We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chaltunha Hostel

San Miguel, Flores 502, Guatemala
Hotel amenities
Chaltunha Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Flores
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015
Fillerbunny Central America
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    32
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
2
43
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

While this hostel is located close to the lake, and the staff are friendly and helpful, that's just about the best thing going for it. The rooms are clean but have no views at all. There is no common area to speak of, so this hostel is for sleeping only. Wifi is a joke. It's only accessible in the lobby,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central America
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

An interesting place! And a very reasonable price for the area. On our arrival at the sister hostel in Flores, we were walked to a lancha that took us across the water, where Neal picked us up in his car (a big help; the hostel is up a hill that would have been unpleasant to walk up carrying backpacks, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. We are working on having the three meals available. However yes we don't get much request for midday lunch. Thanks once again. More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I've got nothing but the absolute best in regard to Chaltunha. Go to Flores, and take a 3 minute lancha ride to the peninsula. My second visit turned out even better than the first, which was the reason I returned to begin with. My girlfriend says she had the best birthday of her life this year because the owner helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Tarrel. We were very happy to see you again. You will always have a home in Flores. More 

australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

So as other people have pointed out, there are two locations - one in Flores, and one in San Miguel (a 5 minute local boat road away) Organise a boat transfer with Neil (owner who lives at San Migel location) via email or arrive at the FLores location and ask them to call him. We had a lot of trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful comments. We sincerely apologies for the long wait. This doesn't normally happens. More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I stayed here for two nights in the dormitory. For 79Q per night obviously a cheap option for flores. The sheets were freshly washed but still had stains on them. The toilet wouldn't flush half of the time. Everything seemed a little bit dirty. The staff was friendly but not very attentative. They made me sandwiches because I had two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us your feedback. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We pay very close attention to housekeeping. Most of our reviews mention our place is clean. We only have a maximum of 4 beds to our dorms. If you have 4 persons in a dorm of course it will appear a little... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 via mobile

Before anything else, you must realise that there are histel with this name. The one I will describe, you have to cross the lake with a boat and then walk for five minutes. I loved the place. A colonial style house, hammocks everywhere, a swimming pool, free wifi, cold beer, nice dishes and a splendid view to Flores and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed two nights at Chaltunha on Flores island (only one available when I'd booked) in private room. Well - it was clean and a bed, that's about all I can say, wished it had been the island. Room was large and comfy, hot water worked on second morning only, fan kept heat down. Letdown was the staff though - young... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review

First I would like to say thanks for choosing Chaltunha Hostel. We are happy to hear that our facility is comfortable and clean. Whenever our guests make a reservation. The confirmation email always indicate that breakfast is included. This is the first situation that anyone of my guests that booked the Flores island location didn't know they had breakfast included.... More 

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We stayed at the San Miguel location, just a 10 minute lancha ride from Flores. This place has wonderful views, a very relaxed atmosphere and an onsite kitchen with tasty meals available throughout the day. They also have a bar, but this is not the place for party animals. The rooms are similar to summer camp cabins with a handful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed at both Chaltunha locations. The San Miguel location is more like staying in the jungle its a little bit isolated. There are a lot of Mosquitoes at night the food is average you are better off eating in Flores. The wifi only works in the common area so don't expect it in your room. It has a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Owner seems nice at first but he will try rip you off with over priced tours to Tikal. The food is massively overpriced. I paid Q50 for a pathetic, small bowl of pasta that would cost less than Q5 to make. You will not get a good night sleep here. The insect screens have many holes so Mosquitos get in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review

Folks please give me a chance to respond to this very rude review. If you take a look at this person reviews on this site you will notice he is very rude. So the prices of our tickets is what the tour operators give us. The price is $20.00 to tikal transportation and guide. Now Flores island is full of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay