We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Terlingua hotels

Big Bend Resort And Adventures

Save Saved
You added Big Bend Resort And Adventures to your Saves list
Hwy 118 @ Hwy 170, Terlingua, TX 79852
Hotel amenities
Big Bend Resort And Adventures
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    29
    19
    25
See reviews for
25
32
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the Big Bend area there are not a lot of choices of places to stay. We had not made reservations as we did not know until the last minute we would be heading to Big Ben. We ended up outside the park to here. The staff was very nice and helpful to us not only for that area but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galveston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in what they all referred to as the "big house" - literally a house atop of a hill overlooking Study Butte that was truly home away from home. A full kitchen made meals much easier given limited restaurant choices and a full small store and a convenience store very nearby. Kids had their rooms, adults had theirs and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleyville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Do not let the name fool you, this is not a resort....it is a motel at best. Rooms are clean but very old and bedding has been around for a while. The location is great for early start into Big Bend National Park. Staff is okay, make sure you know what time the office closes, because if you arrive after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

As others have pointed out, there aren't a ton of options near Big Bend, especially if you are traveling with a dog (suggestion - don't bring a dog to Big Bend, they aren't allowed on most trails in the national park or state park). This is a 1950s-style motel, and I was in the even older-looking building across the street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aransas Pass, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I recognized when I booked it that it was, at best, a mediocre motel. However, since the Lodge and everything else in Terlingua was booked there was little choice. If you look at the picture gallery you see an older style motel with a covered porch/deck. What you DON'T see is the property across the street (fondly labeled 'the dump').... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bbra1, General Manager at Big Bend Resort And Adventures, responded to this review

I am very sorry for your stay, it might be noted that this is the least expensive motel in the area. However we would love to have you come back and try our main rooms. If you will be so kind as to contact me I will be glad to try and make this stay right, Larry Staton 432-294-0055. More

Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Compared to other properties in Terlingua, this appeared to be the best. There are few options to choose from, given the remoteness of the area, and the other ones we considered online and saw in person were worse in terms of upkeep. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but neat. There are no TV's but some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bbra1, General Manager at Big Bend Resort And Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we hope you will come back and visit us. Please let me know, I would love to meet you. Larry Staton More

Salado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We ended up spending the night here because of under planning our stay in Big Bend. It was old and unclean. I can do old but dirty I cannot do. We stayed out as late as we could and left as early as we could. The beds were uncomfortable. The room was very crowded with no, NO bathroom space. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bbra1, General Manager at Big Bend Resort And Adventures, responded to this review

I am very sorry about your stay, I can only hope you would give us another chance. I agree about being out dated , however you are the second review this month about not being clean. If you had contacted the desk we would have been glad to change rooms, refund or help you find another motel. We are not... More

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Somehow I ended up booking this property through NATIONAL PARKS RESERVATIONS as an online booking (linked to the property's web page). THEY CHARGED 10% OF OUR TOTAL ESTIMATED ROOM COST JUST TO BOOK. For two rooms, 4 nights this came to be $86.00 - just to book it. I have tried to dispute this, but got caught in the fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bbra1, General Manager at Big Bend Resort And Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response. Very sorry about your problem with NPR. They are not part of our company, however by having the name they use almost all national park properties are signed up with them. We also pay a percentage for each reservation. We do hope you will come back and stay with us and please call... More

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just a quick review here after returning from a Big Bend extended weekend. I agree with Adam, a previous reviewer: "This hotel is perfectly fine for the area. It is older, and a bit run down, but hopefully you didn't come here for the accommodations. We showered here and slept here." My friend and I almost didn't even consider staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Americus, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Paper thin walls....motorcycles (dirt bikes!) revving up at 6:00 AM after waking up and holding their club meeting at 4:30 AM...Front desk workers who suggest you use your cell phone because the hotel employee can't figure out how to connect a call your room....an awful place to stay...mostly because no one who owns the hotel wants to invest any profit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Big Bend Resort And Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Big Bend Resort And Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bend Resort And Adventures

Address: Hwy 118 @ Hwy 170, Terlingua, TX 79852
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Big Bend Resort And Adventures Hotel Terlingua
Big Bend Rv
Big Bend Terlingua
Big Bend Lodging

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)