We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen

Bei der Martinskirche 10, 72555 Metzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
65
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
porthcawl
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

In the immediate facility of the Metzingen Outlet shopping centre with an excellent restaurant. I would stay here again but only because of the Restaurant. The Boutique rooms were small with no bath and fridge and generally very basic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear Mervyn, thank you very much for having taken the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We are really happy you enjoyed our restaurant, yet we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with the room. I do not quite understand the point where you mentioned our rooms don't have a bath since all our rooms are equipped... More 

Zürich, CH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Stayed for one night in a single room and had dinner in their restaurant. Hotel is very well looked after. Interior is newly renovated and consistently designed in a distinct style (although it's not entirely mine). Service was always professional, attentive and friendly. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and tasty. There is nothing big to complain about just some minor points... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

It was my 4th time staying in this hotel and they never disappointed me. All rooms I've stayed were always really nice and spacious. Really good breakfast and restaurant. Location couldn't be better if you want to shop in the outlet, is 5 minutes walking. Im staying again, for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear Catarina, thank you so much for taking the time for writing such a great feedback. It's wonderful for us to hear you felt comfortable throughout all types of rooms you've tried, since we literally do not have a single room style double. So we are looking forward to hosting for you again in the near future. Kind regards, familiy... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I wouldn't go back. it is a fairly expensive hotel, and therefore we expected something nice... VERY disappointing. we paid (PAID!) for a late checkout at 3pm, only to have housekeeping barge in without knocking twice, waking our sleeping baby. when we commented on it upon checkout all we got were surly attitudes. no hint of an apology. that's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We did stay the second time in the hotel in the last four months and did notice that the quality went down. For a price of 205 € / night for a double room without breakfast you would expect more. The ordinary breakfast is not included and the complementary breakfast is very poor. No bathrobe, slippers are provided and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Very nice pictures on web page..but I get room in old part of hotel... Bad.. And free brekfast very poor..must pay extra for normal .. Very good location for shoping and walk around.. Price can be lower..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry you did not feel comfortable at our house. The breakfast "for free" that you mentioned contains a croissant and coffee or tee for free for those who are on the run. Just a little gimmick from our side. The charged breakfast contains all fruit, marmelade, bread, egg, fresh juices, meet, sauces, cheese, allergic products, joghurt,... More 

Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Nice and cozy hotel, rooms are comfortable. Breakfast offers a big variety of fresh fruit and cheese and croisant. For dinner the food is very delicious. even at the restaurant or at the bistro. Direct in the centre of Metzingen, close to the outlets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear Alessandro, many thanks for your feedback. Great to hear we were able to live up to your expectations. And we are hoping to positively surprise you on your next visit. Best regards, family Wetzel More 

New Germany, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

For a 4 star hotel, I expect that they remove spiders, bugs, cockroaches etc. Don't know about the latter, but spiders are just everywhere and they are huge. After I asked the team to remove it, they laughed at me and said "it's just the season". One spider was in my room (a "small" one, just about 4 cm in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Geschäftsführer at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear La G, it is with deep regret that you couldn't enjoy your stay with us. The message about the spides sounded shocking and you are absolutely right that even though there are not dangerous ones here, if they make their way into a hotel room, they have to be removed by housekeeping. I can assure you, that we never... More 

Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

For more than 25 years we annually enjoy staying for a long weekend in Metzingen, Southern Germany, a nice village originally well known since the Hugo Boss factory store is located there, but nowadays mostly known because it has become a large outlet center city. Hotel Schwanen is an incredibly nice family owned and operated hotel located at the churchyard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Hotel 3 min walk from the outlet city, staff friendly, nice reception and nice setting. Room has the strangest odour ever, it actually stinked! We couldnt sleep well from the smell and the heat, as there's no AC. For 176€ per night that was too expensive, only advantage was finding the bed in 5 min away after long day of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities