We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Port Aransas hotels

Shark Reef Resort

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Cutoff Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Hotel amenities
Shark Reef Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shark Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Daddy B Houston
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    9
    5
    31
See reviews for
50
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

That's about it, really. If you need a base camp, or are just passing through Port A, this place fits the bill. Room was clean, shower was hot, staff is friendly. It was quiet, but I'm sure it could be very lively in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Delightful rooms, a full kitchen in every room, comfy bed and nautical themes abound. The courtyard had not only a pool, but cookout stations and even allowed animals! We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and were surprised that there wasn't rowdy couples, but seemed to be a more family-oriented place. It was located just blocks from the marina and park and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitney, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Me and my girlfriend decided we wanted a romantic girls weekend away from home. I love the jacuzi bathtub , the tile floor was lovely. The bed made you feel like you died and went to heaven. comfy towels and complementary soaps and shampoo.. The pool was real nice heated and clean. Best of all the darling at the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Upon arriving at the resort we were informed that the hotel due to a booking error on a third party website had been overbooked and although our room was still available, we were upgraded to one of their newest cabins. Spacious, tastefully decorated, a full kitchen and spotlessly clean we felt like we'd hit the jackpot. Arriving late for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction, and are happy to hear that you had a great weekend! I am very glad that you enjoyed the cottage that you stayed in, and hope to see you again soon! Taking into consideration your review, I will be more than happy to get onto making a guide... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Room was nasty and stunk. Fridge was moldy. Had personal items stolen and when reported it, she tried to say none of her staff would steal and told me there was nothing she could do. Do not stay here!! Horrible experience and won't be going back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi, this is Mary, the manager at Shark Reef Resort. I wanted to start by saying Thank You for staying with us. You were in a Remodeled room, and upon check out today, you did not alert myself or the owner (yesterday) to any problems with your room ie: any odor in room, any problems with refrigerator. Yesterday you came... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our room was unacceptable. The couch mattress was molded/mildewed so they had just turned it over. The bathroom wasn't clean. The attendant was very nice and upgraded our room, but it wasn't any cleaner. The air conditioner wouldn't cool the room down, and it was in a window. My pillow case had holes, and the bottom sheet wasn't clean. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Shark Reef Resort; I wanted to start by saying that all of our rooms have mattresses that are less than 2 years old. All hotels can keep mattresses for up to ten (10) years, but we replace ours every two (2). All of our rooms have window air conditioners, as the property itself has been... More 

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

holy cow..it was very dirty. there were things on the walls in places that were really gross. there was a ton of carpet fresh type powder along all baseboards had to plug phone in behind bed. ewwww also lightbulbs covered in sheetrock mud. bathroom fixtures at sink loose and really covered in a wet brown substance ??? all towel bars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
San antonio
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This place was down right nasty. The rooms were very small and cramped with old out dated furniture. The room only had one small lamp with dull lighting. We asked for another lamp and our request was denied. Each room has a small window AC unit that was loud and took very long to just to cool the room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The room was dirty . TV was old . I just didn't like it but the owner was nice and gave my money back and we went to another hotel . Not good . We come down here every summer and this was the worst one .

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Seguin, Texas
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

On the first night our a/c started going out. The owner did not hesitate to move us to the next room to stay cool, I had my parents who are both in their 70's, while a new a/c was installed. The room and grounds are emasculate. Kudos to Shark Reef. My boys are already looking forward to next year!! They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are in the process of remodeling our hotel, and can't wait to see you next year! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shark Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Reef Resort

Address: 314 Cutoff Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shark Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shark Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shark Reef Hotel Port Aransas

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay