We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 New Braunfels accommodations

Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

8570 River Rd., New Braunfels, TX
Hotel amenities
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    4
    3
    12
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time to book a cabin on the river. Overall, service was good. We even got upgraded from the 4 person cabin to the 8 person cabin. The cabin was nice.. Except for some mouse droppings on the bed.. Lol but I understand it is on the river, outside, and hard to keep pests away. At least... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

here kitty, kitty, kitty More

Fredericksburg, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I don't usually write bad reviews, but this place was pretty bad. They didn't enforce 11pm noise curfew.. People were loudly drunk & played music till about 5 am (the owners left around 10 pm). Not only music, but five different radios blaring LOUDLY! Secondly, they took credit cards over the phone for booking a place, but on arrival to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Ok lets see YOU enforce 100 partying adults to be quiet all night. If you can please come here every weekend and stay up all night long and have at it and just see how many like adore you in the morning. ALL CAMPERS MUST POLICE THEMSELVES, BE COURTEOUS, HAVE FUN AND CHILL OUT!!! IF THERE IS A PROBLEM CALL... More

Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The property is very small, expensive for primative tent camping. Sites are VERY close to each other. You have to haul water from the restrooms. The Toilet and Showers are closed from 11:00am to 7:00pm. So you have to use the most disgusting port potties during the day. This is NOT a family friendly place. People drinking music all night,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Yes we are a small camp and that's they way we like it. Yes camping on the Guadalupe in most camps you are camping right next to other people. The bathhouse is closed like you stated so people from the river do not trash, vomit, sh**, and have sex in them during the day. Disgusting porta pottys? Why didn't you... More

Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

PREFACE: We stayed Memorial Day weekend with the intent to "have a good time" so I'm guessing the "party level" was a bit higher than normal. The campsite has probably about 25 spots, pretty close to one another, especially riverside. Riverside sites are basically on clay, the other sites had decent grass to pitch your tent. There was a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thank you and you are pretty much right on target. In regards to cleanliness, remember it is the river and also we do pick up your bagged trash in the morning and it helps if all campers clean up their own campsite. Glad your caught up on your sleep and sorry about your hangover -- NOT - lol More

Granbury, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Got a good laugh out of all these reviews.. We had a big rowdy group with us and had a great time! We were all planning on hitting up Ice House after our float but were having such a great time at this sites bar there was no need to leave. I love how everything is right there with no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thankyou More

New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I'm not posting a review to comment negatively on the owners or employees. I was actually very impressed with their hospitality, seeings that I was on crutches with a fractured ankle. The property was clean, rather small ... but very quaint! And they do have a great view while tubing. Very impressive! However, I wish I had checked Billy Goat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

DO TELL!! It seems that you want to be ENTITLED. You called, we quoted you the rate, (rates are comparable with most camps on guadalupe), you did not make a reservation, you just showed up, (usually there is a two night minimum), you paid, you played, you stayed, you didn't have to, it was your choice, are you kidding us,... More

ARLINGTON
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I made the reservation before I read any reviews, and after reading the reviews, I was pretty nervous, but I have no complaints! It was very nice to camp in the same place you get your tubes, and also have food and drinks available there. Our camp site was way less crowded than many others I passed while floating the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thank you and glad you had a good time. More

Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A group of 4 of us just enjoyed this past weekend at Billy Goats Gruff and had a perfectly pleasant time. We booked our campsite quite a few weeks in advance and were a little nervous when we read the reviews on trip advisor the week before we were booked to camp. However, our worrying was all in vain as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Also pointing out that the bathrooms are closed 1-7 and that it is not on our website we will get that on our site soon. Also pointing out the reason why they are closed. Before we did this many of a disgusting things were occuring in them.... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This place is horrible. Don't ever come here. The woman that owns the property is a drunk lunatic. When we called to make the reservation we clearly stated that we had 5 people in our group. They gave us a cabin for 4, so we added an air mattress to the middle of the floor so the 5th person had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

This unit has been a rental for eight years. It ONLY rents out for a party of four adults. The person that made the reservation signed off on all paper work upon his check in that three guests were checking in on early Friday and one later Friday evening. Security checked the late vehicle at 11:45 (check in ends at... More

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was charged $300.00 fo damage that was pre existing. The door jamb was broken when we received the cabin. Check out was at 11 and we waited until 11:30 to leave we had no key to the unit and the total for one night was $412.00. They hit my card for an additional $300.00 and did not even call... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

First we know you and your family had a great time and we are sorry that you or someone in your group damaged our property, and were charged for it. So let us begin. The truth was not told beginning at your check-in. You stated that you had six people, which ended up being eight and we overlooked that, as... More

Been to Billy Goat's Gruff Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Also Known As:
Billy Goat`s Gruff Campground Hotel New Braunfels
Billy Goat`s Gruff Campground Hotel
Address: 8570 River Rd., New Braunfels, TX
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Specialty lodging in New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Billy Goat's Gruff Campground to your Saves list