this if we can. Please come back & check us out we are all the time doing improvements to the motel. More 

Waco, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Front desk clerks were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. They even smelled clean for a smoking room. The breakfast was great. I love staying here when I want to get away from home for the night.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

Thank you for you nice review. We do strive to have a clean motel and a friendly staff. We will be looking forward to seeing you again. More 

Amarillo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We chose this Super 8 because I have stayed in super 8s on business and those that I have stayed at in the past were very nice when we got to this particular super 8 was not updated... but appeared to be clean. As I was checking in, the young lady told me there would be a $20 pet fee... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
3 Thank FrederickChesser
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

I am really sorry you had trouble with your service dog. The person working front desk was new and did not realize that we do not charge for service dogs. If you were getting a discount because of service then we would need to see your card. So sorry about breakfast being closed early. We now extend our breakfast until... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Hotel is located, on the service road of I-35 in Waco. The staff is friendly, but the Hotel needs to be updated, BADLY! The rooms smell, the furniture is very old. There is a cigarette smell, that is very evident on every floor. There are smoking rooms, but people go into the hall ways and stairways to get their fix.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Clyde W
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

So sorry that you had a bad experience at Super 8. We are all the time doing things to fix our motel up. We do keep a clean motel and have a friendly staff to help you. Wish you would give us another try. More 

Travelers are raving about these Waco hotels

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

I am by no means a picky traveler, but after staying at many hotels, this hotel did not meet expectations. Staff - Friendly, but not knowledgeable and did not assist when I asked questions. In the hotel room, it says "FREE PASS TO USE GOLD'S GYM WHEN YOU STAY AT SUPER 8! INQUIRE AT DESK" or something along those lines.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CJWitten
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

First of all let me apologize about the free pass to Gold's Gym, we haven't had that in quite awhile. I will get this taken off of our web site. I do have a couple of new girls working that might not have been knowledgeable about answering questions. We really to strive to be friendly & helpful. Pease give us... More 

Isla Verde, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

The hotel has had very very little invested in the upkeep of this hotel. In the reception area drawers and cabinets were broken. The elevator had loose tiles. Wallpaper was peeling off the wall. The carpet needed to be replaced. There were non guests in the downstair hallway during the evening hours. We moved chairs around and found food particles... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Daria D
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review

We are all the time doing repairs and upkeep to our motel. We have fixed the tile in the elevator. We do weekly inspections on all of our rooms. If for any reason that other guest are bothering you in the hallway, just call the front desk and we will take care of it for you. We want you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waco hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near University
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco North
0.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Waco
Magnuson Hotel Waco
#19 of 28 in Waco
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knights Inn Waco South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay