We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scottish Inn

2.0 of 5 928 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scottish Inn
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    4
    3
    12
See reviews for
42
21
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
There are newer reviews for Scottish Inn
See the most recent reviews
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Most importantly, the kindness here is unreal!!! I do not feel like I checked into a hotel, more like family!! Sam is the kindest man! Saved our vac, we have stayed many places on the island, but I have always wanted to stay here ! I had made prior resv. At another hotel then canceled due to weather, but then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 43
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Misti for your kind word's. More 

Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend get-a-way in Galveston. After reading the Tripadvisor reviews, we booked a room at The Red Carpet Inn. We were not disappointed. The owners were super-nice, the room was CLEAN and quiet. We will be booking there on our next trip !

Was this review helpful? Yes 42
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Hello Cathie, thank you for staying with us hope your husband feel'sbetter. More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I booked online, and when we arrived at the property, we realized that the pictures on the internet looked much different. The place was dirty and empty (probably because of their bad service). The lobby and the rooms smelled bad, and the a/c in the room didn't even work. The breakfast cafeteria consisted of three stools in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Hello Samantha. You and your father said you were coming back that evening after looking at other motels near the beach. Reservations must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival to avoid a cancellation charge of the first night room rate. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The owner was great. We booked online and my husband added a special request.. Of clean sheets (being funny) and at check in he said ,"hello George from Bryan with Clean sheets. The room was much larger then our friends who stayed down the road and paid double what we paved. Rooms a bit older but very clean. Beds nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 43
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank You Young Man. I do hope you will come back. More 

Austin, Texas
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

In January of 2012, my cousin, Julie, and I contacted the Red Carpet Inn (RCI) and we each spoke to the owner, Sam Patel, separately. We arranged for a block of rooms for July 28, the night before our family reunion cruise out of Galveston. He agreed to hold a block of rooms and quoted $100 a night. We thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding during your reservation process. In order for us to reserve rooms at the discounted group rate, we need credit cards to reserve those rooms at the discounted rates. Unfortunately, we did not receive credit cards from most of your group within the agreed upon date, at which point we had to cancel the... More 

Bryan, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My family and i stayed on july 13th 2012 at red carpet inn in galvaston and had a wonderful stay. The owners/manager were just awesome.The rooms were nice and clean ,great location, and great value. we will stay with yall again and thank you so much for all you do.

Was this review helpful? Yes 43
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for kind word's.Ohh keep an eye on the key's. More 

Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

VERY clean rooms, friendly staff. Near to the functions I attended. restaurants and attraction easily located.

Was this review helpful? Yes 43
Management response:

Thank You Fred,for the kind word's.Hope your fishing trip went well Please do come back and see us again. More 

Galveston, Texas
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have been to several motels in USA. I would like to rate more than excellent for this. The reason behind this is their hospitality. I have not such seen patient, lovable & caring owners. I was initially here for the job at UTMB. I know nothing about this place. I stayed in the motel for 4 days. They helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 43
Management response:

Thank You for yoy review. Before you leave Galveston that you will stay with us again. More 

Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here four nights for our family vacation. The hotel is an older hotel, but is kept very clean and comfortable. It is owned and operated by a very nice family. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our stay. The hotel is very close to the ferry and just around the corner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 42
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your reiew,I hope to see the Michael family again.(The tips were greatly appreciated by the staff.) More 

Pollok, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were planning on meeting friends in Galveston, They were from Mississippi and we from Texas. I made reservations over 30 days prior to our arrival, specifically We arrived first, asked to see the room, was shown to it, it had patch work on the ceiling in the bathroom from water leakage. We were on the 3rd floor, our friends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry I had to ask you to leave although after I asked you to leave your huband came back and wanted to stay, but I had made a decision and decided you would be better off somewhere else. Please understand I prevent trouble before it starts on my property. I run a clean,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 928 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Galveston
Red Carpet Inn Galveston
Galveston Red Carpet Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay