We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surf Motel

2.0 of 5
2612 Gulf Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel amenities
Surf Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    6
    9
    19
See reviews for
17
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Karnes City, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been staying here since 2004. The very best of service and they will do anything they can to accommodate you. We just spent 4 days there from March 30 to April 2 and they have made even more improvements. We have been doing a group stay since 2013 and have never been disappointed. We go every year the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
surfmotelpadre, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We do try to go above and beyond for all our guests in hopes they will return year after year just like you and yours!! We cant wait to see all of you again next year!! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed at this motel from Saturday March 7th, through. March 10th 2015. Check in was ok, the girl behind the counter was very nice. My original room was 107, i open the door and the most horrific smell slaps me in the face, i went to use the room phone but it was ripped from the wall including the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
surfmotelpadre, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

I would like to offer our sincerest apologies for all the issues that occured during your stay with us. We were very pleased to accomodate your requests that you made while staying here and would like to thank you for bringing all your concerns to our attention. We would also like to ensure you that we have taken the proper... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Pulled into the Surf Motel, first of all no parking!! You have to wait until someone leaves to park, when we finally got to the office which was a tiny little space that was dark and smelling, we asked the girl behind the counter if they had any rooms, th girl stated all we have is a condo, I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cripple Creek, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We pulled into South Padre Island staring at all the high rises figuring there was no way we could afford to be on the beach and found this place. LOVED IT! The rooms weren't great but when you just want a place to sleep.....you can't beat it. The bar and grill with the tiki huts were awesome to have at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Infestation of roaches! In and outside the motel! Roaches were out side by the bar / restaurant area .... on top of the tables outside ....... A night the roaches were coming through underneath the door ...had to put towels on the floor to cover the cracks on the door and those damm things still came in ...The worst place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old Monroe, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This review is for the restaurant only. Attached to the motel is a beachfront restaurant/bar. We ordered carry-out a couple times as it was very convenient to the beach. The cheeseburgers and fries were hot and very well cooked. Just burgers and fries but delicious for what it was. Right on the beach - and get this - only $5,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

great island, great beach, great beach bar, great pool, awesome people, friendly staff. Definitive a low budget motel, but if you only need a place to sleep it´s fantastic. My wife and children liked it. We stayed a week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed there for one night - have stayed there once before - the place was dirty - we all slept in our clothes - that was after we went to the store and bought lysol and lysoled the whole place - no-one wanted to take a bath - no one wanted to get under the covers - there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The website displays pics that show a decent rooms. Once you settle in and take a look around it becomes a scene from a freddy kugar movie. The bathroom lighting will give you a seizure! 2nd floor walkway is slanted and not sturdy. Parking lot is littered and there are dirty puddles everywhere. The pool is tiny and probably "heated"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This motel is not worth the money we paid....the bar service treated us so bad....at billy bars....the bartenders were so rude to us...maybe because we were hispanics....bathroom are so small...never stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question