We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thriftwood Holiday Park

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Plaxdale Green Road, Stansted TN15 7PB, England
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stansted
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Thriftwood Holiday Park
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend with the whole family (group of 12) and were given 1. Great spots, all 4 caravans were put next to each other, very close to the swimming pool on top, 2. Excellent entertainment for both our kids (challenging treasure hunt) and live music and performance in the evening, 3. Superb facilities. Reading the below... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevenp1959
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear Stevenp, Many thanks for your recent review and positive feedback. We have had a very busy summer and it is always a pleasure to see how our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. I am also very relieved to see that our staff is doing their best to make your stay worthwhile. I hope to welcome you and... More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Website is currently showing that they hire out holiday homes.........when I rang to enquire? the person that took the call, (a Male) on the: 3/09/15 at: 10:25am had such an awful attitude, extremely rude tone...........need to re-address your staff maybe? not good for customer service whatsoever..........I felt as if he thought it was beyond him to answer an enquiry

Helpful?
Thank JacquieAlison
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Perfect little camp site nestled in the kent countryside. Small, but perfectly formed. We camped (tent) with electrical hook up. Kids were able to roam the site freely as it was very secure. Cars are fobbed in and out with the front desk always manned during the main opening hours. The on site shop stocks everything you would need for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear Sarah W, it is a great pleasure to see how much you have enjoyed your weekend with us. You were very lucky to have caught the good weather as well. During our busy summer months, it is important to keep the pool clean at any time, hence, the additional maintenance and servicing is necessary and beneficial to our guests.... More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. Toilets and showers nice and modern. Club house nice with free WiFi. Entertainment on a Saturday night only but kids loved the magic show. Bingo every night. The only down side is the camping area was on a slope and has tree stumbs. So nothing was straight in the tent and we had to sleep with... More 

Helpful?
Thank MandF76
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear MandF76, many belated thanks for your feedback and review. We are very pleased to see you have enjoyed your weekend with us and the magician! Sincere apologies with regards to the camping grounds, we were not made aware of it, otherwise our staff is always eager to shift you to more agreeable spots, free of charge. We still hope... More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Very clean and friendly park. The toilet and showers were very new and clean, could not find any fault with them. The swimming pool was small but very clean, with sun loungers. All the team were very helpful. The only fault was the ground was slopping and very hard. Small amount of products available to buy in reception but did... More 

Helpful?
Thank suejacks59
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear Suejacks59, many thanks for your review and sincere apologies for our late response! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your weekend with us. As you may see, we sometimes do get a view remarks about the hard grounds, which unfortunately is due to the flint and hard soil in this area. There is little to do... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

A lovely family camp site. We have a trolling caravan and found the site up to great standards. Swimming pool very nice. showers and toilet facilities very clean. Club house was morden and friendly staff. Would definitely come back

Helpful?
Thank Sacha b
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear Sacha, many thanks for your feedback, great to see that you have enjoyed your stay. Just to let you know, we are in the process of having a view things improved on our park (refurb pool etc.) and are very happy to welcome you back, again. All the best, Mark More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

Spotlessly clean and well maintained holiday park. We arrived as a tourer in our motor home for a one night stay and found a delightful, peaceful oasis. Lovely outdoor pool, wish we had packed swimwear! All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful a real credit to the owners. Only very minor downside was the bar menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank dpbuz
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear dpbuz, many thanks for your kind review, we are very happy to see/read that you had a great stay. Very sorry that our curry did not make it on to your diet list, but glad that the pubs have saved the day :) Very happy to welcome you back, again! All the best, Mark More 

Dartford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here last minute. Brands Hatch is virtually on the doorstep. The campsite kindly let us in after reception was closed. Had to go to the bar. Lovely sunny pitch with electric hook up. Hardstanding area for the caravan. Campsite surrounded by woods so places for kids to explore.Play park with swings, a couple of picnic tables and a small.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jule5ky
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear Jul5ky thank you so much for your nice review we are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us. hope to see you again soon All the best Mark More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Having recently stayed at this site, was quite disappointed with the camping areas (tents). We were shown to an area quite close to the caravans which we didn't think was suitable, then another area on a slope, which is where we choose to pitch our tent, as it afforded slightly more privacy. Unfortunately the ground was really hard and likely... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChinaDoll-111
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear ChinaDoll, sincere apologies for my late reply! First things first, thank you a lot for leaving a review, which does give our customers a better insight. We are sorry to hear that you had troubles with the pitches for your tent, unfortunately, the soil in our area is littered with flint, and even removing them does not always improve... More 

Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Stayed here for two nights over the May half term with one other family. It was an easy online booking experience. On arrival we were quickly booked in (there is a £20 deposit for the barrier/shower block key) and then shown to our pitches. The pitches were slightly sloping and as other reviewers have said a bit stony, so take... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank happydays94
Thriftwood, Owner at Thriftwood Holiday Park, responded to this review

Dear Happydays94, many belated thanks for your review this may, we appreciate every detail (good and bad) you have marked out. I do apologise for the water being a tad too hot, which we have adjusted, however due to this lovely summer we had so far sitting at solid 18degrees, it is maybe better to keep the water slightly bit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
5:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted
2.7 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
2.9 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
1.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wrotham
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Plough Inn Ripple
#1 of 3 in Kingsdown
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities