We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

8570 River Rd., New Braunfels, TX
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    9
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was horrible i would never stay there again. The location was nice right on the river but id rather drive into town and stay at a hotel before i go there again. The owners are extremely rude. They know nothing about customer service or customer satisfaction. We rented a cabin that slept 8-10 by the road,as soon as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Surprised to see all the bad reviews on here. I go to Billy Goats almost every year and absolutely love it. Yes the campsite is kinda small but there is plenty of room for a good time. Actually leaving this week to be down there for the 4th (hope the river is open!) with a big group and I can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Way over priced and the people that run this sorry crap are rude and crazy. We will never go back! Restrooms and showers should be open to the people that stay at the campsite. We paid for 2 nights and left the next day......

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
goattx, General Manager at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

As stated in previous reviews: We are comparable in price to most other camps on river road and we close the restrooms to clean them - typically when most of the camp is out tubing, there are porta pottys to use, that are kept clean as well. And with that attitude everybody was glad you left, you brought the negativity... More 

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Brooke and her husband were wonderfully nice to my family and I. The over noise and out of control people were not to be found....of course you had your few peeps that were up all night partying but hey it's the 4th...what else is expected!??!! If you are not in to having a great time, meeting new people or relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Happy you stayed and enjoyed the 4th. Sorry that spigot was temp out of order. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a blast. Owners were very friendly. They will go out of their way to make sure your comfortable. Its small campground but very enjoyable. Perfect place to party on the river and meet new people. Hubby and I will be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Yes we are small and that makes us rather unique, especially when everybody is respectful. Glad you had fun!!!! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just got home from staying at Billy Goats over Memorial Day weekend. Our first time staying there. Liked the fact that it is a small camp ground and not a tent city. Camp site trash, showers, bathrooms and porta potties were all clean every day. Every camper I met was friendly and fun to visit with. When the music got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thanks "pinky" glad you had a good time. Sorry about the loud music, we try but there is always someone that tries to push the limits. Everyone have a great time, please be kind and respectful to your neighbors. More 

Carrizo Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've been to Billy Goat's Gruff a few times over the past couple of years and I've never received anything less than the royal treatment. The consistent friendly service, the available amenities of camp, and its location on the river keep me coming back to BGG. Located about 5 miles down River Rd., the site of the campsite is its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thank you AJ - finally catching up to respond. Glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my first time to book a cabin on the river. Overall, service was good. We even got upgraded from the 4 person cabin to the 8 person cabin. The cabin was nice.. Except for some mouse droppings on the bed.. Lol but I understand it is on the river, outside, and hard to keep pests away. At least... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fredericksburg, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I don't usually write bad reviews, but this place was pretty bad. They didn't enforce 11pm noise curfew.. People were loudly drunk & played music till about 5 am (the owners left around 10 pm). Not only music, but five different radios blaring LOUDLY! Secondly, they took credit cards over the phone for booking a place, but on arrival to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Ok lets see YOU enforce 100 partying adults to be quiet all night. If you can please come here every weekend and stay up all night long and have at it and just see how many like adore you in the morning. ALL CAMPERS MUST POLICE THEMSELVES, BE COURTEOUS, HAVE FUN AND CHILL OUT!!! IF THERE IS A PROBLEM CALL... More 

Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The property is very small, expensive for primative tent camping. Sites are VERY close to each other. You have to haul water from the restrooms. The Toilet and Showers are closed from 11:00am to 7:00pm. So you have to use the most disgusting port potties during the day. This is NOT a family friendly place. People drinking music all night,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Yes we are a small camp and that's they way we like it. Yes camping on the Guadalupe in most camps you are camping right next to other people. The bathhouse is closed like you stated so people from the river do not trash, vomit, sh**, and have sex in them during the day. Disgusting porta pottys? Why didn't you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Braunfels
5.6 mi away
Gruene River Outpost Lodge
Gruene River Outpost Lodge
#22 of 29 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
7.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#8 of 29 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 29 in New Braunfels
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities