We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen

4.0 of 5 Bei der Martinskirche 10, 72555 Metzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
56
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was my 4th time staying in this hotel and they never disappointed me. All rooms I've stayed were always really nice and spacious. Really good breakfast and restaurant. Location couldn't be better if you want to shop in the outlet, is 5 minutes walking. Im staying again, for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear Catarina, thank you so much for taking the time for writing such a great feedback. It's wonderful for us to hear you felt comfortable throughout all types of rooms you've tried, since we literally do not have a single room style double. So we are looking forward to hosting for you again in the near future. Kind regards, familiy... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wouldn't go back. it is a fairly expensive hotel, and therefore we expected something nice... VERY disappointing. we paid (PAID!) for a late checkout at 3pm, only to have housekeeping barge in without knocking twice, waking our sleeping baby. when we commented on it upon checkout all we got were surly attitudes. no hint of an apology. that's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We did stay the second time in the hotel in the last four months and did notice that the quality went down. For a price of 205 € / night for a double room without breakfast you would expect more. The ordinary breakfast is not included and the complementary breakfast is very poor. No bathrobe, slippers are provided and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zagreb
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Very nice pictures on web page..but I get room in old part of hotel... Bad.. And free brekfast very poor..must pay extra for normal .. Very good location for shoping and walk around.. Price can be lower..

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry you did not feel comfortable at our house. The breakfast "for free" that you mentioned contains a croissant and coffee or tee for free for those who are on the run. Just a little gimmick from our side. The charged breakfast contains all fruit, marmelade, bread, egg, fresh juices, meet, sauces, cheese, allergic products, joghurt,... More 

Como, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Nice and cozy hotel, rooms are comfortable. Breakfast offers a big variety of fresh fruit and cheese and croisant. For dinner the food is very delicious. even at the restaurant or at the bistro. Direct in the centre of Metzingen, close to the outlets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear Alessandro, many thanks for your feedback. Great to hear we were able to live up to your expectations. And we are hoping to positively surprise you on your next visit. Best regards, family Wetzel More 

New Germany, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

For a 4 star hotel, I expect that they remove spiders, bugs, cockroaches etc. Don't know about the latter, but spiders are just everywhere and they are huge. After I asked the team to remove it, they laughed at me and said "it's just the season". One spider was in my room (a "small" one, just about 4 cm in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Geschäftsführer at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear La G, it is with deep regret that you couldn't enjoy your stay with us. The message about the spides sounded shocking and you are absolutely right that even though there are not dangerous ones here, if they make their way into a hotel room, they have to be removed by housekeeping. I can assure you, that we never... More 

Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

For more than 25 years we annually enjoy staying for a long weekend in Metzingen, Southern Germany, a nice village originally well known since the Hugo Boss factory store is located there, but nowadays mostly known because it has become a large outlet center city. Hotel Schwanen is an incredibly nice family owned and operated hotel located at the churchyard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Hotel 3 min walk from the outlet city, staff friendly, nice reception and nice setting. Room has the strangest odour ever, it actually stinked! We couldnt sleep well from the smell and the heat, as there's no AC. For 176€ per night that was too expensive, only advantage was finding the bed in 5 min away after long day of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was very nice. Bathroom facilities were good. Plenty of plug sockets to charge your phone and free wifi. (You have to go down and get a voucher from reception) the down side to my room was that I was above the dining garden area, and people smoking was coming through my window. It was so hot, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear Lucy, thank your for your feedback and your professional criticism. We do apologise for the fruit flies, it has got nothing to do with hygiene, it is just the combination of fresh fruit and warm temperatures in the breakfast area. We ensure 100% freshly cut and prepared food on a daily basis with accurate cooling. We have spotted the... More 

Stevensville, Mi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed there 3 nights on the occasion of visiting my sister and family. It is the best hotel in Metzingen and overall I was very satisfied. I had a real problem getting and staying on line with my Ipad, which was irritating, and the staff was not always able to help me. I think the breakfast buffet is excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SchwanenMetzingen, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen, responded to this review

Dear guest, great to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. We do apologize for inconviniences with your ipad connection, and guarantee you that we will be working on this problem. We're looking forward to hosting for you again on your next family visit. Best regards, Tim Wetzel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen

Address: Bei der Martinskirche 10, 72555 Metzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Metzingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwanen Hotel Metzingen

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay