We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen

3.5 of 5
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1800 South Second Street, McAllen, TX 78503
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway
Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in McAllen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Elizabeth Ann C Schertz,, United States
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    94
    46
    21
    18
See reviews for
94
36
11
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (330)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Courtyard was closed the atrium was under construction. Made the stay lackluster. The bar and the breakfast area was a room with old wore out funiture. The staff was great but this hotel needs an upgrade fast. There was a small child staying in the room and we found a trash can with used condoms in it before the child... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schertz,, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Embassey Suites (future Double Tree) for my trips over the last 4 years. The staff is always friendly and attentive. The new renovations will make the place shine even better. My only issue with this last trip - it was difficult to figure out where I can enter and find the fron t desk due... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed a few weeks ago with my wife and family in law. I believe it is a positive thing that it is being renovated and will become a Double Tree. In the mean time... There is a lot of dust which I know is difficult to avoid since they have machines working at the center of the hotel. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoboken, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is under major internal renovation. As a Hilton Honors member I did not feel that any special amenities were extended. The suites need to be updated . Furnishings have cigarette burn holes and need to be replaced. Elevator operation was unstable. The breakfast and evening reception area was in a conference room . This was a business trip... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clovett, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our renovation process and the relocation of our complimentary services. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! I travel 3-4 days a week! When booking through the mobile app. make special note of the word construction. It doesn't do it justice. A tent on a highway would of been better. This hotel should of been condemned and not allowed to open till they finished the renovation. Dust, was so thick you could taste it on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clovett, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the renovation process. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future... More 

Rio Grande City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a most satisfying stay at Embassy Suites. the Hotel was undergoing a face lift, but aside the noise from drilling and hammers working, the staff was friendly, courteous, and caring. The Hotel manager personally apologized for the noise and welcomed the group I was with. Definitely choose Embassy Suites for your stay in McAllen, Texas.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Horrible experience! Property undergoing MAJOR renovation& there is concrete dust everywhere. The place smells like a damp and moldy construction site. The whole place is loud and dirty & there is equipment all over the place. My room was filthy. The dust seeped into the room, trash on the floor & under the couch and remnants of the prior guest's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clovett, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry you were unhappy with our suites and the overall condition of the property. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you and make it right if your travels bring you back to our area in the future. Thank you! More 

Raymondville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Because of the remodeling being done, the pool and the atrium are all torn up. Definitely not a pretty site. Until the work has ended it should be closed or rooms offered at a very reduced rate. No matter how hard the staff works it is impossible to keep the place imaaculate like always.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
clovett, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the issues that you experienced related to our renovations. We appreciate your feedback and we will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. The next time your travels bring you to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again so... More 

victoria, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful building and center courtyard, very good breakfast and feel, the thing is that now a days the guestrooms Just look Old, the furniture, the carpet, the whole thing just feels Old and worndown... I've noticed this at least for the last 4 years during stays, I keep staying there because I like the hotel in general but the guestrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
clovett, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the issues that you experienced related to our renovations. We appreciate your feedback and we will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. The next time your travels bring you to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again so... More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had to stay there cause it was raining real bad. Got a room and we were told of the noise due to renovation. Rate was good, renovation wasn't so bad and the breakfast was great. Every single employee that we encounter, starting with receptionists to the kitchen staff, all were so friendly, courteous and helpful. The staff were the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
clovett, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel McAllen, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your continous support even during our renovation! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to McAllen! Thank you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question