We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropic Island Resort

Hotel website
315 Cut Off Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropic Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tropic Island Resort
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    0
    3
    10
See reviews for
18
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
There are newer reviews for Tropic Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stephanie and Ken are awesome at Tropic Island RV resort. Great accommodations and came through when I was in a pinch! Very nicely located in the heart of Port Aransas. Great pool, nice neighbors, quite, and kid friendly! Highly recommended! Marcus Bayona San Antonio, TX

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was very clean and cozy. It is in a good location. May not be near the beach but it has all the necessaties and swimming pool is big for everyone. Enjoyed our stay with this and continue to go back every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My family and i go to Port A every year and we always stay come because its clean and safe, a great location to walk around the town day and night. And bye the way there about 7 families come here. Its a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tropicislandresort, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review of our place. We promise on your next stay, we will do our best to accommodate you better. Thank you so much for staying with us More 

San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked a last minute stay for my son and I got get down for a group event on the Island. I wanted clean, efficient, friendly and comfortable. We could not have been more pleased with the promises kept at this efficiency motor hotel room. Parked right in front of our room which we found in prefect order. It is obviously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brownwood, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family stay here most every time we are in Port A. We have done so for the past 30 odd years. We have tried other places at times but for what my family needs we can not beat staying here. My family looks for 1) clean and safe rooms 2) air conditioner works well 3) place to park our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i always enjoy our visits my dad has taken us since we were little and we will be visiting again in august i can not wait. kids are excited abut pool! the ac is sooper cool, rooms are always clean ,pool and hot tub was great,my dads favorite. location was good too i went to pick up food and surprise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Was in for this past weekend. Room was ready so was able to check in z little early. Room had been updated since last visit a couple of years. New flat screen. Tile floors. Bathroom was small but clean. Will be back again during the summer. Had a great time while in port a and this is a great place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weatherford
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just finished staying at this RV park for our third AND LAST time. We booked reservations there about 4 weeks prior to our arrival at a set rate, and provided a credit card number as a guarantee. When we arrived - our weekly rate had gone up about 45% over what was on their website and what I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
tropicislandresort, Owner at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

we did send out notices we wear going to go up i was not going to charge him canceled fee we still have the best location in and the best park far as his mail we are not us postal office take up with them he accused me and staff of steeling his card i don't open people mail we... More 

San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Never a bad time here!!! Ken has always been fair with myself & everyone I have referred to Tropic Island RV!!! RV spots here have more room between them than any other park on the island. Also a big plus is San Juan Restaurant is directly across the street...perfect for early morning breakfast tacos!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What used to be a fairly good place, is now owned by a real jerk. Reserved 2 sites for 5 nights for my family and elderly parents. The owner put us in 1 site with 2 sets of utilities, obviously wouldn't fit our pop-ups in, even though I told them mine was larger than usual. He then had my folks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
tropicislandresort, Owner at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

We try to please our guests and to accomadate them to the best of our ability. We tried to make this customer happy but were unable to. We gave this customer 2 sites for the price of one because their pop up camper was longer than usual. We were also in the process of refunding this customer's credit card but... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities