We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Port Aransas hotels

Shark Reef Resort

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Cutoff Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Hotel amenities
Shark Reef Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shark Reef Resort to your Saves list
63%
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
BerthaHankerton Whitney, Texas, United States
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    9
    5
    31
See reviews for
50
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Whitney, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my girlfriend decided we wanted a romantic girls weekend away from home. I love the jacuzi bathtub , the tile floor was lovely. The bed made you feel like you died and went to heaven. comfy towels and complementary soaps and shampoo.. The pool was real nice heated and clean. Best of all the darling at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arriving at the resort we were informed that the hotel due to a booking error on a third party website had been overbooked and although our room was still available, we were upgraded to one of their newest cabins. Spacious, tastefully decorated, a full kitchen and spotlessly clean we felt like we'd hit the jackpot. Arriving late for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction, and are happy to hear that you had a great weekend! I am very glad that you enjoyed the cottage that you stayed in, and hope to see you again soon! Taking into consideration your review, I will be more than happy to get onto making a guide... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Room was nasty and stunk. Fridge was moldy. Had personal items stolen and when reported it, she tried to say none of her staff would steal and told me there was nothing she could do. Do not stay here!! Horrible experience and won't be going back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi, this is Mary, the manager at Shark Reef Resort. I wanted to start by saying Thank You for staying with us. You were in a Remodeled room, and upon check out today, you did not alert myself or the owner (yesterday) to any problems with your room ie: any odor in room, any problems with refrigerator. Yesterday you came... More

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our room was unacceptable. The couch mattress was molded/mildewed so they had just turned it over. The bathroom wasn't clean. The attendant was very nice and upgraded our room, but it wasn't any cleaner. The air conditioner wouldn't cool the room down, and it was in a window. My pillow case had holes, and the bottom sheet wasn't clean. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Shark Reef Resort; I wanted to start by saying that all of our rooms have mattresses that are less than 2 years old. All hotels can keep mattresses for up to ten (10) years, but we replace ours every two (2). All of our rooms have window air conditioners, as the property itself has been... More

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

holy cow..it was very dirty. there were things on the walls in places that were really gross. there was a ton of carpet fresh type powder along all baseboards had to plug phone in behind bed. ewwww also lightbulbs covered in sheetrock mud. bathroom fixtures at sink loose and really covered in a wet brown substance ??? all towel bars... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
San antonio
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This place was down right nasty. The rooms were very small and cramped with old out dated furniture. The room only had one small lamp with dull lighting. We asked for another lamp and our request was denied. Each room has a small window AC unit that was loud and took very long to just to cool the room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The room was dirty . TV was old . I just didn't like it but the owner was nice and gave my money back and we went to another hotel . Not good . We come down here every summer and this was the worst one .

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Seguin, Texas
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

On the first night our a/c started going out. The owner did not hesitate to move us to the next room to stay cool, I had my parents who are both in their 70's, while a new a/c was installed. The room and grounds are emasculate. Kudos to Shark Reef. My boys are already looking forward to next year!! They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mary S, Manager at Shark Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are in the process of remodeling our hotel, and can't wait to see you next year! More

San Antonio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is no internet unless you pay for it, which is actually a bad thing also. The room wasn't clean. There were spurs all over the carpet and an apple under the bed. The price was WAY over priced; we got screwed just like every other tourist spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

First I would like to say, Jennifer YOU ROCK!! And your daughter-n-law (sorry forgot her name) you are awesome!! Me and my husband stayed for 8 days the week of May 3- May 11 for our wedding anniversary and we were SO HAPPY when we walked in our room for the first time. The rooms are very clean and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shark Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Reef Resort

Address: 314 Cutoff Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shark Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shark Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shark Reef Hotel Port Aransas

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay