We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Salou hotels

PortAventura Hotel Gold River

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | Port Aventura Park, 43840 Salou, Spain
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Save Saved
You added PortAventura Hotel Gold River to your Saves list
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #16 of 98 hotels in Salou
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (675)
  • Photos (621)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    253
    128
    46
    26
See reviews for
455
105
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel Gold River for 1 week from 8th June, still early in the season so it was a bit quieter which worked well for us and our 3 year old son. The hotel itself is fantastically themed with so many little details to discover it is an attraction in itself. We stayed in Lucy's mansion, check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel this weekend, from Friday to Sunday. Two nights. We say that everything has been fantastic! The truth is that these hotels both large capacity so they can have moments of agglomeration involves loss of time, but it was not our case. We were three families and one of them came Friday morning and check in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 and for the most part, really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was so clean and tidy and the staff were friendly enough too. Decor was quirky but we liked it and access to the theme park couldnt have been any closer. We loved the food, both evening meals and breakfast were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RUH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel at a family "bungalow". It was an excellent 5-star choice, with complete amenities, clean rooms, beautiful wild-west decoration theme and helpful multi-lingual staff. The car parking was available at the door step and was free for the whole stay and after the check-out until the end of the day. The one night package... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel was incredible and the easy access to the park is great, however the staff speak very little English which makes asking questions almost impossible, nothing is ever explained to you so it means you have to make a lot of guesses. Rooms are not ready until 3 which was never explained to us before we arrived at 12, none... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

Dear Ross. We truly regret that your experience in one of our hotels wasn’t fully pleasant. And we regret that our customer service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Best regards,... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arrived here for a weeks stay. Got to hotel at 9 am after flight from UK. Reception area backed with people buying tickets for the parks and slso trying to check in. Took an hour to be told come back at 3pm as room not ready. When we got to r room it was fine. Plenty of room with 1... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are a family of four with two boys age 13 and 8 years old.After staying in the El Paso and Costa Caribe hotels before we thought we would try the Gold river. We went with Jet2 holidays and I have wrote down some tips for English guests. Pros: lovely hotel with the Wild West theme done superbly. Pool area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

Dear paula1Chester. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than you expected. We understand from your review that your visit was not as it should have been due to the quality of our restaurants and its service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much... More

wilts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Travelled with my husband and 3 teenagers 18, 17 and 15 yrs . Hotel ok but lacks my atmosphere. Pools freezing cold hence they were empty all week . Weather was ok but not brilliant. Nothing to do do in the evenings and all three teenagers seemed bored . Food really boring we were pleased at quality the first night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

Dear Rosie. We truly regret that your experience at Hotel Gold River wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our restaurant ans entertainment service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards,... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great hotel for its location Food is typical junk food where breakfast you have selection of fruits, pancakes and fry ups. Dinner was pricey for what it was... Felt it was all from packet. Quick dine and go. No room service at allllllll ..... So your tired and feel like having a cup of tea on your room .... Sorry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

Dear RobGasparo. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventurawas less than you expected. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura More

Monroe, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

No wash cloths, no alarm clock, no English TV channels, dangerous bathtub/shower (slippery, no grab bars, high side, and a pane of glass), hard beds (like sleeping on bare wood), dark rooms, not enough plugs, no place comfortable to sit . We were booked here because our group of 800 was using the convention center. It is far from everything,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

Dear cajunpegg...! We truly regret that your experience with us wasn’t fully pleasant. Coinciding with your stay we had a problem with the Satellite that normally permits to visualize channels in English, but it'll be solved before the reopening of the park. It should be taken into account that the hotel offers optional service of laundry and alarm from the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage PortAventura Hotel Gold River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | Port Aventura Park, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel

621 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (562)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (203)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (42)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (172)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salou #14 Family Hotel in Salou
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. Highlights in 2014 the new attraction called Angkor and performance of Cirque du Soleil in summer representing the world of Kooza and the origins of the circus. Cirque du Soleil will be installed outside the theme park PortAventura, next to the Hotel Gold River. Tickets do not include admission to PortAventura Park. Likewise PortAventura Park tickets do not include admission to the show Kooza. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
502

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer