We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Port Aransas accommodations

Tropic Island Resort

315 Cut Off Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$5 off room rate
Tropic Island Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    0
    2
    8
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and i go to Port A every year and we always stay come because its clean and safe, a great location to walk around the town day and night. And bye the way there about 7 families come here. Its a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tropicislandresort, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review of our place. We promise on your next stay, we will do our best to accommodate you better. Thank you so much for staying with us More

San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked a last minute stay for my son and I got get down for a group event on the Island. I wanted clean, efficient, friendly and comfortable. We could not have been more pleased with the promises kept at this efficiency motor hotel room. Parked right in front of our room which we found in prefect order. It is obviously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the efficiency motel room. It's an older motel but had apparently been remodeled. The room was clean, the kitchen area was nice with new cabinetry. Plenty of dishes and utensils to use. The owner/manager was cool too. We were pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brownwood, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family stay here most every time we are in Port A. We have done so for the past 30 odd years. We have tried other places at times but for what my family needs we can not beat staying here. My family looks for 1) clean and safe rooms 2) air conditioner works well 3) place to park our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i always enjoy our visits my dad has taken us since we were little and we will be visiting again in august i can not wait. kids are excited abut pool! the ac is sooper cool, rooms are always clean ,pool and hot tub was great,my dads favorite. location was good too i went to pick up food and surprise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Was in for this past weekend. Room was ready so was able to check in z little early. Room had been updated since last visit a couple of years. New flat screen. Tile floors. Bathroom was small but clean. Will be back again during the summer. Had a great time while in port a and this is a great place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weatherford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just finished staying at this RV park for our third AND LAST time. We booked reservations there about 4 weeks prior to our arrival at a set rate, and provided a credit card number as a guarantee. When we arrived - our weekly rate had gone up about 45% over what was on their website and what I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tropicislandresort, Owner at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

we did send out notices we wear going to go up i was not going to charge him canceled fee we still have the best location in and the best park far as his mail we are not us postal office take up with them he accused me and staff of steeling his card i don't open people mail we... More

San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Never a bad time here!!! Ken has always been fair with myself & everyone I have referred to Tropic Island RV!!! RV spots here have more room between them than any other park on the island. Also a big plus is San Juan Restaurant is directly across the street...perfect for early morning breakfast tacos!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What used to be a fairly good place, is now owned by a real jerk. Reserved 2 sites for 5 nights for my family and elderly parents. The owner put us in 1 site with 2 sets of utilities, obviously wouldn't fit our pop-ups in, even though I told them mine was larger than usual. He then had my folks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tropicislandresort, Owner at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

We try to please our guests and to accomadate them to the best of our ability. We tried to make this customer happy but were unable to. We gave this customer 2 sites for the price of one because their pop up camper was longer than usual. We were also in the process of refunding this customer's credit card but... More

Corozal Town, Belize
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Bad park people not friendly, manager or owner rude, had sand no grass and wouldn't let us move, No handicap facilities at all so couldn't use the pool or spa and wasn't clean had sand all in it anyway

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tropicislandresort, Owner at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

I'm sorry that your experience here wasn't a good one. We try hard to please all of our customers. We as well as well as most places here in South Texas have had a shortage of rain therefore grass is in short supply as well. We are working hard at re-sodding the area and hoping for rain! As far as... More

Been to Tropic Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Specialty lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropic Island Resort to your Saves list