We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3116 Bandera Street, Denton, TX 76207
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Denton
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    16
    20
    15
    24
See reviews for
27
14
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In February we, my husband and I, invited his mother, sister, brother-in-law and niece to get away from the cold Wisconsin winter for a visit in beautifully warm Texas. Needless to say they came down and we got hit with all that snow! But with getting rooms at Howard Johnson's at the N I-35 Denton exit we were able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

We chose to ignore the bad reviews and give this hotel a try and I'm glad we did! Our room was clean and comfortable with micro and fridge. Nice flat screen TV and great shower too. Our dog was welcomed with a small fee which was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was basic with waffles and the staff was friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sa844shj, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving us a chance to serve you. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to serve you well. We are looking into the issue you mentioned about our wifi and we will definitely work to improve it. We would love to have you back and thank... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We were stuck in the back building. Room stunk. Dead bug smushed into a towel, which was better than the live one running around the bed. The breakfast was in a tiny room without enough chairs for the tables and a line for the waffle maker. I feel as if I need to burn my clothes. No WiFi. It "... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sa844shj, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton, responded to this review

We are so sorry about the problems you encountered in the room provided to you as well as the wifi issue we were having during your stay with us. We discussed these issues with our housekeeping staff as well as our maintenance personnel and rest assured that this has been worked on and will be prevented from happening again in... More 

Lytle, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Close to restaurants and winstar casino. Great value with helpful and friendly staff

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
sa844shj, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review you have of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you appreciate our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations. We always aim to provide you with the best value for your money and we are so glad to have served you well. Please do visit us... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We were extremely tired or else we would have found another place to stay. The room smelled like they were trying to cover over a smell. Box springs were yellow, Pillows were stained. Mattress cover was stained. Shower was yellow. Furniture beaten up. Everything was dirty. It was a good thing we brought our own pillow cases, towels and sheets.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sa844shj, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton, responded to this review

We are so sorry about this experience you had during your stay with us. This is certainly not how we do business and rest assured that these issues will be looked into and worked on immediately. We made sure that our staff is well aware of their duties and we would like to assure you that this will never happen... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Hey! Its been a while since I reviewed something but I figured it would be worth my time for you all. I have been sitting here trying to get my money credited back to my account that Howard Johnson agreed to refund me. We were tired and finally gave up driving. We picked this hotel as it was on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sa844shj, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton, responded to this review

We would like to express our sincerest apologies for what you had experienced during your stay with us. We would like to assure you that all our staff has been reminded of their duties and that this kind of issue will be prevented from happening again in the future. We hope that you'll give us another chance to show you... More 

Richardson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Unpleasant smells, holes in blanket. Stayed 2 nights - bathroom was given fresh towels but beds were not made up. Poor internet speed. Not much left at breakfast bar with 45 minutes to closing time.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
sa844shj, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Denton, responded to this review

It saddens us to know that we weren’t able to provide you with a great experience during your stay with us. We always aim to provide our customers with great service and we are so sorry that we weren’t able to provide you that. We hope that you’ll give us another chance to make it up to you and rest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denton hotels
3.1 mi away
Studio 6 Denton - UNT
Studio 6 Denton - UNT
#13 of 24 in Denton
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Denton - University Drive
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Denton
Days Inn Denton
#18 of 24 in Denton
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denton - UNT - TWU
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Denton
Super 8 Denton
#15 of 24 in Denton
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Denton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay