We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown

#165 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    119
    59
    32
    18
See reviews for
44
50
33
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
22 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband described this trip as my comedy of errors, it was rather last minute, I had a hard time finding an affordable downtown room, I forgot my hair brush, my windshield caught a rock n cracked on the way down, my phone died, I got a little lost in downtown Houston. I finally arrived at the Crowne Plaza where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My room at the Houston Crowne Plaza is best described as dingy. The walls have been patched and plaster repairs not painted, scuff marks, dirt in the corners and the smell... Difficult to believe this is a non smoking hotel. The smell is terrible, like an old rental car. Decided I'm spending the next three days of my four day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Longview, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Most issues were guest related so I will leave them out. However my wife did step on a cricket when she got out of bed one morning, the doors slam when not held to close and the restaurant seemed dated in comparison to the rest of the hotel. THe lack of restaurants in walking distance was aggravating. There are plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soojin H, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Michael A, First and foremost, thank you so much for taking your time to fill out an online review regards to your recent stay here with us at Crowne Plaza Downtown. I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a great stay here with us. I would also like to give you my sincerest apology in regards... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter left Her brand new iPhone 5s in the room (she had saved up for ages for it). We went out for the day, came home (after housekeeping had been) it was gone. Reported to front desk,who said they would call back with status - nothing. On checking out next morning, Lady said "overnight report says your daughter found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soojin H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear rjainlondon, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear that your daughter lost her new iPhone5s. We recognize that the loss of any personal belongings can be very frustrating. The conclusion of our investigation of the missing phone ended with your daughter informing our hotel staff that the phone... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The CP Houston Downtown stay was my first, but not my last... Have stayed at other CP's in Houston but selected this hotel for its great location. Very high standards, friendly staff. Only issues were the payable bus from the hotel to the airport also visits other hotels, so ensure you allow plenty of time to get to the airport,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soojin H, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ziggybray, Thank you so much for taking your time to fill out an online review regards to your recent stay here with us! We are ecstatic to hear that you found our accommodations and staff more than satisfactory! It was truly an honor that we were able to have you stay with us at Crowne Plaza Downtown. I know... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible, horrible, horrible...the rooms were old...the tile in the bathroom was lose and broken...looked more like a Super 8 than a Crowne Plaza, never again...the valets were the only nice thing about this place...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Soojin H, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jetsetter90221, First and foremost, thank you so much for taking your time to fill out an online review regards to your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Downtown. I am truly saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us at all. That is absolutely not the impression that we wanted to leave you... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Not my cup of tea at all. The dinning area was the wirst. Musty smell that made me gag. I could not even eat the complimentary breakfast. I searched 3 floors looking for a vending machine . Only one locatef on the first floor. This place did not live up to Crown Plaza standards at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Soojin H, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Slick12, First and foremost, thank you so much for taking your time to fill out an online review regards to your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Downtown. I am truely sadden to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. I wish we were informed during your stay so we could have had the... More 

Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Stayed at the Crown Plaza for a work event Our company had ores selected hotels Unfortunately the Hilton, Four Seasons, Hyatt and Magnolia where all full so I booked at the Crown since I am an IHG Rooms are a real dump.... Bathrooms need big time renovation Even elevators are scary Staff is somewhat friendly....luckily Apparently this hotel will change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soojin H, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear eltripo, First and foremost,thank you so much for taking your time to fill out an online review regards to your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Downtown. I am really sadden to hear that you did not at all enjoy your stay here with us. I know our location is not modernly set such as the Hilton Americas,... More 

McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We initially booked here and switched after the first night. Upon entrance, the staff is barely interested in helping, the lobby smelled smoky due to all the smoking just outside the entrance doors. The lobby is beautiful, so even with the lackluster service, we had hope. The hallways are dim and have a green/yellow light cast so it feels "old"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soojin H, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Treva2014, First and foremost, thank you so much for taking your time to fill out an online review regards to your recent stay with us. Secondly, my sincerest apologies Treva2014, regards to the experience you had at Crowne Plaza Downtown. It is very disheartening to hear that we were not able to create that memorable experience from the moment... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

While this hotel is centrally located in Downtown Houston's business district, it suffers from nothing else of interest within walking distance, but will likely prove very convenient to attend business functions in this area. There is little else but office buildings surrounding the hotel, and if you do not have a car, the rail station on Main St. is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soojin H, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear FitDude, Thank you so much for taking your time to fill out an online review regards to your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza downtown. I am glad to hear that you found our staff, restaurant, accommadations, and amenties up to your liking. I do however want to give you my sincerest apologizes regards to the noise issue.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question