We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scottish Inn

928 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scottish Inn
Review This Hotel

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
42
21
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Chickasha, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to give this star based on poor service. We drove from oklahoma w our kids and took longer than expected due to numerous wrecks and delayed traffic. We periodically called to advise our situation and man said no problem he understood. Once we arrived 11:30pm there was no one there we stayed and called 3x with no answer we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a night prior to departing on our cruise. Sam and the staff are super friendly and helpful and even took us to the cruise departure point!! The great thing about the Inn is that it is clean. This is a big thing for me when staying in hotels and motels. On top of this, the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you my fellow county person hope your trip was pleasant and the wine tasting in California. Good luck Sam P.S you will be my last reply back on trip advisor, hope the future manager will reply to good or bad. More 

Cherokee Village, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here at the Scottish Inn last year & it was so good that we booked this hotel again for our cruise vacation from Galveston. We were not disappointed ... The rooms were very nice & clean and Sam and his team went out of their way to cater for our needs and reacted very promptly to any &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review sorry it took so long, I will be no longer part of this property. Lots of love Sam More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

My fiancé and I were vendors for Dickens on the Strand last year, and we could not have been happier with our stay! Our bed and room was massive, it had a microwave and fridge, so we saved on going out, the tv was great, and the view was really nice. The best thing is that it was CLEAN, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Ashley, for writing a review hope you are coming for the event again? Sam More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We booked 2 rooms one for my husband & myself & one for our daughter & her husband. We had a fishing trip with some friends, our daughter was only staying for 1 night & us for 2. Sam graciously let my daughter leave her stuff in the room & come back & shower before she left so she could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review,I really thank you for staying with us. Look forward for the next fishing trip. Sam More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in July & will be coming back in October to stay 2 more nights... Sam & his wife & staff were all very friendly & made a point to ask us if everything was good & to make sure we didn't need anything... The rooms were clean & well kept as was the bathroom... It's not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on my place really happy that you enjoyed the hospitality and Galveston in general. sam and Wife More 

Austin, Texas
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I pulled up and there was a police car parked outside the entrance. The owner ran up to our vehicle and starting talking quickly to let me know the police is a friend of theirs and is not there for any disturbance. This seemed like an odd behavior, considering we had not even gotten out of our car yet. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

You’re the one I was asking to leave not another guest; you broke my motel policy and were asked to leave. As for walking up to your pick up, you kept circling around and that was suspicious, so asked you to pull up under the canopy. The police is a local officer who had pulled a 12hr shift, stopped him... More 

Streetman
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great place, close to the ferry. This is our second stay here. Friendly & courteous owners. Clean room & cold air. Staying one night pre cruise. Will always come back here. Staying in room 207. Can't say much more than that although 200 words are required!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thanks again for coming back. Sam More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We always enjoy our stay here. We had a room that had been renovated it was very nice. The beds were great!!!! The pool was clean rooms were clean everything was wonderful. Sam is such an awesome guy! Thanks for all that you do! Love , the clean sheet family George and Amanda

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Ana for staying with us again with your family. Sam More 

1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I researched many places for my stay for a huge wrestling show and the Scottish Inn sounded perfect. I was right. When I checked in the owner was really friendly and allowed me to check in a bit early. He was very welcoming and was always available and friendly. The rooms were nice. I read that you hear traffic from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review

Thank You Jose for staying with us really thank you for putting a kind word for Myself and wife. Hope to see you again in the future . Sam More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question