We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN San Marcos

917 I-H 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    19
    12
    16
See reviews for
45
28
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Coimbatore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall it was a nice and enjoyable experience and I was taken care to the comfort of my Home. If you want to visit San Marcos are for either a Business or a pleasure visit, this would be an ideal choice for stay either be it single or with family. I really felt happy staying there. Mike and Anu are... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
mesquite, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 2 rooms and both had ants--we reported the first night, no change. Reported second night, improvement in one room, but still had ant presence, other room no change. Third night killed ants 5 on bathroom counter, 10 ants in bathtub, 2 ants on the wall and 3 ants in the bed.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
houston, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Hotel staff didn't handle the noise problem in the room next door, which went on all night, nor did they return my call when I complained again at checkout. I felt like I'd wasted my money/reqward points.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This is a simple little hotel, but exceedingly clean. Impressively clean. I wiped down EVERYTHING and not a bit of dirt came off onto my wipe. I am still impressed. I have stayed at much fancier and much more expensive hotels that were not as good as this Best Western. Perfect simple breakfast too.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leavenworth, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Located on a frontage road next to interstate. This Best Western property is most similar to a small, Super 8 or Econolodge. It's basic lodging in a small compact space. Basically it's $40-$50 a night property - the nearly identical independent motel next door has a permanent neon light advertising $39.95 per night, which looked about right for the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Very Good hotel and met the expected Tripadvisor rating (3.5). Clean. Nice desk people. Room is well kept and updated. Beds comfortable (4 pillows per queen bed). AC worked well and was quiet (amen). It's located on I-35 frontage road in San Marcos. We had a room facing the interstate but it was quiet and could not hear the traffic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Sadly this motel did not meet our expectations. The hotel is adjacent the freeway, but there was had no problems with the noise in our room from traffic. We could however hear everything that happened in the rooms next to and above us. Late night guests talking and laughing in the hallway woke us up. The bed was ok sleep-wise,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hallettsville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean. Bed pillows were lumpy. 2nd floor smelled heavily of cigarette smoke. There were signs on all room doors stating "No Smoking". The morning breakfast was poor. Pan sausage smelled foul. Oleo pod was rancid, also had a spoiled pod of half/half. Microwave needed cleaning. Was informed on arrival that the elevator was not working. But never found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear LindaC, Thank you for taking time to write review on your recent trip to our hotel. We value your feedback and will look into the areas you have pointed out. We do not have elevator at our hotel, and I am afraid that who informed you that elevator 'not working', I will investigate about this too. Hope to see... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

The room was very clean and seemed to have plenty of electrical outlets. The staff was very polite, efficient and helpful. We did not use any of the recreational facilities. On the other hand, the breakfast offering subpar in the selection and presentation. It's location is convenient for both arrival and departure to the major highway. However because of proximity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear Tom G, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We will definitely look into our breakfast area and improve. Hope to see you again. Sincerely, Mike Patel General Manager More 

Horseshoe Bay, Tx, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Staff very friendly and pleasant . A group of friends and all found the rate and quality to be equal. Small hotel but quite and clean. A great place to stay if just travelling through. No worries about a clean safe place. You feel good about the quality.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear William S, Thank you for taking time to write review about your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and it is our hope to see you again when you travel to San Marcos. Sincerely, Mike Patel General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN San Marcos

Address: 917 I-H 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marcos Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Marcos
#5 Business Hotel in San Marcos

27 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay