We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    431
    295
    98
    61
    29
See reviews for
369
157
13
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (914)
  • Mar-May only
    (215)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (328)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (204)
All months
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Considering we got a cheaper rate than normal for a Friday night stay, it wasn't bad. All of the staff we encountered were very nice and friendly. The king sized room was spacious and appeared clean. We liked that we could enjoy Palm Beach while there also. Although it got very crowded and we went back to the hotel pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location and pre-cruise hotel but it did come at a cost. I was only there for one night and I found the staff to be exceptionally friendly. I actually wish I had more time to explore the area! I also felt the cost was high considering no breakfast was included. I have to say I am literally only knocking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

close to activities - and Schlitterbahn - The air museum is within walking distance, which is a must see if you love airplanes - Great breakfast - It's still close to the Strand - great proximity to everything and great hotel -

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear David D, Thank you for the nice comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Dawn Griego Guest Relations Manager More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the first time I go to Moody G. For a retreat that used the convention center. The CC seems outdated and older than the hotel itself, it does have potential. I loved the restaurant on the 9th floor which we used to have breakfast and lunch. The dinner offered for us was Italian and it was delicious! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Monica E, Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay at Moody Gardens Hotel. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your room and meals while here. It is our overriding goal to provide the finest service and accommodations on Galveston Island. While I was pleased to see the nice comments, I did note the comments about... More 

Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. Extremely convenient to Schlitterbahn waterpark. The hotel even shuttled us over there and gave us a phone number to call for pick up. There was a band playing at Palm Beach with beautiful fireworks at 9:30. The zip line and rope course was definitely one of my kids favorites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Lindy H, Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit! It’s great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy Palm Beach and the fireworks. We would love to welcome you back this holiday season so you and your family can enjoy The Festival of Lights and... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow, wow , wow awesome time that i will always remember, my wife and grandson Elijah will always remember this time spent enjoying everything the Pyramids had to offer. The rain forrest is a must see for the botanical lovers, it was a place i could spend the whole day in ,awesome is not giving it justice. The Colonel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Philip T, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! I am happy that you, your wife and grandson made plenty of memories during your stay here and visits to the Moody Gardens attractions. We would love for you to... More 

gladewater
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice, clean place. The employees are nice and helpful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Great location if you plan on spending any time at Moody Gardens and/or Schlitterbaum. It is worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear meformby, Thank you leaving a review on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at Moody Gardens. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. Thank you for your comments about our staff and rooms. Your feedback is appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens very soon! Best regards, Dawn Griego Guest Relations Manager More 

Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love Moody Gardens and spent 3 nights at the first of August. However, this year there was a cheerleader convention while we were there, and there were several rooms across the hall filled with tweens running up and down the hall at all hours. I spoke to them a couple times, and finally had to call security. I don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear AgileTexan, Thank you for your feedback and I sincerely apologize for the noise caused by the cheerleaders. We normally do a much better job in keeping these young athletes quieter with extra evening and overnight security actively walking the halls but I agree with you that the days you were here, we could have done better. We have put... More 

Merricks North, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights for a conference. I have some simple requirements: Pros: Clean, large room, nice view (on the 8th floor) Free Internet, lots of power outlets Good iron and ironing board Cons: Slow Internet and poor WiFi strength (good in the lobby and conference area) Low water pressure Poor cable service - plenty of channels but every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Jason T, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I apologize for the difficulties you experienced with your TV. I did send someone from Maintenance to check it out and we did replace the unit. In regards to your concerns about the Wi-Fi, there are a few Wi-Fi “dead” spots in the hotel. Please... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was very nice however it is the customer service extended by Zach that made the visit extra special. Zach was very attentive and made us feel at home. Extra hotel should employees like Zach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MoodyGardensHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear cds022, Thank you so much for the nice comments. I am delighted that Zach made you feel right at home! I will pass your compliments to his Manager to share with Zach. We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens soon. Warm Regards, Dawn Griego Guest Relations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
3:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (88)
Viewed
King Room with Pyramid View (39)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay