We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    68
    59
    39
    56
See reviews for
137
80
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Garland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My first time taken my family' the Galveston vacation, and this hotel . The staff is OK, but the fitness room not working, and the pool restroom smell and dirty. The pool area has rust around the edges of the doors. But other than that, it OK so far.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was hung up on twice by a manager when trying to have her help me find the cancellation policy on line. The night manager and general manager do not know how to handle customer service opportunities correctly.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your reservation regarding the cancellation policy. We have a 48 hr. cancellation policy in effect and same day reservations made are Final reservations. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure... More 

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great choice from the reservation friendliness to Malcolm, our desk clerk, who was fantastic !!! The rooms were clean,the amenities at the hotel including indoor swimming pool , fitness center, laundry room, a great breakfast with a waffle maker, the convenience to activities on the island just made this absolutely worth it and wish we could have stayed longer! Meant... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lobby was elegant in appearance. Staff extremely professional and well mannered. Breakfast was good. Indoor pool was cold. Hot tub was nice. Fitness center had 1 broken treadmill and 1 out of order piece of gym equipment. Refrigerator was warm, but mgmt. replaced as soon as they were notified. Carpet was stained. Bathroom was clean. Beds were very comfortable. Enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Price was okay for a one night stay. I asked for a high floor and extra towels, got them all. Dee was the front desk person who checked us in and she was beyond sweet and professional. The room and bathroom is a different story. It's a lot smaller than you think but not too bad. Bathroom was super loud... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abilene TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a perfect stay for my family. We had plenty of room and the hotel was clean and steps from everything along the seawall.The staff were friendly and accommodating. Best location for being in the center of all the action.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

for the price I paid I could have gotten a better hotel experience. The room was old and there was a smell. The second floor was freezing. The gym was out of order and the breakfast was mediocre. Not to mention I was overcharged by $30. Would much rather have stayed at another hotel for the $175 I paid. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Don't go here unless you like uncomfortable beds and sofa sleeper and a dirty floor and stained furniture. Way overpriced! Paid almost $350 for a suite. Would've went somewhere else and disputed charges but no vacancies anywhere on the island.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Horrible room and cleanliness Mold in the bathroom, furniture stained, rooms smelled like a wet dirty dog, dirty vent on ac looked like it had never been cleaned and was located next to bed, the pull out full size mattress sofa bed was horrible. You could not sleep on it. It was nothing but springs. We found dirty clothes on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience as your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. Sincerely More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Galveston
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay