We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1004 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    13
    19
    15
    28
See reviews for
35
25
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was OK. I stayed here with a friend. It was nice and spacious. The location was also great. I have 3 complaints: 1) the shower was pretty, but not the best designed. With a slow drain, we found ourselves constantly watching to make sure that the floor didn't get too wet, 2) the pool is very small for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My fiancé & I went last September for a romantic getaway. That's exactly what it was! I loved our huge lovely room. Ac was great, bed was very comfy, poofy pillows, huge shower stall for 2 lol. Being that it was in late September, we had the hotel practically to ourselves as well as the pool. It was great! We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockport, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is old and need to be upgraded, it's a converted shopping mall, they built the rooms in the previous stores, the hotel have a free parking garage. The service is very poor, we asked for extra towels and never get it, I have to go to the front desk and ask again. The pool is very small and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Spring Branch, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was okay. It's not in walking distance to the beach, right on the road and the tiniest swimming pool. They advertised a bar, but was never opened. The parking was nice, it had a parking garage. Staff were friendly, which was nice. Our room had a view of the fireworks. The rooms weren't bad, but we had trouble with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property is unique. It's a converted shopping mall. The rooms have been created in the space opened up when you remove all of the store fronts. The staff could not have been nicer. The AC was cold. Where I had problems was the highly outdated decor in the common areas, the total lack of food or beverage in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Myself and some friends stayed here during Spring Break. Their rates were very competitive to everyone around a little bit cheaper. Check-in went smoothly, they did slide in a $300 refundable deposit during check-in, in addition to the rate. I noticed TONS of people surprised by this. The hotel is located on the strip with tons of things within walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tonny D, Manager at Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Dear Suites at Sunchase Guest, We thank you for taking the time to submit your review and greatly appreciate your feedback; We truly apologize for any inconvenience that you might have caused you during our stay and we welcome your comments as we always strive to improve our service to our guests. We hope to see you soon so we... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

Booked this hotel for spring break and worse decision ever. The bathroom toilet doesn't work, the couch is distinctly discolored, and they charge a $300 deposit per room for peak hours like spring break. There was no mention of the deposit when booking the hotel. To top things off, there is a $25 guest fee to have a guest come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
robin h, Manager at Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

The rooms are enormous and the beds are really comfy and cozy the service are wonderful IT'S JUST PLAIN AWESOME HERE the elavaters are glass on on one side and goes really slow so that you can see everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
robin h, Manager at Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I must admit we gave this package to my son/girlfriend for a get away. They had a fabulous time ! Said the hotel was close to everything, rooms were very large and clean. The "set up" of the hotel is a little different, it use to be a mall or something ? So until you get to the room, its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robin h, Manager at Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Thank you for such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

My stay here was great-good value for such large rooms-friendly staff that ensured I was comfortable. I travel a lot on business and I have stayed at some high end hotels and their beds/pillows cannot begin to measure up with these beds/pillows. I slept like a baby each night. Peaceful restful nights with beds that contours with the body. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robin h, Manager at Suites at Sunchase, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (131)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
Standard King (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay