We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shark Reef Resort

314 Cutoff Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Hotel amenities
Shark Reef Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Paul E San Antonio, Texas
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    10
    6
    31
See reviews for
52
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good: Clean , free breakfast Bad: water pressure was weak as well as hot water was a little better than warm Only motel I ever stayed in that did not have an ice machine Strange room layout No phone Wi-Fi is the city's which cost $3 and is slow

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericktown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay at a reasonable price. Staff is just like old friends. Very kind, helpful and always checking in to see if we need anything. The rooms are everything you need for the winter months. Great location. Full size stove, and fridge. We will be going back in 2016 for the winter again, can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in the first cottage on the right. So cute! Clean & airy. Great kitchen space. Our 2 year old loved it. Quiet enough for her to sleep. Shared grassy area, clean pool, grills & great little playscape. About 1 block from community pool, which is awesome! And so close to easy beach access. I highly recommend this place!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This place blew SO hard. I mean the price on is cheap, I think it's because they don't spend enough money on maids. They made us go back to our room after checkout to clean! The Pikachu lady at the front desk was super rude. When I asked for the manager she explained that she was. I was confused because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hunter, This is Mary, the manager whom you are talking about. This hotel is family owned and operated, and has been since 2005. All of our workers have been here for 3+ years, and our rooms are clean. I did ask you to go back and clean your room, because you had left it trashed; that was a stipulation... More 

Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We stayed in the Shark Reef resort for only one night. I wish I could have moved in. It was WONDERFUL. The cabin we rented was entitled "Flounder" and it had everything and more that anyone could need. It was so quaint and well appointed! I love the decor and the place was really clean! The village of little cabins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

That's about it, really. If you need a base camp, or are just passing through Port A, this place fits the bill. Room was clean, shower was hot, staff is friendly. It was quiet, but I'm sure it could be very lively in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Delightful rooms, a full kitchen in every room, comfy bed and nautical themes abound. The courtyard had not only a pool, but cookout stations and even allowed animals! We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and were surprised that there wasn't rowdy couples, but seemed to be a more family-oriented place. It was located just blocks from the marina and park and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitney, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Me and my girlfriend decided we wanted a romantic girls weekend away from home. I love the jacuzi bathtub , the tile floor was lovely. The bed made you feel like you died and went to heaven. comfy towels and complementary soaps and shampoo.. The pool was real nice heated and clean. Best of all the darling at the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Upon arriving at the resort we were informed that the hotel due to a booking error on a third party website had been overbooked and although our room was still available, we were upgraded to one of their newest cabins. Spacious, tastefully decorated, a full kitchen and spotlessly clean we felt like we'd hit the jackpot. Arriving late for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction, and are happy to hear that you had a great weekend! I am very glad that you enjoyed the cottage that you stayed in, and hope to see you again soon! Taking into consideration your review, I will be more than happy to get onto making a guide... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Room was nasty and stunk. Fridge was moldy. Had personal items stolen and when reported it, she tried to say none of her staff would steal and told me there was nothing she could do. Do not stay here!! Horrible experience and won't be going back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi, this is Mary, the manager at Shark Reef Resort. I wanted to start by saying Thank You for staying with us. You were in a Remodeled room, and upon check out today, you did not alert myself or the owner (yesterday) to any problems with your room ie: any odor in room, any problems with refrigerator. Yesterday you came... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question