We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

3.5 of 5 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    63
    26
    9
    18
See reviews for
102
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

If this hotel paid me to come back i would happily decline. Drove 4.5 hours from San Antonio to spend our little boys 4th birthday at the waterpark. The water is cooooooold. Not 85 degrees which is advertised on there webpage. I had two shivering little boys- it was unbearable. We were forced to leave the waterpark because of this.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was decent, staff was great. The water park could be updated. All in all not worth the cost of stay and play. Definitely overpriced for quality. Only thing great was how close the beach is :/

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrollton, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It might be ok during the week but I had a family holiday with 10 people, 6 adults,2 teen agers and two 8 year olds over a week end and we all thought the water park very, very crowded. This was June 2014. If you like being surrounded with every and I do mean every person, sporting innumerable tattoos then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to South Padre for a business conference and decided to turn it into a family weekend getaway. We reserved a King suite ocean front room. We arrived on a Wednesday night very late and Ted the night clerk was very friendly and helpful. It was extremely windy and the wind caused the wall of the room we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warren, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice family suite, beds super comfortable. We did not feel as though the venue offered enough for the winter month. The prices should have been reduced. The indoor waterpark was less then expected. One day it was filled with oil that coated our bodies. They claimed it was vegetable oil. One of our biggest turn offs was the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Please be sure to read my full review. I have to get the bad out of the way first, but then there's plenty of good. I remembered seeing something about a past guest who had issues with Room 143 before we arrived, but then totally didn't connect the dots until sure enough, we were assigned Room 143 and at around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your review! It is always welcome to receive thoughtful, thorough reviews that encompass the entire visit. We appreciate the kind words and believe me when I say we listen to our reviews and our guests. Room 143 specifically will become an "off-market" room that will not be used as a beachfront room and available only as the... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They advertise that this is a year round waterpark. It is, if you like to be very cold while you swim indoors! The indoor water is a big room covered in plastic and heated by propane heaters placed randomly all over the place. Most of them are not on. So it is very cold in the plastic covered room when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments. We did experience some much colder than average temperatures over the holidays this year and unfortunately a transformer blew on the date you visited the park (city, not us) so a lot of our ability to keep the indoor air temperature where we like was lost.... More 

Round Rock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our families second stay at this resort, but our first in the off season. We all had a great time and will be back! The beds are comfortable with many pillows and adequate heating/cooling for our rooms (one for each room - King suite and living room with hide-a-bed). They do a good job of including all of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing your experience and being a repeat visitor! We appreciate you sharing the comforts one does not usually get at most properties (thick Denver mattresses, Wolfgang Puck coffee, popcorn, microwaves, safe, refrigerator, etc.) in the rooms. We also do host a lot of meetings, conferences, weddings, etc. as the Island is the perfect place to combine... More 

Seabrook, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here the last week of December 2014. They had a special and we decided to take advantage of it. We booked the premier king room - has a side view of the beach (a ways off) a king bed and a sofa bed. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The kids liked the sofa sleeper.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for being so considerate and generous in your review of our new beachfront property. Built with families in mind, comfortable, thick mattresses, no beds smaller than a queen and lots of on-site amenities have allowed to quickly become one of the most popular and revisited properties on South Padre Island. You will love your upcoming summer visit when you... More 

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall the resort was clean and the employees were friendly and helpful. The location was great. Beach access is close. The indoor water park was disappointing. Although the room was clean, the bed was not made when we arrived. Also, we were located next door to an electrical closet. It was very noisy at all hours. I would recommend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and posting your comments. We always like hearing from our Guests so we can thank our staff for a job well done and continue to improve in other areas. As the largest property on the Island, we are as close to the beach as anyone and include many amenities for empty nesters, business travelers and families alike.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay