We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN San Marcos

Hotel website
Hotel deals
917 I-H 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    20
    14
    17
See reviews for
48
29
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent two nights while skydiving at San Marcos. Wanted something affordable, clean and close to everything. This hotel hit the mark on all three. The less money spent on lodging meant more for fun jumping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made a reservation weeks in advance. When I arrived, I was surprised to learn there were no rooms available. No one could seem to explain what happened. I talked to the man at the front desk and the 1-800 number for Best Western. No explanation and was encouraged to call back Monday to complain. I just called to complain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear Alicia L, Thank you for taking time to write review about your experience at our hotel recently. We appreciate your feedback. Like we have explained to you earlier, you cancelled your first reservation and the second one was already in the system but due to our new property management system and new front desk, your situation was not handled... More 

south padre island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this Best Western and were very pleased with the room, convenience and service. The breakfast was average but they put it out early and that worked for us. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear LiveLifeLove2222, Thank you for taking time to write review on our hotel about your recent stay. We really appreciate your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and will be back again. Please let us know if you need any assistance for your future reservations. Sincerely, Mike Patel General Manager More 

Coimbatore, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This is my third stay within a short period at Best Western San Marcos and I am very pleased and satisfied with their services. I will recommend this Hotel to others as well. I might come back after a week after my business trip to northern states and continue to stay here.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

No exercise room, outdoor pool area, bugs in the room & a missed wake up call. Rooms are over priced for what you get. The breakfast was fine and clean. The area did not appear that safe. Someone was murdered approx 500 yards from the hotel the first night I was there. On a positive note the rental car was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arlington, TX, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Nothing extraordinary, but no complaints. Good value for the price. Polite and helpful staff. Nice and clean. Hot breakfast. Good bed. Near the university. Right on I-35. Seems expensive, but I'm sure that is attributable to the Bush-Obama devaluation of the US Dollar.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davis,OK, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We enjoyed our stay in The Best Western in San Marcos. The staff if very friendly and helpful and our rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast is more than adequate and we consider it a good value for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Lobby smelled like old diapers because trash had not been taken out, and coffee/tea station had lukewarm old liquids that smelled like gasoline fuel, crumbs and debris accumulated on the steps, worst time to come is during holiday shopping season because the hotel is super busy and over run with internationals who treat the hotels public spaces as their own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear Cutelilturtle, Thank you for taking time to write review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for inconvenience caused during your stay. Our hotel was sold out during your stay and we were trying to keep up with everything to make each guest's stay comfortable. Even during breakfast time, we were busier than expected and had extra staff... More 

Coimbatore, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Overall it was a nice and enjoyable experience and I was taken care to the comfort of my Home. If you want to visit San Marcos are for either a Business or a pleasure visit, this would be an ideal choice for stay either be it single or with family. I really felt happy staying there. Mike and Anu are... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
mesquite, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We had 2 rooms and both had ants--we reported the first night, no change. Reported second night, improvement in one room, but still had ant presence, other room no change. Third night killed ants 5 on bathroom counter, 10 ants in bathtub, 2 ants on the wall and 3 ants in the bed.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question