We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Christiania

05240 Villenueve-la-Salle | Serre-Chevalier, La Salle les Alpes, France
Hotel amenities
Hotel Christiania
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015
John A Zaanstad, The Netherlands
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    20
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Zaanstad, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We arrived and recieved a very warm welcome from the enthousiast hotel owner. She's and her husband are very nice and helpfull people. The restaurant personnel recognised us from a short stay in summer. It is a very cosy hotel where good food is served, and it has nice, quiet and clean rooms. The staff is also very helpfull. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lechristiania, Propriétaire at Hotel Christiania, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice compliments! Hopefully other people can come and discover our hotel as you did and if people are looking for a family and cosy atmosphere, they will defenitely find it here.! We really hope you can continue coming to our hotel. There is not much to say but just thank you again! Kind Regards More 

JHB
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the 2013 Tour de France. It was absolutley charming and served the best dinners every night, compliments to the Owner who is also the Chef and his wife, they made us feel comfortable and fed us well!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night - 2 rooms. Eclectic decor and grumpy breakfast person. When asked for additional croisant's when there were clearly insufficient for the number of diners we were told there were no more available. Not good enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in February 2011. A great deal! The room was good sized, very clean, service was excellent and friendly. We skied every day and it was a bliss to have breakfast and dinner included (we paid 91 euros for two people with brkfst and dinner included). The main ski lift is just 5 minutes walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sligo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Christania in July 2011 for one week. We were hear with a group who were taking part in the L'etape du tour. On arrival my first impression was the rooms were very small. However my week here was excellent as the staff here were warm and friendly and the food was very good every evening. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lologogo, Gérant at Hotel Christiania, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice compliments! Hope we can see you again very soon! next summer perhaps? Best Regards, Mr et Mme PAUL More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We love this hotel. It is charming, cosy and extremely well run by the Paul family. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and the food is absolutely delicious. Its the perfect base for a family skiing holiday, well situated for all of Serre-Chevalier. Within easy walking distance from several cable cars/ ski lifts and right next to the convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
le_chrisitiania, Propriétaire at Hotel Christiania, responded to this review

THANK YOU SO MUCH for this nice comments! And also for letting other people know that in our family run hotel, which is one of the oldest hotels in Serre Chevalier (from 3 generations already), and even though we renovate the rooms, the restaurant, the spa and eventhough is a hard work, we are always glad and happy to receive... More 

Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

When visiting our grandchildren over Christmas we stayed a few nights at this hotel. The chambres were quite smal and of normal standard and the beds too short for tall Scandinavians, but the atmosphere, food and service during dinners was amazing. The food was no luxery but very tasty and varied. Nice wines to accompany .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genova
Level Contributor
189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We spent a week during the Xmas holidays and our experience was actually far from our expectations. We were very disappointed by the food which was border line with a no-choice menu; by the cost of the wine (the cheapest bottle was 20 EU !); the dining places were very very narrow. Another very negative point was the daily room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lologogo, propriétaire at Hotel Christiania, responded to this review

This family hotel works in half board basis, this means breakfast and dinner included with a fix menu. Even though we have a fix (main) menu, we always give a choice for our guests. Whenever children do not want something to eat, we give always a choice. We adapt ourselves at what we have available at that moment also. We... More 

Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

We were lucky and got a room here the night before Tour de France was passing outside the hotel. Its a old hotel, so the room was just ok. Big and got good bed. Wall to wall carpent, also in the bathroom. Why?? I dont know! We had a nice dinner in the restaurant, and got a good practice of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

I reserved two rooms for one night in August and three full weeks before the trip I had to cancel my reservation. I did so by email. This hotel uses an archaic French law that allows them to keep your deposit no matter when you cancel. It is called "Arrhes." Be careful with this. Luckily I am only out 100euros.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Salle les Alpes
0.2 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Mont Thabor
Le Mont Thabor
#2 of 5 in La Salle les Alpes
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Plein Sud
Hotel Plein Sud
#5 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La boule de neige
Hotel La boule de neige
#4 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#10 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay